We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a two week honeymoon in Costa Rica. We stayed at the treehouses for 4 days. From the moment our driver picked us up in Playa Flamingo, it was spectacular! Mark, one of the hosts from the treehouses, arranged a private driver named Oscar to take us boh ways. It was like having a private tour guide. He knew all the right stops, including food, tree full of monkeys, and picture perfect spots along the way.
Once we arrived at the treehouses, we were in awe. Each treehouse is private, clean and built to bring he outdoors in. This is a bird lovers paradise...and you'll become one if not already. Each morning they deliver coffee to your treehouse deck and bananas for the birds to eat. Breakfast at the rancho was a surprise treat everyday from individual huevos to coconut pineapple French toast with chocolate sauce always accompanied with yummy local fruit. One night, we had pizza delivered to the treehouse by ATV. Only in Costa Rica!
On the property there is a lot of wildlife. In addition to the birds, we saw a couple of sloths, many frogs and lizards. The night watchman gives tours...he can find many things the average joe would never see!
Mark also arranged two tours for us. The rafting trip was the highlight of the entire vacation! The tour picked us up right at the treehouse gate. The guides were funny, spoke English and knew the river well. It was class 3&4 and did not disappoint. The 2nd trip was to the hot springs at Tabacon. Mark also arranged for transportation to/from the hot springs. The pools were amazing...beautiful and clean. Dinner was included and afterwards we were able to go back in the pools.
All in all, this is a must stop on any Costa Rican vacation! Book early, as there are only a few treehouses. Even if it's only a couple days. We'll be back for sure!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    107
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
223
264
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Mark and Lucy were very accommodating and helpful with every aspect of our trip to Arenal. Although it was a little tricky to stay in a place so far outside of town without transportation it was well worth it! The treehouse's were so comfortable and fun! Every morning we had coffee dropped off outside on our deck. It was a great way to get our busy days started. We would relax and drink coffee on the deck surrounded by the rainforest. Each treehouse was very private and quiet. the grounds were immaculate with a natural feeling of being right in the rainforest. Every morning we went down to the "rancho" for breakfast where the girls in the kitchen rocked our tastebuds with everything from a breakfast quiche, breakfast shepherds pie to a typical rice and beans breakfast. Hands down some of the best food of the trip, all served with fruit and coffee. I had food allergies that were accommodated and handled before I even had to ask :) We were greeted every morning by Lucy and Marks friendly rescue dogs (Big Behuca and mini Behuca) who arrived with Lucy at the same time every morning at breakfast! They were always ready for a good snuggle and a belly scratch :)

The grounds were teeming with wildlife. Ironically, we saw more animals in around the treehouse property than any of the other tours through the rainforest! We took advantage of all of the hiking trails and were able to see: Howler monkeys, leaf cutter ants, humming birds and a variety of other birds and wildlife. We went on the night tour as well... WELL WORTH IT! we were able to get a look at a sloth, tree frogs and many insects! The guy running the night tours was amazing and knew all of the places to look for these night dwelling animals :) The night tour is free but we gave him a good tip for the time he took from his duties to show us around!

There are buses running to town constantly and although the return trip from la fortuna was harder to navigate, we had no trouble getting into town using the local bus.

Projecto Asis was only a 20 minute walk away and was one of the highlights of our trip! It was arranged by Mark and Lucy and we were able to learn about and see animals that had been rescued from domestic situations and from game hunters. The project attempts to educate people as well as rehabilitate these animals for release into the wild later. We were able to interact with the animals and it was a touching experience for both of us as well as an educational one <3

GREAT PLACE, and GREAT OWNERS :)

Room Tip: tip: I would recommend this for people with a car especially :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We arrived at the Tree Houses Hotel and were comforted to see the large gate. The area seemed safe but it is nice to have the security. It opened up to a beautiful driveway surrounded by lush trees with flowers. When we got up to the main building we were immediately greeted by the manager, Mark. He was extremely friendly and informative. The entire introduction felt very warm and personalized. In the morning he joined us in the breakfast area and told us about the birds that were feeding near us. He recommended some places to visit nearby, he answered any questions we had. Him and his wife definitely provided above and beyond service. I heard him arrange for a taxi for another couple who didn't have a rental car :)

Our tree house was beautiful. We stayed in Yiguirro. The place was exactly as advertised. It was very clean and we loved the open concept shower. It was refreshing. The stairs were pretty steep but obviously expected.

There is a night guard that walks around the property late at night and is very willing to show the visitors the night crawlers. We didn't get a chance to tour around with him unfortunately.

