We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Save
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lived up to our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This review is long overdue, as we stayed there in August 2012. But I told Mark & Lucy I would do it, so better late than never.

There were 3 of us (all adults) in the Yiguirro, and we loved it!

Pre- arrival: Emails were answered quickly & thoroughly. Reservation process is easy. Mark also helped us book our canopy tour with Ecoglide (awesome - do it!). We had a rental car, and he gave excellent & precise directions from San Jose airport. Believe him when he tells you to get there before dark - it is not a drive you want to make at night! And dark does come quickly after sunset.

Arrival - Mark greeted us, and gave us an overview of the property, and explained the honor system for beverages. American had left a piece of our luggage in Miami, so Mark gave the info to Lucy who helped track its location. Happily it was delivered early the next morning!

It was rainy season, and while the days were rain-free, it POURED right after dark each night we were there. Our first night, we tried to venture out by car, but didn't get very far. We ended up back at the office where Mark ordered a pizza for us. He said it would be similar to Dominoes or Papa Johns - we thought it was much better! Not to mention that 3 of us ate for about $20, which included a nice tip for the driver. And we ordered again the next night! Finally on the 3rd night we made it to Happyland - cute little local place with good food and reasonable prices.

The unit - the beds were very comfortable and the A/C worked really well. Since the bathroom is sort of indoor-outdoor, we kept the door closed to keep the cool air in the room. We all LOVED the shower. Wasn't sure what to expect as the website had described it as "a warm water shower", but the temperature was perfect, and there was good water pressure. No blow dryer is provided ladies, so bring your own or manage without one. The small refrigerator was nice, plus they have eating utensils in the room. But some glassware would have been nice (i.e. wine glasses or tumblers, even plastic ones). We drank out wine out of coffee mugs!

Location - yes, it is a good 30-40 minute drive to La Fortuna & the volcano area. The road is good and the scenery is pretty. We did not do it at night, which would be necessary if you wanted to see the lava flow on Arenal. If that is important to you, then book a tour. And yes, you do hear the trucks from time to time. But we did not feel it was disruptive to the experience.

Coffee / meals - having the coffee delivered in the morning is such a nice touch! Breakfasts were delicious. Not huge portions, but just enough, and they always asked us if we wanted more. On our last day, Lucy gave us some extra muffins for the ride to Manuel Antonio. My only disappointment was that they served some type of egg dish all 3 days we were there, so I did not get to have the pancakes and/or French toast that other reviewers have raved about!

Due to the rain, we did not get to do the night tour with Rolando. We might have been able to do it the last night, as it was scheduled at 1015p and the rain had stopped by then. In hindsight, we probably should have made ourselves go, but in the moment, we were tired from the days activities. And we did not see any monkeys at all, day or night. But that's the luck of the draw - Mark & Lucy can't control nature!

Overall, it was a great experience, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is able to make the climb up & down the steps!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    112
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
239
281
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The tree houses are everything you dream they should be. You are truly sleeping in the trees along with the monkeys and birds. Pure magic! The staff was also very helpful and doting. Tree houses are clean and comfortable and well maintained.
Of course, there are obvious draw backs to a tree house. The stairs are steep and the noises of the jungle may be an annoyance to some. But both worth it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family of five stayed at Tree Houses in the Hummingbird tree house for 2 nights in March 2013.

The treehouse was clean, comfortable, and reasonably spacious even for our family of five. We had a double bed, a full-over-double bunk, and a small mattress on the floor.

The windows all around the main room can be opened to the screen to allow a breeze and to hear the noises of the surrounding forest, or can be closed if you use the (very effective) air conditioner.

The shower windows are screened on two sides at eye level. Although we never really could get the warm water working, what a fun shower with the view and sounds of the forest all around!

You don't stay here for the room, or for the food, or for luxury, but for the experience.

I woke both mornings at first light, around 5:30, to the sounds of the animals. I sat on the deck with my coffee watching the birds eating the plantains, and one morning watching a large howler monkey do his thing.

