We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to bigger hotels and spas in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 kilometers west from La Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special rate 20% off
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great alternative to bigger hotels and spas in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Erupciones for one night, our last stop in Costa Rica. Erupciones is located a few kilometers away from La Fortuna going toward Arenal. There are about 12 units, each in its own building. For $65 we got a medium-sized room with two beds, a/c, cable, fridge, wi-fi and jacuzzi tub, breakfast included.

A very friendly lapdog, Cici, greeted us upon arrival. The B&B has a nice blue and orange color scheme. Our room was immaculate and while the accommodations are not super-modern, everything was in good order and well maintained. The grounds are excellent for bird-watching and the view of Arenal from our front porch was a bonus. There is a small horse farm next to the inn, which I believe the owners also run--we could see a trainer exercising one of the horses in the morning.

The host, Jessenia, was helpful in arranging a discount for a day pass at one of the nearby hot springs resorts. One of the staff members was there when we arrived and, despite that fact that she didn't speak much English, was overwhelmingly friendly and helpful. They do not take credit cards.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms with a/c cost a few bucks more, but have a better view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Jessie the owner extremely helpful & knowlegable lady.
Our room had a great view of the volcano & the location was excelllent.
However the rooms, although very spacious, were tired & in need of moderisation (the room next to ours which we saw was the same).
Breakfast was included in the price, but was poor.
However we enjoyed our stay here as Jessie was extremely helpful & friendly and the views of the volcano were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room and bathroom are spacious. The location is very quiet, therefore no noise at all, apart from the birds in the garden early in the morning which is great. Located right next to Arenal volcano close to the entrance of the National Park. Good value for money, ideal for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This B and B is country simple with great views of Arenal and away from all the big hotels in LaFortuna yet only 10 minutes from the national park and 10 minutes to center of Town. Great woodworking in the room and super nice farm family (minimal English speaking). Booked it online through Anywhere Costa Rica travel agency. Very private rooms that are more like mini- condos. Bring your binoculars for morning bird watching and a clear view of Arenal before the clouds roll in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed two nights during the cold front in March which deprived us of any view of the volcano. This was a haven amidst the drizzle and we really appreciated the warm hospitality, the beautiful rooms (bathroom had cathedral ceiling and jacuzzi tub), WiFi and tv. We especially appreciated the night watchman who always seemed to appear out of the fog to guide us to our cabin. The Tabacón springs were within walking distance although other amenities would need a car. This was a perfect stop over to enjoy the thermal waters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were recommended this B & B by some people and found reviews on tripadvisor that matched their recommendation. Jessie is quite possibly the sweetest person in all of Costa Rica. She was friendly and helpful with recommendations on the surrounding area.

The rooms were cute and very private, each with a great view of the volcano. The only downside was that the mattresses were a little hard for our liking.

Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Jessenia was such a great host. She called Sky Trek and made zip-lining arrangements for us. Suggested a restaurant where we all had an amazing meal and gave us a warm breakfast in the morning. The room was clean and had a/c which was a major plus. We went to Tabacon hot springs so this b&b was just a short drive away for us to get there. Would gladly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast

Address: 10 kilometers west from La Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Erupciones Inn invites you to be our guest and discover bed and breakfast comfort and hospitality with warmth that is distinctly Costa Rican with most spectacular view of the majestic Arenal Volcano. Erupciones Inn Bed and Breakfast is located on the west side of La Fortuna, in front of the majestic Arenal Volcano, just 10 Kilometers from La Fortuna town, 1 km from Tabacon Hot Springs, 4 km from Baldi Hot Springs and 10 minutes from the Arenal Volcano National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erupciones Inn Bed And Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Erupciones Inn b&b
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.