We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, Really NICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really, Really NICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent two days... beautiful hotel with great gardens, butterflies, tons of diferents birds, hot pools, and a wonderful view of the volcano. the rooms were good, clean, comfortable beds, tv, AC, and a nice shower. They have golf cars transportation within the hotel. The breakfast is good, although they don't have bacon, cheese, waffles or pancakes (at least when we were there), which are very common in every breakfast. The wet bar is great, nice drinks and food. We tryed their sushi and no complaints, it was great. The staff is very nice. I recommend going to la Fortuna town for lunch and dinner, the restaurant seems a little expensive. Although it's winter the weather was great, two beautiful sunny days until 3-4pm that started raining, but with hot pools that's no problem. This hotel is an excellent choice in La Fortuna, we will be coming back soon!

Room Tip: If you have the posibility ask for the rooms near the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
My friend, thank you very much for your lovely comments always help us to continue working in the best way possible, our ultimate dream is that 100% of our guests always feel at home, and thanks to your comments we can see that things are doing well and things are going wrong, for us to have been a pleasure having you as guests, and our embers are always open waiting for you to return.
thank you very much again and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    721
    376
    77
    15
    7
See reviews for
338
554
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulster County, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is an excellent choice in the Arenal area. We were very pleased with it and enjoyed our stay immensely. I share the same excellent opinion about the volcano, views, rooms, pools, etc. All are superlative and I have to say, one of the nicest places I have ever been to--in the entire world--is one of the smaller, perfect temperature thermal pools (with a warm waterfall) that had an orchid garden, complete with butterflies. The in-room shower (with a rain cachement for the plants) was knock-your-socks-off lovely. I'm sorry I didn't take a picture of it, as I probably won't see that again.

We found the food to be very good, but a little pricey. You could not ask for a nicer included breakfast. Overall, it was excellent value.

We had originally planned to stay at El Silencio (even put down a deposit) and then read about the new hotel right next to it (Royal Corin). Sure enough, we made the right decision in switching to Arenal Springs at the last minute. El Silencio was probably a phenomenal place in its time, but the high-rise has destroyed the sense of being in nature and away from it all. Arenal Springs (though bigger than we would have liked) still has that rustic feel.

Arenal Springs is not hard to find or to get to. Signage was excellent. We took transport from Liberia, but if we were to go again, we would probably drive it ourselves. We did go on excursions (with transport included) and also went to town for dinner one night (RT cab for 4 cost us $ 30 w/tip).

I would have liked to try their Spa, which looked lovely. But, the treatment rooms were open air and without AC, I really didn't feel like adding warm hands or hot rocks to my already-sweating body.

So, with everything so nice (and it was), why only a 4 and not a 5? 1) The initial sense you get on arrival is that you have moved to Levittown (or any of a million small home developments in the States). Several rows of identical cottages on identical streets on identical lots. You have to get over that monotony and appreciate the unique and gorgeous landscaping in front of your particular cottage. 2) if mobility is a problem, it can be a long walk (and up and down small, but noticeable hills) to the pools, restaurants, etc. 3) my husband had a hard time with the comfort of our platform bed. 4) the lack of AC in the public open-air dining rooms and spa made for some discomfort on some days/nights, but the positive aspect is that you really are in nature there (and the room had excellent AC) and 5) we found the staff to be friendly and professional, but not overwhelmingly warm or helpful. We got everything we asked for, and always with a smile, but there was no sense--even though we were there for 4 nights--that the staff went out of its way to know us personally or to take any interest in making our time there special. To be sure, all of these are only minor complaints, but to me, it's what separates the 5s from the 4s.

If I had my way, I'd give it a 4 1/2, because it's really better than a 4--just not perfect. I certainly would recommend it and would happily stay there again. Definitely a wonderful choice.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, ask for a room close to the restaurant and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
My friend, thank you very much for your lovely comments always help us to continue working in the best way possible, our ultimate dream is that 100% of our guests always feel at home, and thanks to your comments we can see that things are doing well and things are going wrong, for us to have been a pleasure having you as guests, and our embers are always open waiting for you to return.
thank you very much again and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRENTWOOD, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were there for 2 nights- beautiful view of Arenal volcano. Required a cab to gt into town, but it appears most resorts are outside of city limits. Concierge was very helpful in arranging tours. We did not visit the Springs Resort or Tabacon, which were much pricier, but I understand delightful. We had 3 different hot pools at this resort with beautiful grounds, swim-up bar, and extensive breakfast buffet included in rate. Very pleased we stayed here. All of the "cottages" have a beautiful view, high ceilings, nice bath. I would recommend for couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
My friend, thank you very much for your lovely comments always help us to continue working in the best way possible, our ultimate dream is that 100% of our guests always feel at home, and thanks to your comments we can see that things are doing well and things are going wrong, for us to have been a pleasure having you as guests, and our embers are always open waiting for you to return.
thank you very much again and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Many other reviewers have described the beautiful grounds, the pools and swim-up sushi bar, the terrific views of the volcano, and the buffet breakfast, so I'll focus my review on a few other things that might be helpful to future travelers:

