We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of December. Our family had 5 had two rooms in the same small building. The only bad thing was that you had to go outside & down the path to get to the other room, but my kids are teens, so it wasn't too bad. The beds were pretty hard, but that seems typical in most Latin America places we've been.

The rooms are nicely done. The plants in the shower was a little strange. I knew about it coming in, but the plants were so huge they hung over the wall and could touch you while showering. It freaked out my kids, so we took the string to hang clothes on to hold the plants back. They also had white mold growing on them, so I really didn't want that touching my clean body either.

The hot spring pools were wonderful. It was a wonderful way to relax in the evening after touring. We had cool, rainy days so the hot water was amazing. We were busy in the day with tours, but the hotel and pool never seemed crowded. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was fine. Not great, but not bad either. Prices seemed about the same as the restaurants in town we ate at. We wanted to try new things, so went into La Fortuna two nights. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
ello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    723
    376
    77
    15
    7
See reviews for
339
555
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. I ate in the sushi resturant and that was out of this world. Had a massage and I can highly reccomend the spa. They made me feel welcome. My room was beautiful and I honestly can say it was completely worth every penny. The springs were nice. Everything was wonderful from the welcome drink to the time I left.

Room Tip: The property is set up like a gated community so if you have any health issues you may want a closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
ello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Arenal Springs for three nights for our honeymoon and the hotel by far exceeded our expectations. From the photos on the Web site, I expected something nice, but the hotel is so much better than what is shown online! Everything was absolutely gorgeous- the grounds, the pool area, the rooms, the spa, etc. The staff was amazing- so friendly and helpful and everywhere we went, staff greeted us and asked how we were/if we needed anything.

The food was excellent, the swim up bar was amazing, and we LOVED the hot springs pools. By far, soaking in the warm pools every night after being out and about on adventure tours was a highlight. We were bummed that it rained and was cloudy everyday, but the beauty of the hotel completely made up for the weather.

We scheduled someone to pick us up from the airport in Liberia and drop us off at our first hotel down the road from Arenal Springs, as well as drive us from Arenal Springs to our beach resort in Guanacaste. Jose, our driver, was fabulous! He was so friendly and helpful and stopped along the way a few times to point our animals, let us take pictures, and even to run to the grocery store for snacks.

Arenal Springs was fabulous! I highly recommend it to others- for friends, couples, or families and hope to go back again soon :o).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
ello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a terrific hotel and the staff is friendly and very helpful. Each room has a view of the volcano and the bathroom was amazing. The shower is part outdoors so when it rains it rains down the rock wall in your shower. The pool and hot springs were great and the swim-up-bar from both the pool and hot spring side made for a fun time. The food was fine but the sushi was delicious. The location of this hotel is about a 5 - 10 minute drive to town and if you don't have a car no worries there are taxi's everywhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
ello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during late August 2012, as the first half of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forward to returning sometime in the future. The drive from Liberia Airport was about 2.5 hours, and the road around Arenal Lake was very potholed in one section on our way to the resort (but, all of the potholes were filled before we left - great timing!). We definitely recommend only driving during the day as potholes can be menacing and Costa Rica does not believe in guard rails. Arriving at the Resort, we were greeted with cocktails in the lobby and then parked right in front of our room. The staff was extremely helpful and also spoke fluent English.

We didn't have any neighbors in our duplex for the first two nights (and there was only minimal noise on the last night, although if you were in the bathroom and they were in the bathroom you could hear a lot, so don't expect privacy there, I suppose). The room was immaculately clean and we were welcomed with a bottle of wine, two coca-colas, and two beers! I recommend using the fridge to store any food, as it is Costa Rica and there are tiny ants that can find their way into any building/room where food is left out.

Breakfast (included in the price) at the resort restaurant was great - with a wide assortment of foods available (typical American fare included cereal, toast, eggs cooked to order, french toast, home fries, etc and Costa Rican foods including fresh fruits (pineapple, mamon, papaya, oranges, etc), fried cheese, rice and beans, etc. We only ate at the resort's restaurant on the first night and I can't say that I recommend it for that. It was overpriced and of mixed quality. I had the casado (a typical Costa Rican dinner, with beef which was very good) and I enjoyed it, but it was overpriced. My husband had a mushroom wine reduction dish which was bad, but for the price was horrible, as it tasted like everything simply boiled together and poured over rice. The rest of the time, we ate at restaurants in La Fortuna, and really appreciated having a car. Also, the drinks at the pool bar were expensive, however probably not unusually priced for this type of resort.

The pools are lovely, with so many to choose from. One of our trip highlights was horseback riding with Marvin (of Don Tobias Horseback riding, which is located right at the top of the driveway to the resort). We rode on well-trained horses across and into the lands at the foot of Arenal, up to a lookout point, stopped for a break, and came back to the stable. We had about 12 people in our group and everyone had a great time, from the 7 year old boy to those that could have been his grandparents. The scenery was amazing, and we even saw a family of howler monkeys!

Other activities not to be missed included walking/hiking around Arenal Volcano National Park and visiting the La Fortuna Waterfall (where you can swim at the base of the falls!).

Eventhough we were there in what was supposed to be the rainy season, we lucked out with the weather, with rain only for about an hour one afternoon and overnight a few times. We had amazing views of the volcano from our room and from all throughout the resort. The resort also had wonderful plants, with beautiful flowers in abundance. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
ello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was not expecting a lot when we booked this hotel but our stay was fabulous. Our room was nice and we did not hear our neighbors. The pool was a big hit with my daughter and the warm water made it nice for me as well - the pool bar was also a nice after long days of hiking and adventures. The breakfast was good with lots of variety. Hotel staff was very friendly. My only complaint was that the mattressess were much harder than I like.

Room Tip: We were in room 301 which had a view of a grass area and was next to an open field. Some rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
ello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My son (21) and I (42-mom) stayed here and loved it. The restaurant was amazing. Jeffrey was our server, he did a great job. We mainly ate the special or beef tenderloin but the potato leek soup was excellent. I must confess the beds were hard and the pillows a little too fluffy but thats all I can say that was negative. We arrived on Saturday into San Jose and the hotel sent on of their drivers, Jose, to pick us up. There was a cooler in the van with cold drinks including cerveza. The drive to the hotel was about 3 hours. We stopped along the way for champagne to celebrate, again for an atm and again for a tequila shot. Jose was happy to oblige. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Ruth, I love Ruth. She had tons of personality and greeted us with a welcome drink and a wet towel to wash the road off. We ate the first night down by the pool/springs. The filet was to die for and I'm from Texas-we like out beef. We did 2 excursions with Desafio: rafting and canyoneering. I highly recommend this company and these 2 excursions. They have several excursions to chose from. Whenever we had any issues they were addressed right away. While we were staying here we visited 2 other resorts that we had heard about: The Springs and Nayara. We did a day pass at The Springs to tube and kayak. We went to Nayara for the wine bar-excellent. Each time we left the resort Alberto took us and picked us up. Alberto spoke great English, he was very entertaining and we loved him. We passed several resorts when we were picking up people for excursions and this by far was the nicest one (with the only exception being The Springs Resort). The grounds are extremely beautiful and well kept. We saw a toucan eating a papaya while having a beer at the lobby bar (say Hi to Manuel for us). They do have a spa but unfortunately we did not partake. Book it, you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: We had room 101, 2 queen beds and an amazing view of the volcano. So beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.