We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Arenal Kioro hotel has probably the best location and best view of the Arenal Volcano. The in-hotel hot springs are wonderful. Choice, quality and price of food at dinner is great, particularly for vegetarians. Lunch could be better - in terms of quality and price. Breakfast was generally good - and was glad it was a buffet as opposed to a la carte, however, compared to the choice generally available in most hotels outside of the US it could have been grander. Hotel rooms were excellent - clean and spacious and with the most amazing views of the volcano. Spa was amazing. Service was friendly, and very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    179
    53
    16
    6
See reviews for
213
343
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had two top floor rooms with amazing views of the volcano and rainforest. We had wonderful service while staying at the hotel too. The room service brought me a pot of hot tea each morning to start my day. t. I also had a great experience at the spa. The spa windows are large and were open and it started to pour down rains while I enjoyed the hot rock spa treatment. It was very relaxing!
The gardens are so beautiful and the pathways are fun to walk around. We saw lots of frogs and various large bugs that my boys loved finding.
The food at the bar near the pool is excellent. Its also a really great atmosphere than the dinner restaurant. The dinner restaurant was marginal food. The service was always really good though.
The hotel is really a 4 star property. Its a bit tired and not the Four Seasons but its worth the price you pay to stay here.

Room Tip: You need to make sure you get a top floor room for the views! They are seem lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

What a place! What a room. The nature is overwhelming. Just imagin waking up in the morning, opening the curtains and looking directly at a live vulcano. The only slightly negative comment is that the hotel restaurant is a big, open room with many hard surfaces, this makes the room very noisy. The food is fantastic!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel itself was nice, and the views of the volcano were amazing, but.....if they had anyone at the front desk that actually cared about the area, they would be more helpful. They could not recommend anything useful, and actually told us that their "hot springs" were the same as the others in the area. NOT TRUE.
The front desk was totally useless, but the rooms were nice. I would stay there again, but have ZERO expectations of any concierge services.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room was very spacious with tall windows with breathtaking views of the volcano and the rainforest. The property is gigantic, and the hilly walkways offer trees on either side with their names labelled. It is like a self guided mini tour of the forest.
The inclusive breakfast was good. However, we made a dinner reservation one night, and the food and service was substandard for the high price. Do not recommend dinner at the restaurant. Snacks at the poolside are better and more reasonable.
The housekeeping is great, although for some reason they are possessive of their toilet paper which was insufficient in our room, resulting in daily request for extras.
Customer service at the front desk is excellent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Everything about this hotel was fabulous. We were greeted with pina coladas and escorted to our room, which had a fabulous view of the volcano. The room was spacious and quiet. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the pool/hot springs were never too crowded. The breakfast buffet included with the room was delicious. The hotel had nice extra touches that make it a memorable place to stay. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: The rooms are spread out throughout the grounds. Some are far away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The rain forest eco-system provides the clouds and cool temperatures; the lush, exotic vegetation; and the breath-taking animals which gives this quaint hotel a mystical and mysterious aura. When we arrived and walked the bamboo path, I wasn't sure if we were inside or outside. We were greated with lovely drinks in the lobby and after a moment I determined there we no walls!

The hotel is seems small and boutique because each building has only 4 rooms which are somewhat isolated; at least it feels that way because of the cloud cover. The pathways were intriquing and always yielded another briliiantly colored bird or insect. Meandering the path in my bathrobe to the hot springs, I would never know what to expect! And the courtesty facial was just the perfect touch. The food, though overpriced, was decent. The service and willingness to customize was ever present.

Our room was large and the mattress firm (although the pillow was too high for my neck; I used a rolled up towel the second night). The bathrooms were spacious, with the shower separate from the rest, conveniently. Our view over the mountainside was nice, although Arenal was mostly under cover. The decor was charming. There was an ever present dampness as none of our clothes would dry out from our traipsing through the rain forest and rafting. It is a rain forest after all! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: I would choose the upstairs rooms and rooms mid-way from the lobby/dining. At the end, the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.