We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain Forest Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rain Forest Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well, it was really raining for the three days we stayed at the Tree Houses, but it was still nothing less than wonderful!! We arrived after dark, but Reanne quickly got us acclimated, recommending a restaurant for dinner, arranging for a taxi, and making sure we'd be back in time for Rolando's night hike (the only time during our stay that it wasn't raining!). Mark and Lucy were away while we were there, but Mark had arranged tours for us before we arrived and Reanne made sure every detail was taken care of! We were vacationing with our three teenaged kids and we all enjoyed hiking at Rio Celeste (in the rain) and zip lining at Los Lagos Resort (in the rain). The service at the Tree Houses was wonderful! The breakfast delicious! And the morning coffee on the treehouse deck with the birds was heavenly! We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    107
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
225
265
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Tree Houses Hotel for the first two nights of our honeymoon and had a blast. The staff here is incredible. Mark arranged all of our daily tours/activities as well as transportation for our first five days in Costa Rica, even for the days we were no longer staying at this hotel. Reanne was on site for our two nights and was a pleasure to get to know. She was so friendly and helpful, and eased our worries after arriving with no luggage (airline lost it!).

The tree houses are gorgeous- so clean and even though I'm a worry-wort in general, I felt completely safe and comfortable in the tree house. Every morning someone delivered fresh coffee to us and put out plaintains so we could watch the birds enjoy breakfast. What a fabulous way to wake up! The breakfast was delicious and my husband has already requested I learn how to make the black bean in a mug with eggs they served us!

I would return here in a minute and highly recommend Tree Houses Hotel to anyone- especially if you're looking for something fun and different from a standard hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Tree Houses Hotel is one of those places you never forget. Make sure you stay at least two nights (more if you can - we stayed 4 nights and it wasn't enough) or you will miss a lot - the breakfast and the animals change every day. Early in the morning you will have coffee brought to your deck and plantains set on the bird feeders - and then the magic starts! Standing in the open shower watching the howler monkey was something out of a storybook, and the fate of the baby sloth rescued after falling from a tree is still on our minds. We are a family of five (kids 14, 12 and 8) so there was some reservation about going from a luxury 3-bedroom villa at the beach to one room, but the Yiguirro Tree House was so much fun, and the delicious breakfast, lovely staff, and amazing surroundings won everyone over in no time. I was also concerned about being 30-40 minutes outside of La Fortuna, but we actually found this to be part of the charm and no problem, since we did have a car. There are many activities nearby and some tours come right by the hotel and will pick you up - the helpful staff will make great recommendations based on your individual preferences and even make all of the reservations for you. We did whitewater rafting (kids and husband's favorite), safari float (my favorite), volunteered at the rescue center (kids 2nd favorite) and hiked the La Fortuna waterfalls. I would not call the Tree Houses rustic, since they are beautifully done with full bathrooms and even a small refrigerator, but you should bring bug spray if your stay is during or near the rainy season. If you think you want to stay here, make your reservation asap or you will miss out. There are only 6 tree houses and they book up quickly.

Room Tip: Please leave the Yiguirro house for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a great time staying at the tree house. The accommodations are rustic but very clean and comfortable. Mark and Lucy were excellent at recommending and booking excursions. We went white water rafting and ziplining, both of which I would highly recommend. The breakfast served is amazing and the coffee and bird watching in the morning is unbeatable. We enjoyed the hiking on the property more than in the national parks. We would most definitely stay here again. We were in the Toucan house. Don’t forget to pack bug spray, the mosquitos are intense!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights here in December and I can only repeat what most of the other reviewers have already said about this place. It really is a magical setting to be in the trees and surrounded by so many birds and other wildlife. Our tree house (the Yiguirro) was wonderful - spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet, with a beautiful deck to sit on in the morning or evening to watch birds and just enjoy the jungle. The service was personal and friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. As some reviewers have pointed out, the location might be a disadvantage to some travellers as there is not much close to the hotel and you really need a car to get out to restaurants and sightseeing destinations, and the tree houses are close enough to the road to have a certain amount of road noise (though we did not find this to be a problem at all). The night tour was great, as was the walk down to the waterfall and river. Overall, it was a relaxing and peaceful place to spend time and very highly recommended. Our only regret was that we did stay longer, and we will definitely return if we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The staff is fantastic, the room was just what we needed and the bird watching was out of this world.

I am so thankful that the staff is knowledgeable of the many activities and had recommendations on which company to use. This really put my mind at ease.

The treehouse was a dream. We enjoyed waking up to coffee and bird watching. The breakfast was fantastic and healthily.

Our stay at the treehouse helped make our trip magical and fun. We will be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the humming bird house it had room to sleep 5. We loved having the extra big porch even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tree Houses Hotel. Everyone has done the bla bla write ups so I'll just jump to the pros and cons.
Pros:
*Mark is great. Friendly, helpful, went out of his way to take care of us. We didn't see much of Lucy but she seemed nice, efficient. They even arranged early breakfast without being asked when we had them book an early tour for us.
*Speaking of breakfast, it is included and its yummy.
*There were so many animals around that the sounds were wonderful
*The tree house was rustic and somewhat realistic even swaying when we walked or the wind blew hard. (But cooler than our tree house as a kid because it had a fridge.)
*The showers are open air, screened in on the top part (shoulders up depending on height). This was very cool.
*Coffee on the deck in the morning while the birds devour their breakfast on the feed posts... see cons below.
*There is a nice little waterfall and pool on the property to hike to with thoughtfully placed benches along the path for those of us that may have skipped a few years of cardio workouts.
*There is a safe in the room just like all the hotels we stayed in but this one came with a preassigned combination which I found odd.
Cons:
There really weren't many. I'd actually give them a 4.5
*The room smelled musty, almost of mold. This was the first place we stayed and I thought maybe everything in CR was like that but the other 4 bungalows we stayed in didn't smell. It was an unseasonably warm snap and I don't do hot so we couldn't really air it out and use the a/c at the same time so I don't know what it would be like if we left all the windows open for hours.
*bird feeding on the deck... This happens really early, like 6:30 and it makes a huge ruckus. There is no sleeping thru it. Because we were up and out so early the first day we didn't realize the birds and coffee thing happened so early but we needed to sleep the next day and couldn't. I'm sure if we'd asked they wouldn't have skipped it but we didn't know to ask.
*Tree houses is on a corner in the road and the trucks jake brake thru it all night long. I guess both of these issues would be solved with ear plugs.
*Half of the walls are more than 50% glass. It is awesome, you can see everything. The lower ones do have curtains but they only encourage the light to stay out but don't really block it so if you're an early riser you're golden, if not eye shades...

Would I stay here again, yes, I probably would. Its an awesome property with great hosts and I could work around the cons.

Room Tip: We stayed in Monkey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list