The breakfasts were lovely (fruit, eggs, rolls, tico-style beans and rice), but they were over-shadowed by the setting of breakfast at the open-air Rancho, with bird feeders all around. Hummingbirds did their amazing dance all around us throughout breakfast.

Once, walking down the lane to Mark and Lucy's house, I saw a tiny howler monkey in the tree above the road and another in the next tree.

It was a restful and genuine-feeling place, and we enjoyed our two days there.

I had two regrets about the stay. One, we did not allow enough time for the hike to and from the waterfall and river pools. We didn't listen carefully to Mark when he said it was 45 minutes each way, and set out in mid-afternoon. By the time we dawdled along the path and reached the river, we had time only to stick our toes in and then had to turn around to reach our tree house before nightfall. Note: if you make the hike, apply bug spray plentifully!

Two, the night watchman had a night off our second night there, and I wish we'd taken the night hike with him on our first night. We were tired from a busy day of waterfall rappelling and opted out.

Overall, the hospitality and the setting were marvelous. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Tree Houses Hotel a couple of nights during out 10 day backpacking trip in Costa Rica, and it was wonderful. The management was very helpful, calling us taxis, scheduling tours/trips for us.

Inside, the tree houses are beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The staff brings you coffee/tea in the morning and places fruit on stands so the birds collect right on the front porch. Breakfast is served early, but it got us out of bed, and was delicious.

The treehouses are well separated from each other, so it's very quiet in the evening. We could stay up late talking and drinking without having to worry if other people were losing sleep because of us.

The night security guard, Rolando, took us on a night tour of the grounds, looking for sloths, ocelots, frogs, spiders, and other wildlife. He is such a nice guy, and very informed - he was able to answer every question we threw at him.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family stayed at the Tree Houses for 3 nights. There were 3 of us. My husband, myself and our 12-year old son. Wish we would have stayed longer! Mark and Lucy are the best hosts. Mark was so good and answering emails right away, helped us with our tour reservations as well as lining up a driver for us to take us from the airport to the Tree Houses, and then to our next destination on the beach. The breakfasts were awesome. Fresh fruit and a different main dish every morning. The coffee waiting outside of our tree house in the mornings was great. I really enjoyed reading my book with a cup of coffee sitting on my deck listening to the rainforest come alive for the day. Tree Houses is a little off the beaten path, but well worth it for the unique experience. We couldn't have been happier!!! Thanks Mark & Lucy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sloth house. There's a tree growing inside of this one! Very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family went to Costa Rica last week (March 2013) and our first 3 nights were in these tree houses. I asked my (adult) kids if they could change anything about our trip and they said they would have stayed in the tree houses longer. We stayed in the Toucan and The Yguirro tree houses. Both wonderful. But Mark and Lucy (managers) truly make your entire stay wonderful. It started with the excellent communication from them at the very start of my trip planning. They made excellent recommendations and let me modify them several times. The tours they helped me pick and then they booked them for us had terrific guides. The (free) night hike with Rolando (their night watchman) was the only time we saw a tree frog (the one on all the covers of the Costa Rica Travel books). He literally climbed into a tree 15 feet to get it for us to see. Lucy made us fresh bread for one of our excursions. They property is gorgeous. If you want a traditional, fancy, resort experience then don't stay here but then you are completely missing the point of going to Costa Rica any way! This tree house hotel is fun, different, exciting, and adventuresome....and you can even get massages if you want one. Thanks Mark and Lucy! Hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Save a little time in your itinerary to take the hike on the trails that lead from their property. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 nights the beginning of March. Even though it rained the whole time we were there (it is a rainforest), we wish we would have stayed more nights! Mark and Lucy were so helpful from the first e-mail to the day we left their hotel. Anything that we needed as far as setting up excursions and rides, they were very helpful. The treehouse was beautiful and very interesting. We stayed in the Toucan, and my boyfriend really enjoyed his coffee that gets brought to your treehouse each morning. We were set up on two tours by mark, the whitewater rafting class 3/4 and ziplining tour, both of which were awesome! The breakfasts, which are included are excellent! The baked huervos rancheros was the best. Also the pizza that can be delivered directly to your treehouse was a good choice after a long day of traveling. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone I know that is traveling to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.