We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VIEW but that's about it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Save Saved
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Escazu, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW but that's about it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I booked two rooms for this past weekend. Since the price was over $250 I was expecting much more. Both cabins had a damp smell. Coffee pot smelled like hell. The AC on one of the units was not working, the hotel's thermal waters were under maintenance. When we checked out and pointed out these inconveniences, there was absolutely NO APOLOGY FROM THE HOTEL STAFF. The only thing positive about our stay is that it has a nice view of the volcano, but we could get that from other hotels in the area at a lower price. TOTALLY OVERRATED!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    135
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
176
281
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Lovely grounds, even though the waiters said the volcano will be clouded in until march, so dont go just to see it.
Friendly staff, but sheets and pillows looked like they came from a cheap motel
We stayed in the middleofthe building and could hear whenever the upstairs people flushed their toilet

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raraya, Gerente at Arenal Kioro, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed our property! Arenal Kioro is proud to tell you that in our gardens, we don´t use any chemicals nor fertilizer. We take advantage of the organic garbage and turn it into organic fertilizer for our plants. Being able to see the volcano completely clear is matter of good luck and weather conditions, even during rainy season there is possibilities to see it, and sometimes during summer the clouds are covering it, it is something that only mother nature can control.
We apologize for the problems in your room, we are checking the rooms to make sure that the noises from other rooms do not disturb our guest, we are working on some changes for 2013 on decoration we deeply value your comment, thank you, we hope you may come back again and give us the opportunity to serve you better.
Ricardo Araya C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is very big and spread out and there were not many people there despite visiting in high season. I think this is due to the volcano being dormant since May 2010. We were not aware of this. The staff was exceptional in providing service. The only comment is that it needed to be updated. The linen, some of the furniture and patio furniture were old.

Room Tip: be aware that the volcano is inactive and rare to be visible due to cloud cover
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raraya, Gerente at Arenal Kioro, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad that our staff´s service fulfilled your expectations. Regarding the update, we are taking very seriously your advise, Arenal Kioro has a classic Costa Rican style very different from many hotels due that this hotel is owned by a Costa Rican who wanted to keep the culture and Costa Rican taste in the decoration, we are working on some changes for 2013 and we value your comment.
The Arenal Volcano is not as active as it used to be 3 years ago but still you can see volcanic activity, you can still see smoke coming out of the crater and sometimes rocks falling down the side. We hope it can get as active as before, the Arenal Area has a lot to offer in terms of nature and adventure activities we hope all our visitors enjoy all this too.
Thank you again your comments will help us improve.

Ricardo Araya C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Kioro. If you want that "Wow Factor" - just step into your room. It will amaze on all fronts - and especially the view! The pool/restaurant/hot springs area is fabulous - as are the grounds. Things to know: You will be about 5 miles outside of La Fortuna (the cute, active little town). It is about $15 for a cab ride into town. It is WELL WORTH the cab fare to go to town to shop and eat - lots of fun and a lot of good dining choices. Also, the Volcano Inn delivers pizza - so if you want an option w/o leaving - that is a good choice- good pizza!

Room Tip: Get the top level room in whichever building you are in - fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is just amazing. The view of the volcano is awesome when you can see it, but the place is just as beautiful when it transforms to the cloud forest. The spas were relaxing, the pool bar/restaurant great, the main restaurant was nice, and the staff were perfect. The town was fun and has a neat little park. I don't know what else to say besides go see it for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWARK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I decided to change our hotel to Arenal Kioro 10 days before our trip and I must say I am SO happy I did. This hotel was our favorite on our adventure in Costa Rica!

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly hotel staff that offered us our "welcome drink". There was not a cloud in the sky and the view of Arenal Volcano was completely clear. My mind was blown away by my surroundings. The room and the view just left me speechless. We were lucky enough to be on the second floor with a great view. We had two balconies, one in the front of the room with a view of the hillside, and the other with a view of the gardens and Arenal Volcano. Our room had two queen beds and a day bed, a shower that was separate from the toilet and double sink, and a four person hot tub that we could view the volcano from.

The grounds of the hotel are immaculately kept. Everywhere you turned there was something unique to catch your eye. The hot springs were awesome. Many to choose from and surrounded in a tropical paradise.

We had dinner at the hotel both nights and enjoyed the food very much! The breakfast buffet was good as well complete with made-to-order omelets.

When we return to Arenal this will be our spot.

Room Tip: The second floor offers better views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After staying in southern Costa Rica at a beach resort, we traveled by van and ferry up the mountains to the Kioro Resort at the foot of the Arenal Volcano. It was a long day on the road through some beautiful country, and then what a place. Kioro sits in the foothills of the volcano. Everything is wonderful about this property. All the rooms have a great view of the volcano. Waking up in the morning there may be clouds on the summit or it may be clear. Either way it's a gorgeous sight. Walking down the winding pathways to the pool, the hot springs, the dining or to the lobby is an experience. Flowering and ornamental plants of all kinds including Bamboo Orchids my favorite. Every room has a inside hot tub, bathrobes and an extra day bed for lounging. We were able to get the U. S. college bowl games on the TV, but the dialog was in Spanish. An interesting way to enjoy the games. Breakfast was included with an excellent selection of local foods. Lunch was something light around the pool or in the town about 15 minutes away by taxi. The town provides an excellent opportunity for different foods and some shopping. There are all day tours of the volcano area. We only took a half day rafting trip down a lazy river. It wasn't worth the effort; the only dissapointment of our Arenal stay. If you are planning on going to the Arenal area, you should thoroughly research the tour opportunites. Some of them can be physically challenging. Many of the ornamental landscaping plants we see in the U.S. come from farms in this area. When driving through the rolling hills we saw fields of them. New Year's Eve the resort had a special dinner accompanied by live music. A terrific fireworks display followed. The San Jose airport is about 3 hours away by van. Our driver stopped on the way at a couple of road side stands where be bought gifts and interesting local snacks. While there is no night life at the resort, a trip into town can serve that purpose. Otherwise Kioro is a feast for the mind and body. A beautiful, relaxing place. Definitely 5-star.

Room Tip: The are numbered in the hundreds (100, 500, etc).. If you don't want to walk up hills, get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer’s delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.