We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not wait to get back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Can not wait to get back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Service A++
Accomidations A++
Friendlyness A++

All over a perfect vacation

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comments about us, these make us feel we're doing things right, and motivates us to continue our work. for us it was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you soon, God bless and take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    424
    85
    17
    7
See reviews for
398
612
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just returned from a week-long stay at Arenal Springs Resort as part of our honeymoon vacation, and this is one of the best places to stay around La Fortuna if you're looking to get away from it all. Though not as upscale (or as pricey) as some of the other resorts in the area, we loved the relaxed and natural atmosphere that was both beautiful and comfortable. Property is very well-maintained and landscaped to make you feel as if you're in your own private paradise. A great value for the area.

Rooms are spread out around the property in duplex-style buildings, with wonderful patios and windows facing the volcano. We stayed in 103, one of the closest rooms to the restaurant and office near the road to other rooms, but the landscaping was arranged to give us a feeling of privacy. Beds are pretty hard, but the rooms are otherwise very spacious and up-to-date.

The staff were all very friendly, especially at the bars and restaurant. We made friends with several. Selim, one of the concierges, had great recommendations for tours. He knows the local tour operators very well and never let us down. We were glad that we waited to make our tour plans until we got there—weather during the rainy season is unpredictable, but the staff are flexible and can book a tour the morning of, to help you plan around the weather.

The pool is filled with hot thermal spring water, and was more enjoyable to swim in at night (too hot during the day). But, the hotel is currently building several additional cold water pools and eventually plans to open a sushi bar near the new pools.

The restaurant food was all delicious. Easier to eat dinners at the resort instead of paying $20 in cab fares to and from La Fortuna. Breakfast buffet is also good, but I have to admit we got tired of it after just a few days (little variety).

I would highly recommend this hotel for those who are looking for peace and quiet but want to be in a comfortable, yet natural setting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
dear friend, good to know that you feel satisfied and thank you very much for your beautiful comments, I remind you that you will always be part of our family and our service will always be the same for you and everyone you refer. Thanks again and God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodaikanal, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Arenal Springs Resort was a paradise at the foot of the famous Volcano. Its gardens lush, chock-a-bloc with exotic birds,its staff ever so friendly and helpful ( esp Diego, John and Jeena in the restaurant). The Spa services are excellent and the pool is heated by natural thermal springs- oh-so-relaxing!
The hotel works with clockwork efficency, the staff are ever-alert and ready to help organize trips around Arenal. Thanks to Selim for that.
The service and the setting stole our hearts completely.. and if we would go back? YES! We would love to return, and the next time, just stay put in the leather rocking chair and drink in the beauty!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
dear friend, good to know that you feel satisfied and thank you very much for your beautiful comments, I remind you that you will always be part of our family and our service will always be the same for you and everyone you refer. Thanks again and God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The service is outstanding. There is always someone to help you and speak English if necessary. The room is great! It's private, comfortable, relaxing, unique and WHAT A VIEW OF THE VOLCANO! There's a beautiful pool, tours galore -- The Tour Guy Selim and Edward are outstanding -- horseback riding, canopy/zip lines, Nicaragua tours...you name it! The location is perfect. It's off the beaten path, but super close to town for a quick trip anytime. The food is delicious and the restaurant is really cool in design...all outside but covered. Everyone is wonderful, I highly recommend the hotel to anyone travelling whether alone or with kids!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the volcano, new and great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
dear friend, good to know that you feel satisfied and thank you very much for your beautiful comments, I remind you that you will always be part of our family and our service will always be the same for you and everyone you refer. Thanks again and God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

During our weeks stay in Costa Rica the Arenal Springs Resort was our favorite. The location, food, room were all excellent. But the best part was the staff. The made it a point to know our names and treated us like family. John, one of the staff at the restaurant, was the best We hated to leave. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comments about us, these make us feel we're doing things right, and motivates us to continue our work.
for us it was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you soon, God bless and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel is situated on beautiful grounds with luxurious vegetation. Private bungalows, outdoor dining and breakfast with superb view, friendly staff, great thermal springs swimming pool, spa, great bathrooms. I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comments about us, these make us feel we're doing things right, and motivates us to continue our work.
for us it was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you soon, God bless and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed at Arenal Springs for two nights. Room was extremely nice with large windows and great view of volcano. Grounds were very well maintained and hot springs pool was great to lounge around in. Breakfast was functional in a nice setting. Great spot to stay, especially if you have your own vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comments about us, these make us feel we're doing things right, and motivates us to continue our work.
for us it was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you soon, God bless and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.