We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Describe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hard to Describe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is as close as I've ever gotten to a 5-star review.

I cannot describe how beautiful the view is. We arrived on a clear day (which is rare) and had a completely unobstructed view of the volcano, which is so close, you feel like you could touch it. But even on the days where the peak of the volcano is covered by clouds, the view is out of this world.

Loved the rooms here. They are enormous. The ceilings were 15 feet high. You get your own hot tub in room. The bed faces huge floor-to-ceiling windows, and just beyond those windows are the gorgeous views. Imagine waking up in the morning, opening the blinds and enjoying breakfast in bed with the Arenal Volcano in view.

The grounds are exquisite. The natural hot springs were a highlight. A series of man made (but very naturally fitted) spa-sized pools, that channel the hot spring and splash over from one to the next. I loved sitting under the waterfall and getting a hot springs massage.

Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They greet you with a brief orientation and complimentary drinks. Food was good. Not great. Pools were nice. But very little detracts from the experience, when the setting is so nice. You'll spend much of your stay here muttering to yourself, "I can't believe how beautiful this is."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    143
    39
    15
    5
See reviews for
186
304
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our splurge hotel on our honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier. The views are indescribable and no picture will ever do it justice.

We stayed the first part of our trip at the beach and drove inland to Arenal. I found the Arenal Kioro from a blogger that had recently stayed there and I'm so glad we chose this place. It's the closest resort to the volcano from what we could see. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable. We were greeted with drinks, given a beautiful room, and enjoyed a couples massage and the hot springs on the first day. The second day we took the Hanging Bridges tour which is completely worth the money. We also drove into La Fortuna to eat at a Soda and to check out the Lava Lounge for dinner. Definitely the best part of our trip! Having the hot tub in the room was amazing - being able to look out at the volcano and stars at night while in the hot tub was a view I'll never forget.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an unobstructed volcano view... even though the stairs may be daunting, the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We loved everything about this wonderful hotel. The gardens on the property were beautiful. The room was unbelievable.
The staff was one of the best that we have ever met. Had a great day at the spa. We will be back.

Frank K

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. They are all suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited Arenal Kioro in March 2012 with our children -- ages 7 and 10 -- and did not want to leave. The gardens around the property are gorgeous -- the hotel marks the names of the trees and plants -- and they are simply beautiful. My kids had a great time taking pictures of all the exotic flowers. We traveled with another family who had three similarly-aged children, and the five children ventured from the pools to the game room, through the gardens and back constantly. The large pool had an amazing view of Arenal Volcano as its backdrop. Down from the large pool was a series of waterfalls that fell into smaller, jacuzzi sized pools that were so much fun! My kids did not want to leave these pools. In fact, we decided not to spend the extra money to visit any of the Tobacan hot spring pools and instead, just hang around this property. Near the pool is a combination work out room and and game room (separated by a 1/2 wall). This was great, because while I was on the tread mill, I could keep an eye on the kids playing ping-pong. The rooms were huge. In ours, we had two double beds, and on the other side of the half wall our beds were against, was a single bed (we never used it) and a desk, where we kept our laptop. That scenario would be perfect for a family that is taking a Mother/Mother-in-Law. The bathroom was large and very nice with a separate shower, which was also very large -- where a parent with small children could plunk them in together and get them all cleaned up at once.
Our room had a jacuzzi, which was up against a large window with at beautiful view of the volacano. It was interesting -- the jacuzzi was the kind that you would typically see sitting on someone's patio behind their house, so it was big enough for all four of us to get in, if we wanted. A word about Arenal Volcano -- I don't think they really let this be known, but the volcano has not sputtered in several years. In fact, you can see a little bit of smoke wafting up, but that's all. Still, it was beautiful, and given a second chance, I would certainly stay here again. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: We had a view of the volcano and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchaug, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Three weeks later and we still wish we could go back tomorrow. The grounds are spectacular with unbelievable views. The room is just as nice as it looks on the website, There are plenty of activities around the area that will easily fill your day. Thank you to the staff for making our honeymoon so enjoyable. Hands down the Arenal Kioro should be on everybodies bucket list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Unión, Cartago, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I ve been in Arenal Kioro couple of times with my husband and my kids, both of the time we had such a lovely time, even my kids (6 and 3) had a wonderfull time in the pool, the thermals, and when the rain fell down, in the room´s jacuzzi.
The food and the service is excellent!
If you want to spend a romantic time is a special, please, but also, if you have kids, they will have fun, and relax there!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms near the restaurant, and at the first floor if you cant walk too much!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanacaste
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Definitely one of the best hotels in the area of Arenal, we enjoyed every moment we expended at the hotel. All rooms are suites which is something cool because we are all in the same level, same services and all rooms have a great view to the Volcano which is very impressive to be that close to it. The jaccuzzi, hot springs, gardens, spa, food were amazing and just make you want to come back again. I will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer’s delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.