We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely staff, amazing views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Save Saved
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely staff, amazing views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Loved this hotel. The staff cannot do enough to help you with whatever query you may have. The views of the volcano from the rooms are just breathtaking. There is a series of hot spring pools on site that are great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 504 which had a good view of the volcano, but I think that most rooms share this v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    121
    33
    14
    4
See reviews for
164
266
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I and friends stayed here as part of a package tour through Costa Rica...when we saw our rooms all we could say was "Wow!" The room itself is huge...very high ceilings, spacious, more of a suite than a room. And then the view...a full wall of windows and glass doors look directly at the Arenal Volcano without any obstructions or other buildings in your view...amazing! The food was good, plus you had the same view from the dining room of the volcano. The pool area and hot springs are great for relaxation. One low mark I would give the Arenal Kioro is the gym/game room building...seemed like more of an afterthought and obviously not used very much by anyone...but most are probably soaking in the pool, hot springs, or their own personal full sized hot tub that is in every room! Splurge a little and stay here if you have the option!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 10 are the furthest away from the main building & pool area...bring a flashlig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am in Costa Rica for bussiness visiting hotels that we work with and I was fortunate to stay here. The view from the room is breath taking! The food is good, the pools and hot springs super nice

This is a hotel for everyone

The seervice great too

Room Tip: all of them are the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights for our honeymoon, and it was amazing. The view is one of a kind and grounds are beautiful. The staff is amazing and the rooms are awesome. There isn't a bad view of the volcano anywhere on the grounds. The food was fantastic. It was a little pricey, but nothing different than any other hotel in the world. Also, we had the best tour guides with the company they use to book the tours. There isn't a single thing that I can think of that could have been improved upon. The shuttle into La Fortuna was nice. We were able to eat in the city to try different places and check out the shops and then head back to the hotel with ease. I could keep going, but you get the idea. You can't go wrong with coming here. We'll be back next year, for sure :)

Room Tip: We had the room right next to the lobby and the views were great and we had wifi in our room, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

That is the way I felt at Arenal Kioro . Hey truly care about your experience at here home! Great service,amazing found as the best view of an active volcano I have Eric seen from a resort. The hot pools falling from the mountains are magical! Go,Go,Go! I am not a huge fan of Costa Rica. It's just not for me. However i would definitely go to Arenal for a week and have a romantic getaway. Costa Rica is great for a family adventure vacation. It's like a real life jungle ride at Disney land.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited Costa Rica in late August, 2013 for 10 days & Kioro was one of 3 locations we stayed. The property is gorgeous & when we walked in our room, it took my breath away! Hands down the most beautiful hotel room we've ever been in. The bed was so comfortable, the view of the Volcano was amazing & you can't beat a hot tub in your room! The food was great & the staff was very friendly.
Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The truth is, La Fortuna is so beautiful, it's hard to imagine a bad hotel/resort. That said, having only stayed at Arenal Kioro, I can only say that I can't imagine a place more beautiful. Our room literally was overlooking the volcano. It was extremely clean and the hotel staff was truly, TRULY, the nicest I have ever known.

This is not a corporate hotel...It is owned by one gentleman who lives on the premises. This hotel is more of a retreat. It is very relaxing, peaceful and I want to go back NOW!

There is a natural hot springs on premises which is nice because most of the hot springs in the area are public. This one is only available to guests of the resort.

We also had one of the best massages ever there. The sounds of nature were wonderful and unlike being at home, as my wife points out, no CD's or "nature" music was needed.

Breakfast selection was a bit weak but the Chef at the resort is brilliant. We got lunch and dinner and everything they cooked was amazing.

We went on two excursions but the BEST was at Proyecto Asis. This is not something that the hotels promote a lot but thanks to Trip Advisor, we found it. They say if you volunteer you get to interact with animals. Volunteering consisted of cutting vegetables and fruit for 5 minutes. It is nothing with nothing and totally worth it. We got to play with monkeys and parrots. Our guide was also fantastic. www.volunteeringcostarica.com is their site.

I can't say enough great things about this hotel and the area. Absolutely loved it.

BRING deep woods BUG SPRAY and ponchos. It rains A LOT and I think there are more mosquito's than people in Costa Rica!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a second floor room around the 600 room block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer’s delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.