We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BREATHTAKING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BREATHTAKING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

When we arrived after quite a few hours traveling by van from San Jose, We were greeted in an open air lobby with a free drink of our choice. We were informed about the restaurants, spa and other amenities. The Rooms we had were amazing. They were enormous. I had two grandchilddren in my room and my daughter and son in law in another. Each room had a hot tub with a huge window looking out at the volcano. Also floor to ceiling windows with a door to stand outside on a small area looking at the volcano. The gardens were gorgeous. I loved this hotel! Beds were comfortable and
the special touches(like a flower on our toilet paper roll. Bathrooms were huge also. There wasn't a thing i did not like about our rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    143
    39
    15
    5
See reviews for
186
304
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010 via mobile

We began our vacation here and there was no better way it could
have began...Beautiful property, great staff and magnificent views!
The volcano erupted our final day there. It was like having a front row
seat to your favorite movie in 3D!

I found my deep tissue massage to be just ok. My wife had the massage
With mud and had a similiar experience. Not bad, but really just ok.

The breakfast was good and my wife enjoyed the omelett station. We
didnot have dinner due to other reviews we read. We did have
dinner in town at Don Rufino's. This was good but not great.
Quite frankly the best meals we had were in the various excursions.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, Ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This was myself, boyfriend and 2 11 year old boys. We had an amazing time at this hotel. We had previously been staying in a lodge in Tortugero so this was like walking into paradise. Our room was fabulous. Great view of the Volcano and close to the pools and hot springs. To get into any of the hot springs in the other hotels is expensive so pay a tiny bit extra to stay here over one of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We had one of our best vacations at Kioro. Most friendly staff. The view of the volcano is just incredible. All the view of the greenery around the rooms was so relaxing and refreshing, we walked away with a vacation we'll never forget. Great location - lots of things to see and do, in and around La Fortuna. Overall a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Kioro for 4 nights and got very lucky with clear views of the volcano for all 4 days. Our room was so close to the volcano that one morning our windows shook upon an eruption. The views of the volcano from our room were incredible. Also the grounds are very nicely maintained and beautiful. The room was clean and my teenagers loved the different animal-shaped towels left on our beds every night. They also got a kick out of sitting in the room hottub and watching the volcano. The food was very good. and the hotel provided a fresh & hearty breakfast. However we did venture into town for several of our meals and excursions. A round-trip into town was approximately $30 so I would recommend renting a car once you arrived into Arenal. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The front-staff was very attentive. The only downsides, besides the distance into town, was that the hot springs broke down while there. Also the common areas' furniture seating could use some updating. It is starting to look very worn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Arenal Kioro was our second hotel to stay in during our vacation to Costa Rica. Let me start by saying Costa Rica is one of the most beautiful countries I have travelled to. The people are nothing but friendly and there is so much to do! We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The views of the active volcano are amazing. Your entire suite's windows face the volcano. This volcano erupts frequently and being 3K from the summit you see it all. They also offer the use of their hot springs and pool which are on the grounds. There are trails to walk on, tons of wildlife about. Service was outstanding in all areas, restaurant, bars, transfers, etc...
We went into LaFortuna one night and had a blast. Great souvenier stores, authentic Costa Rican food, and great people. My son was amazed at all the dogs that roam around Costa Rica. All were friendly.
I also recommend taking one of the white water rafting trips. We took one down the Balsa, pretty mild class II and III. About 3 hours but tons of fun. We were then treated to lunch in one of the local restaurants.
This is one destination I will go back to!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

This hotel was in one of the most beautiful settings I have seen. The view from your window is the active arenal volcano. The grounds around it are lush and beautiful as well. The rooms are very spacious. There is a spa in your bedroom and a separate desk area. This was my favorite hotel in Costa Rica. My one and only complaint was that the beds were very firm.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer’s delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.