We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed with a large group in early February. We found the service to be very friendly. The view of the volcano was incredible, despite that the top was cloud-covered. The man-made hot springs at the hotel were fun, but the natural hot springs at tobacan down the road were absolutely incredible and a must-see.

I agree that the rooms can use a bit of updating, but they were very clean and with the views of the outside, we hardly noticed the slightly dated insided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    143
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
186
304
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in December 2012. Extremely large rooms. Large grounds that are beautifully gardened. Rooms are quite spread out and it can be a bit of a walk to the reception or restaurant, but the result is the hotel is very quiet and feels more boutique. Based on the location I would assume the views of the volcano are incredible, but the weather did not cooperate while we where there. Service was excellent - they even packed a breakfast for us and delivered it to our room at 5am without charge when we had a pick up for an activity before the restaurant opened for the included breakfast. 10 minute drive from town so it is a bit isolated if you want to eat elsewhere. Massage at the Spa was great, but the room was drafty, which was surprising considering Arenal is a rainforest and gets lots of damp cool days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a great stay at Arenal Kioro. The staff was friendly and helpful whenever we had a question or needed assistance. Daily breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of choices and was tasty. The dining room had a great view. Wonderful way to start the day. We had a problem with our room key not working and a staff member came in no time flat to assist. The view from the room was beautiful and even though the volcano was shrouded in clouds (as many of the guide books will tell you) the grounds were stunning to look at and a hike provided us with vantage points and views that were great. Everything was clean and well- kept. Exceptional service was evident when we came in to the dining room after hiking in the rain and even thought the dining room was closed, the staff brought us coffee and pastries to eat in the lounge as our room was being cleaned. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We did enjoy Kioro, the hot springs are great, we had great time and the pool service works perfecly. The pina coladas are really tasty and in a reasonable price.~
The pool restaurant is medium, the other restaurant as well. But the food is not bad, just not exceptional.
The pool area is small but the springs compensate.
The suite was spacious, a bit elderly decorated but with a lot of space and good comfort.
The location is quite central to do all the activisties arenal has to offer. We enjoyed our stay.
We asked breakfast served in the room and probably it was not good ideia, we were very poorly served with one bread (literally for two of us) and some scrambled eggs.
This was the biggest minus of our stay. We had no breakfast in the restaurant so I don´t know if there is a bigger variety,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

As soon as we pulled up into Kioro's driveway, two very friendly employees welcomed us in, reviewed our itinerary with us, offered us some drinks, and took care of our bags. They were very pro-active and willing to help as we needed to make some changes to our itinerary.

The room was outstanding. It was more than we expected, really. Interesting layout and you get to look out of huge sliding window doors on both ends of the room. As many other reviews have probably noted, the view is wonderful. The nice thing is that you even have a beautiful, well-kept garden in the foreground as you gaze at the Arenal Volcano. This garden is a decent size. It has a neat path you can take through it. We saw wild boars, turkeys, coatimondis, lizards, and many many many different birds. There is a lot of neat wildlife throughout the garden.

The pool is clean and has a great view of the volcano. It has a neat restaurant and bar next to it. The hot springs were great. Perfect after a day of long hikes, zip-lining, hanging bridges tours, and just exploring the nearby town.

All the tours, whether through the hotel's frontdesk or another agency, conveniently send their tour buses to the hotel to pick you up. We were usually the last ones to be picked up because this hotel so is amazingly close to everything there is to do around there.

The breakfast was delish. We chose to eat dinner there almost every night, as well. They even have a separate vegetarian menu. Great food. We had live music one night from a very renowned Costa RIcan musician. It was awesome!

It can get a little pricey with all the tours and paying for dinner and such. But it's well worth it. Look out for the refrigerator unit. There are many tempting things inside that you have to pay separate for. It does add up.

Room Tip: It appears as if all rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is amazing. The hot springs are a delight, as is the pool. The hotel seems very family friendly and has a zero depth pool for the little ones. We only ate breakfast there, but it was delicious and the view can not be beat. The grounds are nice to walk with lots of beautiful flowers and some wildlife.

We had a couple of issues. Our door didn't open all the way (They offered to come fix it, but it didn't bother us enough to deal with it.) and a couple of the windows were hard to open. The beds are incredibly firm and not very comfortable. The linens seemed older and could use an update.

None of that would keep us from staying there again or recommending it to our friends. We really enjoyed our stay there. My profile pic was taken from the pool area at Kioro.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff was wonderful especially the sisters in the gift shop. Very friendly and helpful.
The stay was very restful,very pleasant.
Thanks for the shuttle into La Fortuna. The food was well presented and delicious especially breakfast.There were no problems during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer’s delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.