We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Holy Mountain" all for yourself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Save Saved
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ramah, New Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The "Holy Mountain" all for yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

As my husband opened the curtains of the main grand double sliding glass door right in front of the king-size bed, where I was leaning back with my goblet of champagne in hand, it was breathlessly beautiful: a true "room with a view"!
The volcano rose imposing, in its perfect conic shape, telling stories of ancient cultures worshiping its powers, of the healing waters gushing from its bowels, and of timeless upheavals of our Mother, the Earth... The tip, most of the time, remaining mysteriously shrouded by mist and moving clouds.
Who thought of a resort of this kind, surely chose the right spot, having in mind the Volcano and its healing waters as the focus, the full screen scenery and its effect on the spirit.
The elegant, spacious rooms, all with its own jacuzzi tubs with view of the Mountain, the excellent breakfast offered, the outstanding service and the friendliness of the staff, and none the less the manicured, precious tropical gardens run through by endlessly falling mineral waters, level after levels of volcanic stones, it all is but a fantastic experience worth doing at least once in a lifetime.
Thank you, Aidan Mullan (Costarican Vacations), for your advice and helpful service in booking for this amazing hotel, and the tours to Cano Negro and the Celeste River. The guides at Aventuras Arenal gave us two unforgettable days in the Northern part of Costa Rica, a country everyone should experience and learn from.

Room Tip: All rooms are Volcano view and private, but chose the more centered and second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    129
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
172
276
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etters, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our first time to Costa Rica and first time to Arenal Kioro. We visited from 12/10/12 to 12/14/12. We did get a few great views of the volcano. Rain and fog conditions throughout the day obstructed the volcano most of the time. It was warm, and it was sunny for short periods of time. The hot springs were amazing! It was quiet, clean, and the restaurant offered a variety of local food. The breakfast buffet, which is included in your stay, was delicious and filled with both hot and cold options. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher floors (on the 2nd level) have high celings, which makes the rooms seem much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The rooms are huge, beautifully furnished and comfortable, with your own private hot tub as well as the hot springs on grounds. Grounds are immaculately kept, food in restaurant was excellent and the spa experience was great. No complaints at all! Sadly, we never got to see all of Arenal because of the cloud cover, but all the tours were excellent and we had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great rooms, service, staff and view. I will return! Awesome hot springs! Could stand to be a bit hotter but it worked well. We loved the breakfast. They had a great choice of local food and typical breakfast good items. The staff was extremely accommodating. The view of the volcano from each room is breathtaking! We plan to make this an annual getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great hotel to stay at during our honeymoon in the Arenal region. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms adequate, the hot springs relaxing, and the view great (though much of the volcano is obstructed by fog many days of the year).

The food was good. The breakfast buffet is vast; there is something for everyone. The service for drinks was slow, however, and sometimes it took most of the meal to get a cup of coffee.

The rooms were fine, but not the nicest we experienced in Costa Rica. Every room has a massive hot tub, which seems somewhat redundant with the hot springs right outside, but we took advantage of it nonetheless because of some inclement weather. The shower was the best in Costa Rica, and spacious enough for two. The rest of the room, however, while large, was kind of weirdly designed and could have been more luxurious. The bed could have been more comfortable, though my wife who likes an insanely firm mattress seemed to like it. Further, nothing ever dried in our room because of the humidity generated from the hot springs and hot tub -- which led to some rancid smelling towels and swimsuits.

The hot springs are very nice, not as expansive as some nearby ones like Baldi and the fabled Tabacon, but more intimate if you are on a honeymoon. The temperatures of the near 10 separate "pools" varied from day to day, however -- the first day they were piping hot, the second only lukewarm. The spa was nice and we took advantage of the free facial.

Other highlights included solid service throughout, delicious welcome drinks, and beautifully manicured grounds.

Recommendations in the area include canopying, hiking the Volcano park, and if you have time, the hanging bridges tour. Restaurants that were good included Soda Visquez (typical Costa Rican plates), Don Rufino (steaks and pastas), and Kappa Sushi (give the other sushi restaurant in the area miss).

Room Tip: all the same basically, all include rooms with volcano views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at Arenal for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay at Arenal Kioro. The Most breth-taking was the view of Arenal and the different picturesque moments that you get with the clouds moving in and out. All the rooms are stunning and the view just fantastic. You could open your eyes everyday and see Arenal looming right in front of you.

The service was exceptional - look for Paniagua and Arturo - they are great w/kids and we enjoyed being served by them at dinner, breakfast, etc.

Although we didn't do much sight-seeing other than Hanging Bridges from here, some of the bird-sightings at Kioro was awesome and I spent a few hours just walking around the property and the local road to get quite a variety of birds.

The hotel provides a safe and it would be very good for everyone to use the safe for valuables.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Eco friendly and warm friendly staff. Beautiful rooms and amazing view of the volcano. We had an amazing time. Food could probably be better and unfortunately it isn't all inclusive so you have to go out to find lunch and dinner but breakfast is included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer’s delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.