We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Met our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent four nights and left on fifth day in aranel. Refused to pay $600 night at the springs. This hotel at less than half was perfect. I'm a platinum marriott traveler so trust me, it was very acceptable. Room was huge, with its ow hot tub. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Booked all our excursions from there. Cab rides to all restaurants are $16 each way. Restaurant in hotel for dinner was excellent. Should have eaten there more nights

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    180
    53
    16
    6
See reviews for
217
348
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in this amazing hotel. The rooms are the best I reckon we've stayed in with panoramic views of the lush tropical landscaping and Arenal Volcano, a huge Jacuzzi tub, King sized bed, his and hers sinks and private sitting area. We even saw toucans fly past our window!

The springs were nice, the pool clean and has great views of the volcano. Restaurant was great, we had buffet breakfast everyday which has both western and 'typical'. Dinner also fantastic, with great service.

I recommend for anyone wanting to splash on a nice hotel on their visit to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon Costa Rica and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The rooms are absolutely incredible, with panoramic views of the lush tropical landscaping and Arenal Volcano, a huge Jacuzzi tub, King sized bed, his and hers sinks and private sitting area. The staff are welcoming, incredibly helpful and very kind. All the staff learned our names and did everything in their power to make our stay enjoyable.
Breakfast was a huge buffet with everything from beans and rice to omelettes to French toast. .
We went in July which is their rainy season so if you go then, make sure to bring (or buy) ponchos/umbrellas. Even though it rained everyday, it was still warm and beautiful and it sure didn't stop us from going on all of our excursions (ziplining, rafting).
All in all, we will definitely be staying at the Arenal Kioro again when we return for our 5 year anniversary. Hands down the best hotel and service I have ever experienced while abroad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We traveled from the USA to Costa Rica for the first time. This hotel is really nice and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast each morning was a buffet and really good. The hot springs were not to crowded. We came in July and I was surprised at the rain and cold weather. Make sure you bring long sleeves, water shoes, and rain jackets. The rooms had a jacuzzi which was nice since it rained so much. The beds could have been softer which was my only complaint. Hotel was a little out of the way from the town but there was a shuttle that would take you to La Fortuna for just $2.00 per person.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to avoid noise from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
choochoo town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely stay, beautiful hotel, great volcano view (when clouds aren't around). Wifi in room was nice, but bathroom area was odd. Shower is separate, then you have to walk around wall into main room to get into bathroom. No big deal, but...
Grounds were gorgeous and well-maintained. Hot springs were very nice, with several to choose fro. Restaurant was nice, as well. Lobby/restaurant/shuttle pickup was quite a hilly walk from the farthest rooms (which is where we were). Free shuttle into town picked up at 5:30, but did not pick up from La Fortuna to bring back until 9:30. The town is nice, though, as long as you stay in the uppermost part.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left this hotel took my breath away! We arrived as the sun was setting and were welcomed by Rudy. He was very attentive and helped get us situated from the second we met him. Upon arrival he asked us our preferred drink choice and within minutes he was bringing over our complementary cocktail. We had requested prior to arrival to have a king bed through our travel agent unfortunately there was a mix up on her end (not the hotels fault). When we got to the room and saw the two double beds on the bottom floor we were a little disappointed. So we called down to the main desk and Rudy was kind enough to switch our rooms to a king bed which was on higher floor which made us very happy (we were now at the middle of the volcano rather then the bottom, I felt like it was a huge improvement). He wasn't bothered by the mix up and couldn't have been more nice and accommodating about the whole situation. The view was amazing, laying in bed with the curtains open you had the most gorgeous view of the volcano. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a very good selection and some of the best coffee I have ever had! We had dinner at the hotel one night and it was just okay. We ate at a lot of nearby restaurants the front desk would love to call a taxi for you. One night we ate dinner at the Springs Resorts and I can't recommend it enough the food was delicious. The grounds of the entire hotel are spectacular the flowers are simply amazing. The hot springs are very secluded and romantic. I was absolutely in love with this hotel. The only thing I would change is to have better beds they were very hard an uncomfortable and the food other than breakfast could use some improving. But despite that I would still go back in a heartbeat it wasn't a deal breaker for me.

Room Tip: I highly recommend requesting a room on the top floor. I feel as though you get a better view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel faces the volcano. On a clear day you get a marvellous view from your bedroom and the restaurant at the hotel. The hotel has its own hot springs. If that was not enough your bedroom has a jacuzzi. The rooms are huge. The place is clean. It is quiet. The view from the bedroom is superb, made better by the extensive hotel gardens in the foreground.

The breakfast is buffet style. That was nice, with a chef there to do your eggs. We had an offer of an evening meal whilst we were there as part of the price. The food was OK, though not of the highest standard for such a rated hotel, but to be fair, the deal represented good value, and there was also included with our stay a free facial massage at the spa.

There were a lot of children staying at the hotel. This was not a problem, the hotel is well spaced out. To get to the restaurant you are encouraged to walk around the lovely gardens.

Day trips are advertised at the hotel. We went on the airway walk ( over high cable bridges) to see the local wild life, including white faced monkeys. This was a guided tour. The hotel helpfully arranged with another local hotel, who we were told had a night time frog tour, a tour to see some of the strange and colourful frogs in the special area of the forest. Although expensive as a tour, the memory of the frogs and insects is one of our lasting memories of Central America. The red eyed tree frog is an icon of Costa Rica.

We found the hotel a little impersonal.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. Watch out for the rain- you may have a long walk to the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.