We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Save
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super cool experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Imagine this....you wake up to the sounds of the rainforest all around you, sipping fresh coffee out of the thermos that was delivered to your outdoor deck, as you watch the thick canopy come alive around you - the day begins. Then, down to a wonderful breakfast with fresh local fruit just short walk away amongst the flowers and hummingbirds. Your hike to the volcano is all arranged as is your zipline tour. The Tree Houses were an awesome way to begin and end our adventures each day. Highly recommended for those who want the extraordinary experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    114
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
259
298
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

All the good reviews are true. This was the best "hotel" experience I ever had. Due to availability we were only able to book for one night but we made the most of it. Mark and Lucy were most helpful before the trip and during. They arranged 2 tours for us and were the nicest. Stayed in Yiguirro. It was surreal - a bungalow 20 feet up in the air in the trees. Quiet and in the middle of the jungle. Felt like we were the only ones for miles. Sitting on the porch in the morning we got to see a family of about 6 monkeys wander through the trees right past our treehouse for about 15 minutes. It was perfect. This is a must stay place if you are in the Arenal area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just spent several days at the Tree Houses and enjoyed the experience thoroughly. Mark arranged activities and transportation which was reliable and convenient. I'm glad we arranged the activities for the morning since the rains were so strong later in the day. Juan Carlos was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable. Thank you to Reann for her hospitality and patience. Breakfasts were yummy and enough to keep us going through our morning excursions. We stayed in Yiguirro with five people. The room was well kept and it was fun showering while looking out at the forest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you don't like the idea of staying in the midst of the row hotels in La Fortuna, and you have a car, this is clearly your choice for lodging. There are many unique features: The hotel is on a private preserve so you feel you are in your own forest. Many of the wildlife you will see elsewhere are right here. If you like to go on long walks, there is no better place than right here. You will find quiet and peacefulness as the houses are far apart. Breakfast is divine and different with each day. Patricia and her team prepared a special bread for us. There are drinks in a refrigerator on the honor system.

Our family had massages outside on the porch of our tree house by MaryAnn. It was raining all around us- a surreal experience.

Mark and Lucy are the most gracious and knowledgeable hosts ever possible. Mark planned all our adventure tours and all the transportation for us. This was a tremendous help. I can not emphasize enough how well- known and respected Mark and Lucy are in the La Fortuna community. All your stress will be gone if you let them prepare your schedule. Mark will take the deposit in cash and will give you vouchers for each of the tour companies so that you can pay the rest directly to the tour company.

Mark personally arranged for all of our major transportation around Costa Rica. His efforts, combined with Casa Marin (Jody and Wilson) resulted in a seamless transition from one place to another. Thanks Mark for outstanding drivers, Wilson, Emmanuel and Gretel. They became part of our family. We are so grateful to you-Mark, Lucy and Jody. One last word: We were grateful for the A/C as we Coloradans aren't use to the humidity!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. All of them have good separation. If you are one who likes to be as clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Frog treehouse. It was like something out of Swiss Family Robinson. At night, the rainforest was alive with wildlife, which lulled us to sleep almost immediately. In was a little noisier in the morning, as the Frog house is closest to the road and you can therefore hear traffic, including large trucks, drive by. However, this didn't bother us too much, especially for the incredible price. The included breakfast was fantastic, with fresh tropical fruit, eggs made to order, amazing cheese, and other Costa Rican specialties. Mark and Lucy were very, very helpful (probably the most helpful hotel managers I've ever encountered), both before our trip when we were in the planning stages and during our stay itself. Mark organized an entire day of excursions for us with fantastic tour companies; we didn't need to do anything but enjoy! On the second morning of our stay, Lucy spotted a tree sloth hanging out on the property, and I was able to live out my life-long desire to see a sloth in its natural setting. I highly recommend this hotel.

My only suggestions in to avoid driving to the Treehouses (or to La Fortuna in general) at night; the roads are twisty, narrow, and dark with no shoulders. During the rainy season, they can also be wet and VERY foggy; do yourself a favor and drive in the daylight!

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the "Frog" house is the least expensive but also the loudest, as it is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My daughter and I celebrated her graduation from college with a trip to Costa Rica. We both love nature and outdoor activities so this was the perfect destination for us. Tree Houses Hotel is beautiful--Mark and Lucy will arrange any activities you want with knowledgeable, friendly, reliable guides, and the food at Tree Houses is excellent! The tree houses felt like luxury camping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the treehouses - one night in the Frog treehouse and one in Toucan. They were both great - the frog is close to the road and a little noisy, but it is larger. We enjoyed hiking the grounds during the day and spotted monkeys, sloths, and frogs. Rolando's night tour was great - just as good as the pricey one in Monteverde. The breakfast was amazing! Mark and Lucy were always available to help. Mark set up a private tour for us to Arenal and the hot springs, and the guide was knowledgeable and flexible. Even though you're a half-hour from Fortuna, there is plenty of good food nearby. Where else can you stay in a treehouse?

Room Tip: Frog house is a little noisy but good size. Toucan is a good location but room is tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.