We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree house in the rain forest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Save Saved
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tree house in the rain forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

beautiful place meaning the whole property. fenced in for privacy. tree houses are small but comfy and the screened in shower is great. pretty basic amenities so be prepared to eat out every night. But the place was great and I would recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    111
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
235
275
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburndale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was a trip 2 years in the making. When it looked like I would not make it, my daughter gave me this trip for a Christmas present! While some of the tree houses offer lofts (great for kids), we stayed in the single-floor plan Yiguirro - the newest and largest of the six tree houses. It was also the most secluded. With 2 queen size beds, it also offered a window seat that could open into a single bed, a/c, small refrigerator, indoor plumbing, and a safe. At 25 feet up in the canopy, we fell asleep to the sounds of the jungle and awoke up every morning to the sound of howler monkeys - what an awesome experience! The indoor canopy shower, screened in, afforded us an awesome opportunty to "shower among the tree tops." Another exciting experience! The Yiguirro (named after Costa Rica's national bird) had a veranda that encircled the treetop haven.

Hot coffee was waiting for us when we awoke, along with fresh, ripe plantains for the bird feeder. It gave us ample opportunity to see birds in every color and size vye for the food. They were not shy. We got great pics of hummingbirds, toucans, yiguirros, woodpeckers, and many other fun & colorful species I cannot name. (At this writing, my daughter is still in Costa Rica with my camera!) Pics to follow.....

Mark & Lucy, along with all the Tree Houses staff were positively wonderful. The vegetarian breakfasts were delicious and nutritious, served with fresh fruit platters and fresh juice - and more delicious Costa Rican coffee.

Mark was especially helpful in handling all reservations for tours, setting up transporation, etc. He even set up transportation to and from the airport to Tree Houses. We went on several tours including the Arenal Hanging Bridges, Tobocan Hot Springs, horseback riding to La Fortuna Falls, the Safari Float, and experienced a couple of wildlife rescue/rehabilitation centers.

I will take the opportunity to send out a NOTE OF ADVICE for anyone considering a horseback riding tour to La Fortuna Falls...Make sure you specify that the stable you book offers riding over pasture land, and that the horses are well taken care of. We were signed up for a horseback ride to the waterfall that was a new company for Mark. We reported back to him that the horses were emaciated, and the road was nothing but rocks (quite literally). The poor horses were slipping and sliding and tripping. One went lame. Then there was still the 500 steps down to the waterfall itself..Instead of being joyful and relaxing, it was extremely stressful...NOT RECOMMENDED!

Except for the horseback ride experience, mere words cannot describe the beauty and joy this marvelous vacation brought to us. Tree Houses is a must-see - must-stay place. Make reservations early - I guarantee you will not be disappointed.


T. Coffman

Room Tip: When choosing, ask for the Yiguirro - it is the most secluded. We heard virtually no traffic from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treehouseshotel, Owner at Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words and we really enjoyed having you here at Tree Houses with us. Also thank you for the tip on the horseback. That was the first -- and last -- time we will work with that company. Our regular horseback operator has the best horses in the area (he actually lives above the stables) and the ride is through pastures and over trails.
--Raeann, Mark and Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent a wonderful 4 nights at the Tree Houses hotel and as many others have commented, we did not want to leave! Marc and Lucy were wonderful hosts who were very warm, welcoming and helpful. Every morning we looked forward to waking up to the thermos of coffee left outside our door and watching the plethora of birds come for the fruit that is brought up with the coffee. The breakfasts different every morning and were always delicious. The tree house itself is well built with everything you need, but it is rustic - Again, you're in the jungle, so it took us a little while to adjust to all the noises at night, but then we embraced them. It was amazing to wake up each morning to a view of hundreds of trees and birds surrounding us. One morning we saw a sloth climbing up a tree just outside our house. We loved Rolando's night hike and were amazed at the things he was able to find. This was an experience we will never forget!

