We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience. Worth the drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Save
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Great experience. Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

First off you can only book this hotel via e-mail or by calling them over the phone and paying for your stay in advance, so don't be worried when you make the reservation, that's just how it is.

The next thing is finding the place. Now a lot of people say you need a 4 x 4 to get here. Well unless you're the worst driver in the world, that's not the case. We made it here really easily and yes the roads there are through the mountains and have steep inclines, but the road is fully paved all the way to the tree house hotel.

When pulling off the main road you stop at an electronic gate and need to buzz for access to the resort.

Once you arrive at reception you are greeted by Mark & Lucy who manage the property and take care of all the visitors. Mark gave us a run down on how the property works and checked us in. We were staying in the hummingbird tree house and he informed us how to get there. He also asked how we liked our coffee in the mornings before we left and showed us the honor system for the drinks.

We drove up the gravel track to our tree house and arrived at the hummingbird

The tree houses were very cosy and had everything you would expect for a hotel room, but with a twist, remember you are in a tree house, in the jungle.

Our room had two double beds and a single bunk also, it also had a fridge, shower and places to store your bags.

The shower system was great and provided enough hot water for at least 10 minutes, just remember that you are in a tree house and this really is a luxury item. It was great showering outside with just the net and having total privacy.

It was great to be away from the internet for a few days and having no TV also made this a nice getaway.

Each morning coffee would be placed on your picnic bench and a plantain placed on your balcony which would attract birds. It was a great way to start the morning being able to wake up and watch nature.

On our first day at the property we did the waterfall trek, which was about 5 miles round trip and it was great to venture out into the grounds. We did not see anyone else the entire time we were on our hike and it was really peaceful.

The next morning we went to see mark about some tours we go on and he sorted our zip lining tour and a trip to Arenal volcano with a local guide, which was really good.
Mark & Lucy were very helpful and really made our stay wonderful, they helped us with any questions we had, mark even ordered dinner for us one night and had it delivered to our tree house.

Just from being the grounds we saw lots of wildlife including a pack of howler monkeys who took a liking to our tree house in particular.

We would definitely return for a stay at the tree houses hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    112
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
239
281
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our family of four stayed in the Monkey tree house back in July 2013. By far, it was our favorite part of our Costa Rican adventure. We used the air conditioner the first night, then realized shutting it off and opening the windows all night was the way to go... the most peaceful and beautiful sleep you'll ever get.

Was there occasional traffic noise? Sure, but it was by no means a distraction to the beautiful jungle you'll be surrounded by at the Tree Houses. Were there some bugs roaming about the tree house, in particular around the mini-fridge? Sure. But if you've ever truly "camped" in the US, this is luxury by comparison. The tree house was impeccably maintained. The breakfast was awesome, and they always asked us if we wished for seconds. Considering the breakfast, the Tree Houses were a bargain. The La Fortuna region was our favorite and I'd highly recommend renting a car to explore this authentic region.

If you're looking for a uniquely Costa Rican experience, then the Tree Houses can't be beat. The shower's water was heated at the shower head so hot water was not a problem. Sure, there are fancy properties in town, among other coastal regions in which we visited, but at the end of the day it's the memories of this place that'll stick with you. We look forward to visiting again someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It is easy to put this place up on a pedestal and eagerly await your arrival. We booked four months in advance. This exclusiveness is because there are only six units.
The hosts are fabulous and on top of everything, and remember details, so that is great. The grounds are gorgeous.
The place is ridden with street noise, all day long. Do not get the impression you’re staying in some quiet tranquil campground. You will hear cars, trucks, diesel and motorcycles all day, and all night. Yes there are nice birds chirping, and it’s great.
The location is HORRIBLE! From the beach, it will take over four hours to get there. I thought our GPS messed us up, but when we drove back, I realized we took the right way, and it’s a very long, steep scary drive. You for sure need GPS, and 4 x 4 skills, and you need to leave earlier in the morning because we were stuck in the dark fog and it was scary. The roads up the hill are extremely steep and at one point our vehicle was unable to make it, and we were rolling backwards. The worst inclines ever. It is foggy, winding, and thrilling. I hope you have an adventurous spirit.
Then, the place is 30 minutes each way from La Fortuna, which is where all the activities originate from. So if you want to see the Swinging Bridges or Volcano, those are even further, 45 minutes each way. This place is in the middle of nowhere, in farm land, with not much to do around the town.
The mattresses are horrible, like a cheap Motel 6 quality. Worst mattresses on our trip! The shower is camping conditions. First night only three gallons of hot water, then they fixed it, and we got 15 gallons. Just barely enough to bathe; cold water showers…

They need to put mats on the slick floors it is easy to hydroplane.
We liked the windows, those sealed shut and no bugs got in.
The food taste great, but the portions were very small and so you will need to beg for seconds or go hungry.
The place is fun, but we will not be back. They have gorgeous quiet lush resorts near the volcano and that will be close to hot springs and stuff like that.

