We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel and Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel and Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here last week for two nights and it was awesome. We had come from Monteverde (Cloud forest about 5 hours away) and first drove through La Fortuna and started to wonder whether we made the right choice to go outside of town. We SURE did! About 30 mins past La Fortuna, it was easy to find and literally a hidden gem right off of a main road. The tree house (we stayed in Sloth) was so nice, clean, and had a tree growing right in it! Waking up and having all of the windows to look through at birds and other wildlife is amazing.

Breakfasts were great too and the owners were super helpful and friendly. We did the night walk with the security guard and he found some amazing wildlife- sloths, armadillos, tree frog, snake, etc.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone going to Costa Rica especially to the Volcano as you're either staying in a normal hotel in the city or paying a ridiculous amount to stay at Baldi or another hot springs resort in La Fortuna. Try something different :)

Room Tip: Sloth has a double bed and two singles in a loft above. It was just two of us and it was a good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    107
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
223
264
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I will forever rave about this hotel! The staff was amazing, attentive and informative regarding day and night activities to experience. I loved that every morning there was a thermos of hot coffee waiting outside our door and an amazing and healthy breakfast waiting at the main lodge.

The grounds are unbelievable, every morning you wake up to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys that surround your own private treehouse. There are trails on the property to roam around, one of which leads to a waterfall & river. My last day there I saw a sloth right by our treehouse, which I got embarrassingly excited over...My boyfriend and I stayed in the Frog House, it was lovely and has wrap around windows which we kept open during the night so that we could hear the wildlife sounds better. My only complaint is that you do hear the sounds of traffic intermittently, but don't let that deter you!

I could go on and on so to sum things up: If you want a nature filled hotel experience this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Tree Houses Hotel is a very special place and we are very pleased to have been able to include this stay into our honeymoon trip.
There are only about 5 tree houses set in sprawling lush grounds filled with amazing wildlife.
On our second morning we had a thermo flask of fresh coffee left on our porch and plantains on the birdfeeder – we sat there for a good hour sipping coffee and admiring the fantastic array of birds coming in to have a nibble and say hello. This was totally the highlight of our stay at Tree Houses.
A local farmer Rolando came in one evening and guided us through a fantastic night hike through the grounds, showing us all manners of poisonous frogs, stick inserts, bugs etc. He is a real character and a fantastic person.
We only got to meet Reann, who was great and helped us with travel plans, etc. Mark was fantastic an email too.
Breakfast is super delicious and different every day. A real treat.
In hindsight we are a little sad that, in spite of the fact that we were on honeymoon and that we booked 9 months in advance (and we paid the rate for the toucan and sloth tree houses), we got given the Frog tree house, which is the least nice, it has the smallest porch and it is closest to the main road. The actual tree house was small but we didn’t mind at all as we were there to explore and see the wildlife, but we would have appreciated a slightly bigger porch to admire the birds (the Frog only has one rocking chair so only one person can sit comfortably, to read etc) We didn’t mention this at the time, because all the houses were full and there would have been no point, besides it wasn’t a huge deal. We loved the experience any way.
There is a lovely little waterfall about 3 km from the tree houses (on the grounds) which makes for a very pleasant walk and one more chance to admire the wildlife along the way.
In the reception area they have a bunch of birdfeeders with sugared water which sends the hummingbirds bananas – so many of them. It was hypnotising to watch. We got some fantastic shots.
We also spotted a super cute little three-toed sloth on the grounds, who turned out to be dehydrated and in need of being rescued.
One more thing to note – the restaurant that used to be within walking distance has now closed down (we were told by Reann) so now there is absolutely nowhere you can get to on foot.
The hotel can call you cabs of course - we spent an awesome evening at Happyland which is short cab ride away, where Alex our waiter took care of us for ages and helped us spot a huge iguana in the tree above our heads and some scarlet macaws.
One evening we ordered pizza, which was probably one of the worst I have ever eaten (I am Italian and care a lot about my pizza), but again, it is hardly local cuisine and we ordered it merely for the novelty factor of having pizza delivered straight to our tree house in Costa Rica.
We spent two nights here, which I think is a perfect length of time, especially if you don’t have a car. Of course there is more you could be doing - we overheard a family talking about the fact they were going to volunteer in a wildlife sanctuary for a day – something we would have loved to do if we had known about it in advance / thought about it.
I would say - try to include this stay in your itinerary if you can (we found out about it after we’d planned our trip and re-jiggled things around to be able to fit it in). It is a truly special place. If you love bird watching, this is heaven.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