One of the breakfast meals we had there seemed very traditional and it was DELICIOUS. Beans, egg and cheese baked together with a hashbrown made from a root (that I can't remember the name of).

We spent an afternoon trekking around the property and visited the private waterfalls. It was a one of a kind experience. There are many animals, birds, insects, plant and flowers to explore on this property. If you're looking for a bit more night life, there was a cool bar we visited down the road (walking distance).

We loved that they set out coffee on the balcony. We also appreciated their "honor system" for the drinks in the fridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Tree House for our honeymoon. It was fantastic. No TV, no phone and no clocks! Very peaceful. As others have mentioned, this is more like a B&B than a hotel, which isn't a bad thing.

The open air shower was amazing and with the windows open and the ceiling fans on, we didn't need air conditioning (mid-Nov).

Mark and Lucy are GREAT! They gave great advice on tours and restaurants. We didn't have a car during our stay, so Mark arranged transportation for us. It was just a couple of bucks to go into town (and get an internet fix), or we walked to two restaurants that were close by. The tour operator that works with Tree Houses is great. Unfortunately, we didn't get to do the night tour of the property. Oh, well, I guess we'll have to go back.

One must-do tour is the animal sanctuary Proyecto Asis. Amazing. We volunteered and got to prepare the food and feed the animals. A highlight of our two weeks in Costa Rica.

We saw tons of birds and other critters, including the in-residence sloth. Thank you Mark & Lucy for making our trip so memorable!

Shannon & John

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Tree Houses Hotel in November. We stayed at the new "Yigüirro" tree house, and it was just awesome. The tree house itself is lovely in its simplicity and quite spacious. The deck outside is a great place to relax and listen to the sounds of the wild- birds, howler monkeys... The shower- AWESOME. It's like you are showering in the forest, its at the corner and all open except for some screening.
The service is great; coffee brought up to your treehouse early morning so you can sip your coffee and enjoy the scenery & sounds. Mark and Lucy are so kind and helpful and breakfast was a treat. The grounds are beautiful to explore, in the morning we hiked and ran down to the river & waterfalls (with pools) passing bamboo trees, fruit trees...
It is located close to a main road however, so you do hear some of the louder trucks.
Rolando is a wonderful guide on the night walks. A must-do! We did see some frogs, including the red-eyed tree frog as well as a sloth sleeping in the tree.
We would definitely recommend the Tree houses, the experience brings out your inner child and will make your CR experience even more fabulous!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights in late October 2012 and we had a wonderful stay. Because it was low season we were able to call the day ahead and get a reservation, but it sounds like this place books up much of the rest of the year (with good reason) so plan ahead if you want to stay here. Even though it was a bit rainy it was still a nice time. We hiked in the rain early morning on the trail out toward the waterfall in conditions that weren't great for birding and in a little over an hour we saw over 20 species including Red-lored Parrots, Montezuma's Oropendolas, Collared Aracaris, Keel-billed Toucans, Motmots and many others.

There are more great opportunities to see birds while having breakfast in a nice covered open air dining area. They have several platforms they set fruit on during the meal to attract the resident birds. They also have hummingbird feeders that stay quite busy. The breakfast was really good and there were fun little surprises that made the food good as well as pretty - like fruit cut into butterflies.

Our two story tree house was great. The bed was comfortable, the cabin was very clean. It had a beautiful wrap around deck with places to sit and just enjoy the forest. They bring coffee and tea every morning and leave it outside your door. The towels were artfully folded into two hearts on our bed when we arrived. It is rustic but you feel pampered at the same time.

The managers were great. Mark was friendly and helpful. We did a night walk with one of the staff who offers his services for free (tips only). He went to great efforts to find frogs, birds, a sloth, insects and other fun things to observe in the night time.

This place is about a half an hour from the town of La Fortuna and Arenal National Park is about another 15 minutes beyond there. So, it does take a little bit of time from here to get back to that area but the drive is easy. We spent one night in a hotel where we had the volcano view and hot springs and then moved out to the treehouse for the next two nights. It wasn't a big deal to drive back into La Fortuna. The one negative I would say is that you could hear some traffic noise from the road. If I were to come again I would request a cabin further back on the property.

All in all we had a great stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Can't say much negative about this place! Mark and Lucy are excellent managers, most accommodating and were really helpful in assisting two in our party of 4 with transfers to their next destination.
The grounds are lively and breakfast with the birds is not to be missed!
We stayed in the Frog House; a little tight for 4 adults and you better be nimble to ascend and descend the ladder;)).
Suggest you select a unit further back in the trees; you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio de la Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list