We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tranquil Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Rooms are really nice - great views of the volcano, floor to ceiling windows, hot tubs and spacious.

Concierge booked all our taxis and Zipline excursion without any issues.

Grounds are impeccably maintained and lush with landscaping.

Pools were fine and hot springs were nice - probably about 10 different hot pools to choose from all tiered together.

Restaurants: Breakfast buffet was really great - lots of choices and fresh omelettes. Lunch by the pool was fair - more like an Applebee's menu. Dinner was good - but expensive and no kids menu.

I would definitely stay here again but skip lunch and dinner at their restaurant....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    137
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
178
290
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here in February and really enjoyed it. The rooms are beautiful and the view out the sliding glass doors opposite the bed are just amazing...the best non-water view I've had. They have their own hot spring pools which are individual, very private and beautifully landscaped. We ate their every night and the food was good enough - we really didn't feel like going anywhere. The included breakfast buffet was huge and great quality. Eggs done to order along with other hot things, and all the usual cold things. We enjoyed the hard boiled eggs and fruit later in the day. Highly reccommend.

Room Tip: we loved the last unit away from the reception. Not too far a walk to the restaurant and it was so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I really loved the hotel, room, surroundings but the restaurant needs to add more local fare to their evening menu! Too much American food! Breakfast and lunch was great! The tours we did were great! Whitewater rafting and horseback riding to La Fortuna waterfalls!!! I would recommend asking for a second floor room because the views of the volcano are spectacular! We could see the volcano right from our bed!!! Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa outside of La Fortuna. All our rooms had a view of the volcano. Although the volcano is inactive while we were there you can see it venting steam from the top and several lower vents in the forested area lower on the mountain. The first two days the top of the volcano was covered by clouds but on our last day it was clear and provided a spectacular view of the entire volcano from out rooms. Each room an in room hot tub with full view of the volcano. Rooms were very nicely appointed and clean. We recommend the second floor rooms because it gives you a much better view of the grounds, surrounding forest, and the volcano.
The on site hot spring spa pools are very well designed and look realistic. There are several pools linked with water falls between them. The hot springs vary from hot to very warm in the mornings and tend to warm to very warm in the late afternoon and evening but still very relaxing and can be very private. Our family used them every day. There are also two pools one is quite shallow (knee deep to maybe less than 12" at one end) for small children or sitting on the bottom and sunning and the other pool is 3-4 feet deep and can be used for lap swimming if not crowded.
There is a restaurant on site for breakfast which was include in our package. Breakfast was a excellent selection of food and fresh omelets. Dinner is also served in this restaurant but we would rate it as only average food for the price. We ate in La Fortuna two nights at better venues for the same price. There is a pool restaurant which was very good for lunch sandwiches and light meals during the day.

We took a taxi one day to Arenal Volcano National Park ($25 USD each way for 6 adults) and hiked the well marked trails on our own. Saw a lot of birds, some manuals, and monkeys plus a great walk through the rain forest and some good views of the volcano and lake.

Hotel arranged a river float trip for us with an experienced guide which could spot many birds, sloths, monkeys and lizards. It was a great trip which ended with a nice snack at a local family home.

Our entire trip was arranged through Costa Rica Vacations on line and customized to our needs and desires for Costa Rica. Our transport between San Jose Airport and Arenal and other destinations were by private vans for only our family of 6 adults. The ride from SJO to Arenal was all on paved roads and took a little over 3 hours. We highly recommend transport by private vans over local transport or larger buses.

Room Tip: We recommend the second floor rooms because it gives you a much better view of the grounds, surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The facilities are amazing - gorgeous view, beautiful landscaping, modern and luxurious buildings. The rooms are wonderful - spacious, modern and tastefully decorated with high-end materials, and good attention to detail. The entire facility gives a sense of tranquility and peace and is great if you want to sit back and read a book while sitting in a garden setting with direct views of the volcano. All in all, a wonderful place to stay if you want to relax and get away from it all. Not the place if you are into action and nightlife.

Now, the downside - the food at the restaurant, while good and high quality, is not anything better than any other good restaurant. The menu is very typical - no surprises but I would have expected more local fare or local recipes. The prices are quite high and the prices for drinks are close to outright robbery. The management does not facilitate transport into La Fortuna where you can find much more varied and reasonably priced fare.

My recommendation - stay here for the wonderful facilities but have some extra money for a cab to/from La Fortuna. You can shop at the grocery store there, bring back drinks, and eat out; the money you save will more than make up the price of the cab.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room on the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Arenal Kioro hotel has probably the best location and best view of the Arenal Volcano. The in-hotel hot springs are wonderful. Choice, quality and price of food at dinner is great, particularly for vegetarians. Lunch could be better - in terms of quality and price. Breakfast was generally good - and was glad it was a buffet as opposed to a la carte, however, compared to the choice generally available in most hotels outside of the US it could have been grander. Hotel rooms were excellent - clean and spacious and with the most amazing views of the volcano. Spa was amazing. Service was friendly, and very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had two top floor rooms with amazing views of the volcano and rainforest. We had wonderful service while staying at the hotel too. The room service brought me a pot of hot tea each morning to start my day. t. I also had a great experience at the spa. The spa windows are large and were open and it started to pour down rains while I enjoyed the hot rock spa treatment. It was very relaxing!
The gardens are so beautiful and the pathways are fun to walk around. We saw lots of frogs and various large bugs that my boys loved finding.
The food at the bar near the pool is excellent. Its also a really great atmosphere than the dinner restaurant. The dinner restaurant was marginal food. The service was always really good though.
The hotel is really a 4 star property. Its a bit tired and not the Four Seasons but its worth the price you pay to stay here.

Room Tip: You need to make sure you get a top floor room for the views! They are seem lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer’s delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.