At first, as we got close to the property, we were nervous, because we were still in the heart of town and it was only 2 or 3km's away. Thank goodness, the scenery changes quickly, and city sidewalks became forested everywhere. The staff was, great, the surroundings were amazing, the cabins were neat, clean and high in the trees...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Tree Houses hotel for one night on our coast to coast trip in CR last week. We had banana filled french toast for breakfast. We stayed in the Monkey tree house. The rooms have a combo safe and small fridge. The beds were so comfortable and we slept with the window open to hear the birds at night. We woke to find a pair of Aracari birds outside our window. They brought us coffee to our tree house and was waiting for us on our balcony along with plantains to feed the birds. We got a few amazing pictures. Before we left we were able to walk to the river and waterfall which is about a 20-40 min walk depending on your pace. Mark was great and we would totally come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is so unbelievable, and was easily the highlight of our Costa Rica trip! We stayed for only one night, but to really appreciate it you need at least two to three.

Located a fair distance outside of La Fortuna, the "hotel" is situated on a large jungle property, surrounded by lush vegetation and tons of wildlife. The five or so tree-houses are spaced a short distance apart, but far enough to give off a nice secluded feeling (especially in the midst of all that vegetation). The houses are all a short walk to the main building, which is flocked by hummingbirds at the many feeders and has a really rustic feel. The live-in American couple who manage the property were super-friendly and welcoming, and happy to answer any question or provide any service you require. There is a marked lack of restaurants or attractions in the direct vicinity, though the staff recommend a nearby restaurant that apparently serves excellent Costa Rican fare. The restaurant was closed for renovations during our visit, so the staff recommended a local pizza joint that can deliver to the main house, which was tasty and more than sufficient!

The property is huge, and offers two beautiful walks of approximately 3km down to the local waterfall and river, which were a great way to kill time. There is so much wildlife in Costa Rica and the property was no exception! We spotted two different sloths (one with a baby!)during our 24hr trip, and countless beautiful birds.

We only stayed one night, and possibly due to this we were given the house closest to the road (I think it was the Frog house), even though we booked near a year in advance and specifically requested a different house. It is true what the other reviews say- the road noise is extremely loud and really does affect the ambiance of the place. This was the only negative thing about our stay, but it did take away a bit from the serenity of staying in a jungle tree-house. Still, it was beautiful to sit and read on the balcony of our tree-house, scanning the trees for sloths and other wildlife!

The tree-house itself was great. The aforementioned balcony was spacious and well-decked, with a few chairs, a large table and some outdoor lights. The interior had many nice touches, like air-conditioning, a clean and modern bathroom with hot showers, and comfortable double bed and two twin beds in the loft, lots of storage space and a bar fridge/safe.

The best thing about this place, though, were the wonderful little touches offered by the hotel. When you check in you're asked if you like coffee, and in the morning you wake to a flask of hot coffee and some freshly-baked (delicious!) banana bread on your doorstep! Such a wonderful touch. The traditional breakfast was absolutely delicious, and served in an outdoor setting that is surrounded by fresh fruit left out to attract the stunning local birds. The hotel offers a night walk option with the local security man, which we did not take advantage of due to a bout of food-poising, but we heard our fellow guests enjoying the walk for a good few hours.

When we were there the American owner was visiting (I can't for the life of me remember her name), and we found her to be SUCH a delight! We'd arranged for a jeep-boat-jeep trip to Monteverde, and when the company screwed up our booking and did not arrive she went to our defence and forced them to make a special trip, just for us! The company staff on our journey were clearly not impressed with having to go to so much effort for just two people, so we really appreciated that she fought so hard for us to get to our next location on time! While waiting we sat and chatted for a good hour about her previous life and seachange, and the time flew by. She was awesome!

We would highly recommend this place to people, and would tell them to stay for at least two nights, if not three. One just wasn't enough to do this awesome hotel justice! The peaceful setting is just what you need, after the craziness of La Fortuna!

Room Tip: Stay longer than one night, and really do ask for a house away from the road! We stayed just one nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

beautiful place meaning the whole property. fenced in for privacy. tree houses are small but comfy and the screened in shower is great. pretty basic amenities so be prepared to eat out every night. But the place was great and I would recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list