- For those of you renting a car, you'll have a dedicated parking space in front of your room, which is very convenient.
- If you see swarms of ants on the floor, call the front desk. They'll send someone to your room with bug spray that effectively gets rid of the ants for days.
- Internet access was very reliable.
- Don't book activities in advance - the concierge can advise you on the best activities (considering the weather, etc.) and can book them for you. They gave great advice, and I felt that they truly wanted us to have a good time, as opposed to selling activities for the sake of the sale. It was very impressive.
- The sundries/gift shop is well stocked.
- The shampoo in the room was not very effective. I recommend bringing your own.
- One day, housekeeping left our door wide open after cleaning the room. We discovered it when we returned in the late afternoon. It was disconcerting, to say the least. But to the best of our knowledge, all of our belongings were intact, so perhaps it was just a harmless mistake. Still, I recommend using the safe and securing everything else before you leave for the day, just in case.

Even considering the last point above, I highly recommend this hotel. Our stay was a wonderful and special experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
My friend, thank you very much for your lovely comments always help us to continue working in the best way possible, our ultimate dream is that 100% of our guests always feel at home, and thanks to your comments we can see that things are doing well and things are going wrong, for us to have been a pleasure having you as guests, and our embers are always open waiting for you to return.
thank you very much again and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Arenal Springs for two nights during our trip to Costa Rica and the hotel was great! We had a little trouble when we checked in with our first room but they quickly upgraded us and moved us to a nicer room with a better view of the volcano (which I didn't think would be possible based on the first room but it was!). The hot springs were great and so relaxing and the swim up bar was really nice. We went to Titoku, one of the local hot springs and enjoyed our pool just as much as Titoku and didn't have to pay for it! The resort itself was beautiful just to sit and take in the view of the volcano and the property - there were flowers, hammocks, and rocking chairs everywhere, really great for relaxing. The included breakfast buffet was really good and offered a wide variety of local and standard breakfast options. The service was great and they seemed to immediately address any requests. We had a great time and would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello dear friends, we hope all is well in your home and also your family, we first want to thank you for choosing us and we remind you that you will always be welcome here in our hotel, thank you for your beautiful comments which we help us to continue working towards our dream, in which we hope very soon that 100% of our guests are always satisfied and happy, hope to see you here soon and we ask our Lord Jesus to care for you and bless you always.
thank you from all your friends at the Hotel Arenal Springs Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Lovely comfy beds, clean rooms and you wake up each morning to a great view of the volcano. Cocktails at swim up bar lovely and makes a change to have a swim up sushi bar too (although they do offer other food from the bar too). The pools are great and plants around the fresh water pool attract the most wonderful butterflies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
My friend, thank you very much for your lovely comments always help us to continue working in the best way possible, our ultimate dream is that 100% of our guests always feel at home, and thanks to your comments we can see that things are doing well and things are going wrong, for us to have been a pleasure having you as guests, and our embers are always open waiting for you to return.
thank you very much again and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This resort was right in front of the volcano. We had a room at the top rear of the resort. Our room was on the 2ns floor and the view was spectacular! The 1st day we arrived you could clearly see the top of the volcano, as it was a clear day. The other 3 days we were there, it was overcast. Free breakfast in the morning. I would suggest going somewhere else for lunch and dinner as it was quite pricey. There are plenty of places in town where you can get a good cheap meal. We ate at one place that served fish, beans, rice and some sort of potato, it was the best meal I had in a long time. Reasonably priced too. Many shops in town to browse. The pools at the resort were very relaxing as some were hot springs. At night we could hear the howler monkeys behind our room. I could not say anything bad about this place. We hiked a trail near the volcano, which I think was free. 1 day went to LaFortuna Waterfall. Nice hike down, but going up, you have to climb like 400 steps to get to the top. Took a drive one day around the volcano and encountered these cute animals called a coati. They travel in packs and there must have been 30 of them in this group. Staff was great. Overall highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for room 914, all the way in the back of the resort. Great view of volcano and lush tropical gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
My friend, thank you very much for your lovely comments always help us to continue working in the best way possible, our ultimate dream is that 100% of our guests always feel at home, and thanks to your comments we can see that things are doing well and things are going wrong, for us to have been a pleasure having you as guests, and our embers are always open waiting for you to return.
thank you very much again and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.