We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Save Saved
You added Arenal Kioro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Kioro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“A Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The Arenal Kioro is a wonderful suite hotel. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and very clean. Our room (1204) was very private. It looked out directly at the volcano and the balcony jutted into the rain forest. Every morning we opened the glass walls and laid in bed- listening to all of the birds. One morning we had a troop of white faced monkeys look at us from their trees- about 25 ft away. The service was excellent- we particularly liked the services of Melvin- who would point out flocks of Toucans to us. The natural springs were lovely. The web site does not do this hotel justice- it is much better than depicted. We would go back anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    123
    33
    14
    4
See reviews for
166
268
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is our second stay at this magnificent property. Last August we stayed here with our
Granddaughter and her boyfriend from Chicago, Illinois and we couldn't wait to come back.
This current stay was from July 31st to August 4th and we were taking our Secretary and her
husband, visiting from South Florida, as a "bonus" trip for all of the wonderful work she does
for us. ALL of the staff members are incredibly kind but in view of the limited space I am
allowed here I would like to mention just a few. Grettel in Guest Services is beyond
"wonderful" and Karina at the Front Desk is another "wonder." John cannot do enough to
aid the guests in any way he can with advice as to restaurants in the area, transportation
up and down the hill to your accomodations, and while I unfortunately cannot remember
all of the names of the "special people" you employ, let me tell you that the lovely little
lady that cooks the omlets at breakfast in the morning, is a wonderful way to start your day.
She always greets you with a smile and will do whatever necessary to insure that the omlet
or egg specialty that you ordered is cooked to perfection. Again, I wish I could remember
everyone's name, including the kind and friendly gentleman who came up the morning of our
departure to retrieve our luggage and deliver it safely down to the area where our Grayline
Shuttle was waiting for us.

The Hot Springs at Kioro are the cleanest and the finest anywhere in the Arenal area. The
swimming pools are gorgeous as well. And the outdoor bar area and the luncheon area
are not only a beautiful spot to dine or enjoy a cocktail but the service again, is incredible.

The Spa is beautiful and the Gym was a "welcome find" as well. I suppose if I had any
thing to offer in terms of a possible improvement, I would say, although the Gymnasium area
is well equipped and beautifully maintained, it would be a big "PLUS" if it could be air
conditioned.

The Suites are beautifully furnished and the design of the accomodations couldn't be
better.

I don't know what else to say, except, we can't wait to come back and will continue to bring
guests along with us as well as recommending Arenal Kioro to all of our travel clients.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as helping travelers to select a "good room" because all of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raraya, Gerente at Arenal Kioro, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you dear friend, for choosing us again. We feel so honor! It was our pleasure to have you here in Arenal Kioro.
Your comment is wonderful, thank you for taking your time, and mention every special detail.
So bad, I can not see you this time. But so glad you enjoy every moment with our staff .
We hope to see you soon. Greetings from all your Kioro´s friends.

Best Regard,
Mariana Araya Con
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is located on the slope of the Arenal volcano with an excellent view of the volcano. There are beautiful warm pools to sit in as well as a swimming pool with pool bar. The food was excellent and the people were extremely friendly. There are two great places to zip line nearby. If the weather is clear I think it would be possible to see the active volcano at night but when we were there it was too cloudy. The rooms were very large and all had their own hot tub.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view of the volcano. There is a little noise from the upstairs rooms when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Approximately 15km from La Fortuna (San Carlos) and 10km from the main entrance to the National Park, the Kioro is a heartbeat away form Arenal and -on a dry, mist-free day- offers wonderful views of the Volcano. Thoughtfully and intelligently designed, each suite is forward-facing and equipped with a jacuzzi (itself, strategically located next to the mini-bar), allowing you to enjoy a glass of wine and lose yourself in the surroundings.

Rooms make good use of space (of which there is ample), with a division of sorts between the double beds and a lounge area composed the closet, a writing desk and futon. The Kioro provides all the trappings of a high-quality hotel, with spa robes, an impressive power shower and locally-sourced bathroom products.

A short walk from the rooms is the central complex which houses the reception area, bar, main restaurant, swimming pool and hot springs. The sparsely-decorated restaurant offers breathtaking views but on a cloudy day (of which there are many), or at night, feels empty and soulless. Menus are varied, and food quality is good, although overpriced (a pasta in excess of $20), so if you have a car, there are a variety of decent but less dear restaurants in the local vicinity.

The spa complex is located a short walk from the central area. Treatments are well-priced and the offer of a free mud-mask (one per room) is an effective way of luring guests into the facilities. A post-treatment relaxation room, sauna or steam room would certainly be a welcome addition. Moreover, don't get too excited by the hot springs. Whilst a nice addition, they are man-made and relatively minor in nature compared to those of the neighbouring Tabacón and Baldi resorts.

The standard rack-rate of $500/night is a touch steep for this hotel given the variety of options in La Fortuna/San Carlos and the fact that other places have far larger hot springs (which can cost up to $50 to enter). However, reception staff informed me that rooms are substantially-reduced in April and May, a good time to visit-just before the rainy season, and are well-worth $250-300/night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The landscape and views from the rooms are amazing - breathtaking. The service was amazing - the staff was so very friendly and accomodating. The food at the hotel restaurants was perfect - maybe a little pricey, but worth it. We loved Arenal Kioro!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - this hotel was perfectly planned to give everyone the same experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very nice hotel with great view of Arenal Volcano. Breakfast buffet was plentiful, and on-site restaurant also good with nice view. Family enjoyed the hot springs each day. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is clean, service is very good, and staff friendly. Onsite hot springs very well landsaped but not very hot - about like a heated swimming pool at top and then cooler in lower levels. A plus is they tend to extend "happy hour" at the bar near springs/pool so you can very reasonably enjoy drinks in the hot spring or pool. Onsite breakfast is good with fantastic views of volcano. The dinner menu is limited and expensive, but food is good. Chicken Kioro at $18 is cheapest option, but you get 2 chicken breasts which are well prepared. Very nice grounds. Hotel is quiet and peaceful. My only take is on value - might consider nearby Montana De Fuego at about half the price. Rooms are very spacious, clean, nice, but not luxurious. Views out floor to ceing hotel rooms are stunning, but there are no balconies to sit outside to admire views (small 5' long by 2' deep that you can stand on but nothing else. Did not see wildlife on property but can see that it would be possible due to closeness to park/volcano. We thought beds were comfortable but pillows were very large/firm which tends to give you a "crick" in your neck. It is very peaceful at Kioro though...

Room Tip: You can get good views from 1st floor since upper floors dont have a balcony to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 116447, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer’s delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Kioro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.