We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Treehouse Hotel for two nights in the middle of our Costa Rican vacation (the other two hotels were high priced luxury resorts). We were so grateful we had a chance to experience the Treehouses!

Mark was an exceptional host. Prior to our trip, he helped us arrange several tours around the area (the pineapple express, Projecto Asis, a volcano hike, and a white water rafting trip). All of the tours were absolutely perfect .. it is clear that Mark knows who offers the best services in the area. Mark also arranged our transportation throughout our entire vacation and we were very impressed with our drivers, Jody and WIlson. They were extremely knowledgable and friendly and took extra efforts to get us what we needed. If we were to travel to Costa Rica again, I would have Mark arrange my entire vacation!

Our treehouse was very peaceful. The bedding was clean and comfortable, the bathroom small but functional. (Bring your own shampoo and conditioner). The homemade breakfasts were delicious. The last morning we were there, a family of howler monkeys visited us on our porch. It was amazing!! I highly recommend a stay at the Treehouse Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    105
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
209
257
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belen, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

These houses were very fun!! It was a great experience to be up in the trees. We did not see any wild life besides birds ( but they were very pretty). The houses were very cool!! It was quite a climb up and your far up off the ground so people that are afraid of heights beware. They have walking trails to go around which are kept clean and not scary. You can also pick your own fruit, which is very fun!
The food is very good in the morning although it is extremely small portions.
Overall it was a very magical experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zimmerman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've been to a lot of places, and this is the absolute most amazing place! The people who run it will do anything for you in order to make your visit great. They mixed up pancake batter for special breakfasts for my son. They arranged the most amazing tours for us and made everything run so smoothly it was unreal! Then, there's the treehouses! We stayed two nights in the monkey and two nights in the Frog. My son LOVED the private loft with beds. He could look out the high window and really felt like camping. The other treehouse had a bunk bed. Who can beat a bunk bed in a treehouse in a rain forest?? I personally loved the open air shower. It was amazing to feel like I was in the jungle, listening to the critters while taking a shower! There are not enough good things to say about this place. We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: There is one treehouse that is way smaller than the others. Make sure you verify which one you are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 4 nights 2 nights in the frog and 2 nights in the monkey they both where great the frog has two levels one bed and a bathroom on bottom and on the top there is two beds and a window and a light. Then we stayed at the monkey for 2 nights. It is bigger than the frog it had one bed and one bunk bed. They both where wonderful. Both had a safe. The staff was great I loved it

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the end of April in the Monkey House & thoroughly enjoyed this place. We arrived mid afternoon so took a walk down to the river - this is a nice pleasant stroll down but very hard work in the heat coming back up - thankfully a number of seats were set along the way - the majority of which we took advantage of. Arranged for a pizza delivery that evening, which was good & we were in bed to the sounds of the forest by 10pm.
The next morning we had arranged through Mark, for a full day tour of the local sights - an early breakfast was arranged by 6.15am and we then drove into La Fortuna for 7.15am - about 30km away. A bus then picked us up and we had a safari boat trip along a slow & winding river when we and our excellent guide managed to spot many animals & birds. After fresh fruit & cold water we then visited the La Fortuna waterfall - this is beautiful, but 500 steps down to it & consequently, the same back again - very hard work!
After an excellent 3 course lunch in La Fortuna we climbed to the observation point of Arenal volcano & finally ended a great day at the Tabacon Hot Springs which included dinner - a great day, whilst expensive at $200 each was worth it with great service & food.
The next morning at 5am we were woken in our tree house by a family (7 of them including 2 small babies) of howler monkey who came within 3 feet of our deck & eventually climbed on our roof - great experience!
There followed another superb breakfast & we sadly left at about 9.30am.
Mark & Lucy were wonderful hosts and their staff all work very hard to maintain the entire site. The tree house has everything you could need - the shower is amazing with "open" sides allowing you to look out into the forest, but since there is no-one else close, no-one can see you. The room we had is huge with 2 double beds and a large deck with lots of seating. The room has air conditioning, but although it was very warm, we left our windows open all night (all netted) and the ceiling fan & we were fine.
A memorable experience & thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Treehouses and it was just wonderful. The Treehouses themselves are beautifully made and the surroundings incredible. We saw lots of birds and the highlight of my kid's trip was seeing a sloth up in a tree that was pointed out by Lucy near the breakfast area. The breakfasts were really yummy and they were very accommodating to our "picky eater" children. Mark was so knowledgeable about the area and pointed us in the direction of some great local restaurants. We also set up white water rafting and ziplining through Mark, and both were excellent. The property is very large and we hiked down to the stream and went for a swim- it was lovely. Couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is an amazing place to see! You are staying right in the rain forest. We experianced things that we have never experianced before! Every morning we seen a sloth at breakfast. Not only are the grounds beautiful but the people are extremely helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list