We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own little tropical dream cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 kilometers west from La Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
American Fork, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our own little tropical dream cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We spend 2 nights here in January and were pleasantly surprised by the accomodations, location, and hospitality. Our room was large, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The view from our own private patio was gorgeous even though we only got a short glimpse of the volcano. The tropical garden surrounding our cabin made us feel like we were right in the rainforest. We enjoyed the simple but fresh breakfast each morning and felt absolutely welcomed by Jessie and her adorable family.
We originally planned to use shuttles and taxis to get around, but in the end opted to rent a car and we were sure glad we did. You could do without, but getting into town or to restaurants, or just exploring (the best part of our trip!) would have been a challenge without a car.
Although we followed our stay here by 4 days in a luxury resort on the west coast, we enjoyed our time at Erupciones Inn and La fortuna every bit as much.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    36
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We were only there for one night, but enjoyed our stay. Rooms were well-appointed, and the owners were extremely friendly, gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed here for two nights and really loved this place as the rooms were immaculate, the hosts (Jesse specifically) were incredible, and the breakfast was good (not great though).

The location is in a very quiet place outside of town and was an easy drive to town (you couldn't walk it). This was a familiy farm (and still is) though they also have guests stay in cabins on their property. Our cabin backed to a horse ranch w/ friendly horses and a view of Arenal volcano. The room had a jacuzzi tub and high ceilings, and the AC worked perfectly. Also, each room had a small patio w/ a table and two chairs to sit outside and face the volcano.

If you do end up staying here, eat at Que Rico just down the road as it was probably one of the best meals we'd eaten in CR.

We'd definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

This is a great place to stay if you want to be outside the town of LaFortuna and close to the volcano. We stayed in a deluxe room (about $10-20 extra), and had a nice hot tub and great view of the volcano. We also were next to a farm and had horses right outside our door. The owner is so nice and she will do anything she can to accomodate you, even offering to drive us to a nearby hotel instead of having us walk there.
This is a great spot if you want to be close to the volcano, and close to Tabacon Hot Springs if you buy a day pass there, like we did. It is probably not a good choice for you if you are looking to enjoy the nightlife, bars and restaurants of La Fortuna, though, because you are about a 5 minute taxi ride outside of town. Also, be prepared in case it rains at night, because there is no restaurant on the property either. But, if you are looking for a peaceful, beautiful B+B experience and want to have incredible volcano views, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid-June and, though the lava flow was on the other side of the mountain, we had a great view of the volcano right from our bed! The rooms were clean and air-conditioned and private. Arenal and the surrounds were incredible (do the river safari for sure!), but it was the service with a smile – a sincere smile - that really made our stay. The owners, Jessenia and William, were always available and happy to help us with everything we needed. They scheduled all of our tours, answered all of our many questions, cooked us eggs and toast and coffee for breakfast, and William even drove us to the hot springs one evening when he should have been winding down after a hard day’s work on their farm. They were always genuinely happy to help. Can’t wait to return.

  • Liked — Friendly service, view, location
  • Disliked — I'm not there now.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed at Erupciones Inn for 3 nights. We deliberately chose this B&B instead of one of the bigger, more "resort-like" hotels because of the chance to interact with a local family. That was the best part of this lodging - Jessie is a gem. She was friendly and helpful in every way you could imagine. She even directed us to the "hot river" that locals visit instead of the high priced commercial hotsprings. She suggested it as something to try first - and we ended up going back for a second soak. She helped us rent a car, booked a rafting trip for us, and generally took very good care of us.

We had a fabulous view of the volcano. The room was fine, but a bit small for our family of 4. There isn't much room to put bags, so we were tripping over things...but we were just in the room to sleep, so that wasn't such a problem.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — The size of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz,Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

This little gem is a dream come true. My husband and I stayed here in June and could not believe that a view of the volcano was seen right from our bed. The simple but good breakfast of eggs from their farm, toast and coffee was just enough to start our day. .

Upon our arrival, we were greeted immediately with a smile and an introduction to La Fortuna in general. We had booked the hot springs at Eco Thermales which I HIGHLY recommend if you dont want the tourist traps of Baldi and Tabocan.

All in all, our room was great, the location superb and the hosts unbelievably friendly. Costa Rica is awesome, but this place is a dream.

  • Liked — The hosts, the view of the volcano
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast

Address: 10 kilometers west from La Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Erupciones Inn invites you to be our guest and discover bed and breakfast comfort and hospitality with warmth that is distinctly Costa Rican with most spectacular view of the majestic Arenal Volcano. Erupciones Inn Bed and Breakfast is located on the west side of La Fortuna, in front of the majestic Arenal Volcano, just 10 Kilometers from La Fortuna town, 1 km from Tabacon Hot Springs, 4 km from Baldi Hot Springs and 10 minutes from the Arenal Volcano National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erupciones Inn Bed And Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Erupciones Inn b&b
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.