We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay Place in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Save Saved
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must Stay Place in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I visited Tree Houses Hotel about a year ago. Due to availablity, we were only able to stay here one night. We are so glad that we decided to leave our nicer resort-type hotel that we stayed at for two nights to spend a night in the tree houses even though they were in similar areas. This is a once in a lifetime experience. I mean when else are you going to sleep in a tree house?

Here is what we loved about the place.

- We got massages on our tree house deck in the middle of the jungle. Who needs the nature sounds CD when you are actually in nature? Right after my massage a toucan flew by and sat in a tree straight ahead.

- There is some great hiking and a little swimming area on the property. There is a waterfall, we visited at the tailend of dry season so it was more like a trickle of water. It was very secluded

- There was a great little Italian restaurant down the street. It's pretty much the only place to eat in the area. After dinner, we came back to our tree house, drank some beer, and enjoyed sitting in nature.

- I would say one of my all time favorite memories from Costa Rica was waking up naturally with the sun the following morning and having coffee waiting for me right outside my door. I sat on the deck, sipping on my coffee while reading a book. It was amazingly relaxing. I would go back to this place just to have that moment again.

- Breakfast was very fresh and very delicious. Really, every meal we had in Costa Rica was amazing.

I would 100% recommend this place to others. It is a must do in Costa Rica! And to top it all off, the owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Toucan Tree House and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    110
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
230
270
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want to go to the Arenal/La Fortuna area of Costa Rica, this is the place! Slightly off the beaten trail and wayyyy less touristy (actually its the only hotel in the are so you know there aren't many tourists!), the Tree Houses Hotel is where it's at. It books up really quickly to make sure you get in touch with them quickly. Mark and Lucy manage the Tree Houses and are absolutely wonderful hosts. Mark was helpful in telling us where to rent our car from and helped us book a trip to a zip line adventure before we arrived. He also arranged for us to have massages and exfoliations on our tree house balcony! Talk about relaxation. Highly recommended!! Each morning you will awake to a fresh carafe of coffee and the birds will already be feasting on the plantains that were brought to your porch. Wait until you catch your first glimpse of a toucan or aracari from your porch. What a moment!! Then slowly make your way down to breakfast and enjoy fresh fruit and a delicious breakfast made by the ladies that work there.

Take advantage of the trails they have leading to a waterfall and the river out past the tree houses. Keep an eye out for monkeys and sloths, but don't worry if you miss them because Mark is great about showing you where they are if they come up to the tree house area.

When we return to Costa Rica you can bet we will be making this a stop on the journey! Thanks again for a wonderful, once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Treehouses were unique and gave excellent privacy without isolation. We traveled with friends and rented two treehouses next to each other. We had a great time. Really enjoyed the 6 am coffee delivered to our door way up in the trees. Also appreciated the cut up fruit delivered with the coffee to put out for the squirrels and birds that came if all was quiet. Wonderful!!! I would recommend the Treehouses to anyone who can climb some stairs. The staff were wonderful and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at Tree House and loved it! Great way to get away from it all and see some really cool nature! Highlights are: 1) Rolando's night time tour of the property where we saw lots of wildlife including the Costa Rican red eye tree frog! This is a must do. 2) the breakfast every morning was a great way to start the day, special thanks to Lucy for the zucchini bread yesterday, and 3) Mark and all the folks for such wonderful hospitality.
We had a great time and would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a unique experience with Nature!

Room Tip: All are good as they each have an individual element to them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Toucan tree house, we were initially on a waiting list for March (inquired in January, so book early if you can). We were ecstatic to learn they had 2 nights open up during our stay in Costa Rica. The tree house had everything we needed, even electricity and flush toilet! The tree house was very clean, no bugs. Sitting on the front porch with a candle lit, listening and watching the jungle was beautiful (even in the rain! still sheltered sitting outside). During our stay we seen toucans, monkeys, parrots, a sloth and a tree frog. Oh and their dogs! Bring a pair of warm pyjamas, grab some beers from the vending machine (reasonable prices and everything you could need) and enjoy.

Mark and Lucy are awesome! They welcome you with open arms and are certainly at your disposal when it comes to booking tours, suggestions, driving directions, anything. Mark booked two tours for us a few weeks before our arrival and let us know everything we needed as well as suggestions on what tours we would like best.

The hiking was great on the property, about a 40 minute hike to a river and extra 5 to a waterfall (then 40 back). The trails were very open and concrete/stone in some sections. Very kid friendly.

One of the best parts was waking up to a hot carafe of Costa Rican coffee on our deck every morning. We woke up at 615, sat out and watched the jungle wake. Then headed down to breakfast at 7am. I still cant get over the french toast topped with coconut and pineapple. I have craved it every day since I've been home! Excellent breakfast in the morning and always something different.

We did the night hike with Rolando the security guard. He was great, he goes above and beyond to find something incredible in the jungle at night. He had extra flashlights for us too! The hike is free ofcourse, but we still tipped him :)

I'm not the type to come back to something twice, but I would definetely return to the tree house hotel! Thanks Mark and Lucy for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you have ever wanted to stay in a tree house in the jungle, this is the place for you. It has electricity (including air conditioning) and running water, so it's not really roughing it, but we prefer at least a few comforts of home. The grounds are beautiful and there is some light hiking onsite. You are at eye level with monkeys, birds, etc. Breakfast is fresh made every morning. It is comfortable and Mark and Lucy will help you with everything. This hotel is far from the actual town of La Fortuna, which gives you the opportunity to try some more local restaurants. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our first time to Costa Rica and it was absolutely amazing. The tree houses were awesome. We stayed in the frog, which is one of the smaller tree houses, but there was plenty of room for the two of us. We could hear the birds and monkeys and night were able to see some of the wildlife during the day as well. The breakfast they served was delicious and the workers were so friendly and accommodating. They brought coffee up to our porch every morning and it was so nice to sit on the porch and just take in the rain forest. As all the other reviews say, Mark and Lucy are the nicest people you could ever meet. They were such sweet hearts and helped up with everything we needed. The tours that they helped us booked were amazing and exciting. Lucy even made us cookies and bread to take as snacks during our tours. I would definitely recommend the tree houses to anyone who is looking for a real rain forest experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the frog treehouse. There was enough room for the two of us, but if you require a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.