We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My son (21) and I (42-mom) stayed here and loved it. The restaurant was amazing. Jeffrey was our server, he did a great job. We mainly ate the special or beef tenderloin but the potato leek soup was excellent. I must confess the beds were hard and the pillows a little too fluffy but thats all I can say that was negative. We arrived on Saturday into San Jose and the hotel sent on of their drivers, Jose, to pick us up. There was a cooler in the van with cold drinks including cerveza. The drive to the hotel was about 3 hours. We stopped along the way for champagne to celebrate, again for an atm and again for a tequila shot. Jose was happy to oblige. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Ruth, I love Ruth. She had tons of personality and greeted us with a welcome drink and a wet towel to wash the road off. We ate the first night down by the pool/springs. The filet was to die for and I'm from Texas-we like out beef. We did 2 excursions with Desafio: rafting and canyoneering. I highly recommend this company and these 2 excursions. They have several excursions to chose from. Whenever we had any issues they were addressed right away. While we were staying here we visited 2 other resorts that we had heard about: The Springs and Nayara. We did a day pass at The Springs to tube and kayak. We went to Nayara for the wine bar-excellent. Each time we left the resort Alberto took us and picked us up. Alberto spoke great English, he was very entertaining and we loved him. We passed several resorts when we were picking up people for excursions and this by far was the nicest one (with the only exception being The Springs Resort). The grounds are extremely beautiful and well kept. We saw a toucan eating a papaya while having a beer at the lobby bar (say Hi to Manuel for us). They do have a spa but unfortunately we did not partake. Book it, you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: We had room 101, 2 queen beds and an amazing view of the volcano. So beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    460
    90
    17
    7
See reviews for
408
656
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Overall, the layout of the "duplexes" (2 rooms to each bldg) reminded me of a golf community as there are streets & it feels like a neighborhood. We found room #504 w/attached patio/porch to be comfortable & quiet. It was good to walk to eat at the lodge but you can be picked up by a guy in a golf cart. We loved the 4 hot spring pools which get warmer as you walk up. The swim-up bar was cool. Plenty of birds & beautiful plants/grounds to enjoy. If you want more hot spring experiences, try the Baldi Hot Springs in town which has 3 slide tubes & 20+ pools w/all kinds of different configurations. Fun!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The property itself is well maintained and beautiful, lots of unexpected small touches. Probably good for families as the property is very secure (I do not have kids). So I'd give a good rating for the grounds, friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet as well as restaurant for dinner. Additionally liked the various pools and waterfalls, fun bar in pool, etc.

Now for the rooms, it goes downhill here. I am a creature of comfort ..... the beds, pillows and furniture in general kept by back aching and I yearned for a place to feel comfortable. We'd planned on staying in the room one night, having cocktails and Sushi from a place we'd bring in from town. Got there and thought..where would be eat in bed? Or maybe on the uncomfortable rockers outside? Not a lot of options here other than a weird stool at a high desk thing that housed the fridge. Water pressure is poor (yes, i Know you want to be green) and the water temp was inconsistent, sometimes it simply got cold and then hot a minute or two later...I could deal with this though.

There was some kind of construction happening, even on the weekend, I could hear the compressor and loud voices of construction workers, not sure what they are building??

When I booked this leg of the trip I had thought the price was on the low side of what I usually pay however it looked good. Due solely to the hard beds and pillows I wish I went elsewhere.

I am sure others would be happy with Arenal Springs however it was not my cup of tea!

Room Tip: They all seem pretty equal, even if you are the furthest away it's not a long walk to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hello friend, we want to thank you for being here with us and thank you for your comments, just the rooms that we are building are for people like you who need a higher level of comfort, we are building 3 master suite that will have the best of the best, these rooms will be 162 square meters that will have, 2 bedrooms with a king size bed and the other with 2 beds Quing, besides thermal swimming pool, terraces overlooking the volcano, tanning areas, internal tropical garden, 3 plasma tv, mini bar, out door bathroom, full disabled access, air conditioning, hammocks area, bathroom with tub, and much more.
hopefully next time you can experience something totally different and you feel happy with us, thanks for your comments because they help us to improve and we are working hard on that.
blessings to all your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I confess I did choose this resort as a direct result of comments posted by my fellow travellers who contribute to Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed in fact I wanted to quickly share our brilliant experience at this resort straight away so that other travellers benefit from lots of opinions from different types of folk. We had a lovely welcome from the staff and this level of friendliness and helpfulness continued throughout our short 3 night stay. Our room was great with plenty of room, a small courtesy bar in the fridge, aromatic oil burner with matches in the bathroom and front terrace with rocking chairs. It was so good it almost felt like a little private garden. My husband is a really busy business man who finds it diffiuclt to relax but he truly did in the hot springs pools and the jacuzzi. Every lunchtime we had food at the swim up bar, sushi for him and western food for me. A little expensive probably compared to local food elsewhere?? We had a late lunch in order to avoid losing exploring time. Evening meals were relaxed and yet served in a very professional way. Tip - we had the house wine and it was fine if a little expensive compared to UK house wine. No need for bottled water the tap water is fine. the gardens were superb, well groomed and plant choices made to attract the beautiful humming birds. I had a couple of cocktails and they were made really well with fresh fruit eg pineapple, strawberries, bananas, a contrast to the Guanacaste all inclusive we stayed at with "bottled" cocktails (supposedly 4 star ?). We would not hesitate to recommend this eco friendly resort to others but would say we have not explored other opportunities nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano but please note it is normal for it to be shrouded in cloud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just got back from Arenal Volcano area and had a great time. we flew into Liberia and had a 3 hour drive to Arenal Springs resort. i was very pleased with renting a car. i was told the roads are bad but did not find that to be the case. we were able to drive all around the La Fortuna area and had dinner in town most nights. we also drove our car to the La Fortuna Falls which was a beautiful sight and well worth the 500 plus steps to get to the bottom and then going back up.

The hotel is very quaint and caters to an older crowd, however there were younger couples around the pool bar in the late afternoons.

our room was 103 and i consider it the best room there as it is closest to everything and has a great view of the volcano.

breakfast was very good with a lot of choices.

the hot springs were great.

It is a beautiful property with a lot of birds and beautiful plants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just came back from Costa Rica. Visited Osa and then Arenal volcano. In La Fortuna, we stayed at Arenal Springs Resort. The resort was very nice, but there is little privacy. We just came from the Osa Peninsula so we were initially a little taken back, but we settled in quickly. The nicest part is the hot springs right on the site.The worst part was that there was constant construction going on. The weer building a new room right across the street from us so we asked to have our room changed. They were very nice and accommodated our request. However, there was still paving going on throughout the resort so it wasn't always plesnt. The resort needs to advise people if there will be construction during there visit. Other than that, it was very nice.

Room Tip: Stayed here for the view of the volcano, but you really could not see it clearly due to the clouds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

While in Costa Rica recently, we spent two nights at the Arenal Springs Resort. This is a beautiful property. We enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast in the open-air dining room and were lucky to have a waiter who helped us with our Spanish. The reception area has a lovely bar where we could relax inside or outside. Our room was spacious and included a big shower. There are four different pools on the property including a hot springs pool. The grounds are lush with local plants and humming birds. We will definitely stay here if we get back to Costa Rica. We got this great place to stay because we upgraded our hotel rooms when we booked with Gate 1 Travel's Trip to Costa Rica. This turned out to be a good value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your beautiful comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.