Room Tip: Be sure to visit Tabacon Hot Springs (about 40 minutes away) and make a reservation in advance. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a very well run establishment. The hosts are very attentive and help you book your adventures in advance. We wish that we had volunteered at the animal refuge center. The other activities were great - lunch and farming with Rolando, an evening of animal spotting with Rolando, a volcano trip with Juan Carlos. I loved these guides/hosts and their personal attention. The all day trip to Cano Negro was too "cattle in a pen"-like for my taste. Our tree house had only one air conditioned room which was perfect for the two of us, and I loved the outdoor feel ( wire mesh windows ) of the shower. On the property, we saw amazing birds, including toucans, colorful frogs, a stick insect, and a very up-close armadillo. The only difficulty was that our driveway was a little narrow, so, after making a mistake with backing out ( I was a little in the ditch ), I had my daughter supervise me from the outside each time thereafter. A rare gem of a place. Hints at the atmosphere of a smaller version of O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat in Australia. You are really well looked after.

Room Tip: Our tree house was perhaps the smallest and oldest. It swayed, but we loved that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Treehouses met our expectations and I would highly recommend it. Very solid. Don't expect a luxury resort, it's a treehouse. The house was very clean. It has a flush toilet, a hot shower, minifridge, and good bedding. We had 2 couples in the "Sloth" Treehouse and it worked fine. We knew each other very well ahead of time, otherwise it would be pretty close quarters for 4 people. it gets pretty humid, but the wall unit A/C worked well and even cooled off the lofted area for sleeping.

The treehouse is very relaxing. I could spend weeks just hanging out on the balcony. You can order a pizza to the treehouse, drink some beers, really relax. You feel like you're in a jungle. You can hear the road from this treehouse, but it wasn't distracting to me.

The grounds are beautiful. You can hike to the river, check out the little waterfall, or see nature at night with the night watchman. We didn't see anything too exciting, just frog and insects. You will see tons of beautiful birds each morning at breakfast. I've never seen so many hummingbirds before. They provide breakfast, which was great every morning.

They can help you set up excursions ahead of time. We enjoyed the rafting trip, the wildlife rescue center, and the volcano hike. i also recommend them to arrange your airport transfer, it was cheaper than the other quotes we had and they stopped off on the way to grab some food.

I have already recommended it too all of my friends. The price was very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well, it was really raining for the three days we stayed at the Tree Houses, but it was still nothing less than wonderful!! We arrived after dark, but Reanne quickly got us acclimated, recommending a restaurant for dinner, arranging for a taxi, and making sure we'd be back in time for Rolando's night hike (the only time during our stay that it wasn't raining!). Mark and Lucy were away while we were there, but Mark had arranged tours for us before we arrived and Reanne made sure every detail was taken care of! We were vacationing with our three teenaged kids and we all enjoyed hiking at Rio Celeste (in the rain) and zip lining at Los Lagos Resort (in the rain). The service at the Tree Houses was wonderful! The breakfast delicious! And the morning coffee on the treehouse deck with the birds was heavenly! We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Tree Houses Hotel for the first two nights of our honeymoon and had a blast. The staff here is incredible. Mark arranged all of our daily tours/activities as well as transportation for our first five days in Costa Rica, even for the days we were no longer staying at this hotel. Reanne was on site for our two nights and was a pleasure to get to know. She was so friendly and helpful, and eased our worries after arriving with no luggage (airline lost it!).

The tree houses are gorgeous- so clean and even though I'm a worry-wort in general, I felt completely safe and comfortable in the tree house. Every morning someone delivered fresh coffee to us and put out plaintains so we could watch the birds enjoy breakfast. What a fabulous way to wake up! The breakfast was delicious and my husband has already requested I learn how to make the black bean in a mug with eggs they served us!

I would return here in a minute and highly recommend Tree Houses Hotel to anyone- especially if you're looking for something fun and different from a standard hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.