We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel can not get any better!!! BEAUTIFUL!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This hotel can not get any better!!! BEAUTIFUL!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want comfort, luxury, peace, nature, YOU SHOULD STAY in arenal kioro! I truly enjoyed my stay in this hotel... It is so peaceful, full of nature... It had everything I was looking for.. The service is excellent.. We went to a trip and got back late to the hotel to get our free breakfast. The manager said that it was ok, that we could have our meal anyways.. They cooks were cooking only for us since breakfast time was done already. The rooms are huge!! They are VERY clean as well, which I totally appreciated it. Don't think about it twice! This is the right place for anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    174
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
210
337
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Luxury spa & hot springs with fantastic gardens & view of the volcano! Hot tub in the suite too! Sitting in the hot springs at night with frogs croaking is really fun! Lots of birds & wildlife. The spa is fantastic too - had a volcanic clay mask which was really relaxing. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a way to wake up. A magnificent view. Clouds passing between you and the volcano.
The rooms are huge. They all face the volcano in the midst of a beautiful tranquil garden, hot springs and beauty as far as the eye can see. After a day of activities, slip into a comfortable beds and watch fire flies or slip into the hot tub thats in every room. Or go to the Spa and indulge in a little bit of heaven. Don't forget to order nachos by the pool.
So many nearby activities such as: Hiking into a crater, White water rafting, ATV's, Tarazan swings into the water. Hiking through a rainforest, Haning Bridges, Rapelling, Monkey's and sloths in trees, Ziplining. I can go on and on. Most importantly, anything and everything you eat tantalizes your taste buds. Most places grow their own herbs and provide fresh fish and fresh food. Rice and beans never tasted so good. The fruit is out of this world. The portions are huge.
For the Ultimate vacation - Go to Costa Rica, The Arenal area is one small part of heaven. There is something for everyone
The staff at Kioro are helpful and always smile. The service is calm and respectful. They go out of their way for you.

This was our second time and Silvia (see below) always arranges our trips, with guides, hotel, excursions, etc. She finds the best prices and her creativity in finding something for everyone is appreciated. I have never recommended a travel agent but she is so good. I have to share.
Silvia Mattio - Travel Advisor

2248.0048 (phone - Costa Rica)
888.683.9558 (fax - USA)
1.888.294.1512 (TF US/Canada)

costaricaonlinetravel.com

Room Tip: Every room is great. Indulge in activities, Indulge in the spa, Go for walks around the grounds. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed with a large group in early February. We found the service to be very friendly. The view of the volcano was incredible, despite that the top was cloud-covered. The man-made hot springs at the hotel were fun, but the natural hot springs at tobacan down the road were absolutely incredible and a must-see.

I agree that the rooms can use a bit of updating, but they were very clean and with the views of the outside, we hardly noticed the slightly dated insided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in December 2012. Extremely large rooms. Large grounds that are beautifully gardened. Rooms are quite spread out and it can be a bit of a walk to the reception or restaurant, but the result is the hotel is very quiet and feels more boutique. Based on the location I would assume the views of the volcano are incredible, but the weather did not cooperate while we where there. Service was excellent - they even packed a breakfast for us and delivered it to our room at 5am without charge when we had a pick up for an activity before the restaurant opened for the included breakfast. 10 minute drive from town so it is a bit isolated if you want to eat elsewhere. Massage at the Spa was great, but the room was drafty, which was surprising considering Arenal is a rainforest and gets lots of damp cool days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a great stay at Arenal Kioro. The staff was friendly and helpful whenever we had a question or needed assistance. Daily breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of choices and was tasty. The dining room had a great view. Wonderful way to start the day. We had a problem with our room key not working and a staff member came in no time flat to assist. The view from the room was beautiful and even though the volcano was shrouded in clouds (as many of the guide books will tell you) the grounds were stunning to look at and a hike provided us with vantage points and views that were great. Everything was clean and well- kept. Exceptional service was evident when we came in to the dining room after hiking in the rain and even thought the dining room was closed, the staff brought us coffee and pastries to eat in the lounge as our room was being cleaned. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We did enjoy Kioro, the hot springs are great, we had great time and the pool service works perfecly. The pina coladas are really tasty and in a reasonable price.~
The pool restaurant is medium, the other restaurant as well. But the food is not bad, just not exceptional.
The pool area is small but the springs compensate.
The suite was spacious, a bit elderly decorated but with a lot of space and good comfort.
The location is quite central to do all the activisties arenal has to offer. We enjoyed our stay.
We asked breakfast served in the room and probably it was not good ideia, we were very poorly served with one bread (literally for two of us) and some scrambled eggs.
This was the biggest minus of our stay. We had no breakfast in the restaurant so I don´t know if there is a bigger variety,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.