Room Tip: Just stay two nights because you may or may not like staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I am so happy that my husband and I booked this awesome and unique hotel for the start of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We stayed in the Frog house, which is very small, but adequate. If they other larger houses were available, we would have booked one. Even though the Frog house is small, it has a pretty good size porch and 360 views of the forest. The accommodations are not fancy, but comfortable and clean. We didn't book this place to stay in bed all day so we weren't looking for luxury. It was so fun to wake up every morning to gorgeous birds sitting on the porch and delicious CR coffee on the table. Breakfasts here are AMAZING. All CR food. They serve fresh juice, fruit, gallo pinto, eggs, empanadas, and my fav, the CR version of French toast. YUM! We rented a car, so the trip into La Fortuna was no biggie. Mark gives great directions and be sure you get a GPS if you aren't familiar with the area. Sometimes the GPS will lie to you, so always follow Mark's directions, it will save you an hour some trips. We drove to the Rio Celeste waterfall trailhead ourselves (about 2.5 hrs) and hiked on our own. This is totally do-able without a guide, just be smart hikers. Bring water, boots (the trail is MUDDY!), food, and a first-aid kit. Oh yes, and DO NOT forget your camera. We did book the waterfall rappell through the hotel, and it was incredible. Pure Trek is a fantastic group. You will have the time of your life!

The property is gorgeous and expansive. We hiked the trails to the waterfall and river after we checked out. It was great. We spotted a Howler monkey, a basilisk, and other creatures. The staff is top-notch here. Mark and Lucy are great and very helpful. I must say that the highlight of this hotel is the night watchman/night hike guide Rolando. What a wonderful guy! We so looked forward to his night walks. He knows all about the forest, the animals, and is eager to share. He helped us find tons of frogs, sloths, armadillos, lizards, etc. We were so bummed our last hike! This hotel is AWESOME and we are for sure coming back for stellar experience and most of all, our new friend Rolando! Kudos to an EXCELLENT HOTEL!

Room Tip: The Frog house is adequate for 2 people. It also has a loft with 2 twin beds for others or kids. A l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property managed by Mark and Lucy, who will really make you feel at home. While you probably cannot trust Google maps or your GPS in this part of Costa Rica, you will definitely have to trust Mark's guidance: the guy knows every corner of his adoptive province, and everyone around knows him! We stayed in the Frog tree house, which is the closest to the main road (not a big issue since there is close to no traffic at night, but you may spot more animals from deeper in the jungle - the place sells out very fast, so book ahead!). The rooms were very clean and functional, with hot water and electricity the whole day. A nice plus: the staff would discreetly bring coffee or tea to your private deck every morning before breakfast, placing a plantain on a bird feeder so that you would be able to drink your first cup of coffee of the day surrounded by tens of different bird species (and naughty squirrels trying to steal the plantain, as the case may be). The only negative point is that it is quite far from La Fortuna (about half an hour away) but, at the same time, it is very close to must-see attractions such as ASIS (the wildlife rescue center) and to the best-ever frozen margarita served at the nearby Malpeche restaurant!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Mark and Lucy were awesome and very helpful with booking local excursions. And the breakfast was GREAT! It was so nice to walk out on our balcony and find fresh coffee had been deliever each morning! The night hike with Rolando is a must (we did it twice). We were fortunate enough to see a family of howler monkeys climbing right past our tree house (at eye level) one afternoon. The location is great for exploring the area, espcially for whitewater rafting and ziplining. The hanging bridges was great too, but the volcano hike and hot springs were a bit of a let down. If we ever get to go back to Costa Rica, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a brilliant time at Tree Houses. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay - the largest and the smallest. I actually preferred the smaller room (very small!) as it felt more like a real tree house - you could feel it sway gently as you moved around inside. Each treehouse is nice and secluded too so there's plenty of privacy. It's not luxury by any means, but if you're after something a little less typical then it's definitely for you.

So many aspects made our stay wonderful - hosts Mark and Lucy, a sloth and howler monkeys hanging in the forest around the tree houses, breakfast with the hummingbirds, walking to the private waterfall and having a pizza delivered right to the door of our treehouse.

We were able to take all the tours we wanted with pickups directly from the hotel, so location is no problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.