We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wave at the Volcano, Pass this Hotel BYE BYE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lavas Tacotal to your Saves list
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 2772-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wave at the Volcano, Pass this Hotel BYE BYE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

There was so much disatification that I'm just going to list the error of this hotel's ways! While giving credit to the few things that were OK. I was traveling for semi-business so this trip was not paid with personal dollars. But I felt so bad ANYBODY had to pay money on this place. Fellow TA Reviewers...trust me...I am very fair and honest! just read my other reviews. Had I not been on a tour with native Spanish speakers I would've been lost because outside of housekeeping staff, no one else was very nice.

The following were OK...
1. Working air conditioning , rooms only
2. Nice housekeeping staff and kept rooms as clean as they could get them

Serious Errors
1. property did not feel secure!
2. Horrible food
3. Wi-fi is ONLY in the lobby...and good luck with consistent connection there! (this is really bad when you're away from family and are trying to communicate via the Internet) I couldn't even FaceTime in the privacy of my room.
4. Rude dining staff and flirtatious lobby staff...professionalism please!
5. Soiled seat cushions in the lobby area
6. Filthy restrooms In the public areas
7. If staying on the lower level, younwill have a store front like glass door that has see thru curtains. So at night, if you have any light on in your room, people passing by WILL see you!
8. You can feel the springs in your bed! When I travel, I expect the same sleep experience or better.

Okay that's it! It's giving me horrid memories of an otherwise fantastic trip! This was one out of 3 hotels I stayed during my 7 day trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. You will have a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    27
    23
    15
See reviews for
13
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flowood, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked through Travelocity, which currently only pictures the rooms as cabanas, not the motel at the bottom of the lodge, which I was expecting. The view was great, even with the volcano dormant, and the staff helped us book tours and taxis. The laundry was not on time (and my friend really wanted to wear jeans horse-back riding). All in all, it was good for the money. The beds were comfortable with a mini-fridge. We had a massage at the spa, which was great! I'd definitely go back, but book directly through the hotel to make sure I got a cabana.

Room Tip: Call the hotel during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Don't expect frills or luxury at this hotel, but expect fairly clean rooms and beautiful grounds that can be enjoyed from the porch of your own cabin. I believe there are both regular rooms and individual cabins available at this hotel, though we stayed in one of the cabins. The doors do not seal tightly and there may cracks in the walls that allow bugs and lizards in. It wasn't a huge problem for us, but we kept towels rolled up near any visible openings to the outdoors so we could avoid an issue. We also had some trouble with the key for our door but the staff was glad to help resolve that for us quickly. All in all, I was pleased with the experience for the price we paid. To spend about $80/night, you can't expect much so I was happy to have a clean room, great view of the volcano just outside our door, and easy access to explore the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We were not impressed with this hotel. We had a lower room (1st floor on a 2 room building) and found that the window in the bathroom was open to some of the operating mechanical equipment for the hotel. The noise was so loud we had to close the window and the bathroom door in order to sleep. The staff in the diningroom stood around and did not offer any service except to tell us that we should go elsewhere for dinner (we had booked this hotel because there was an on site restaurant). While the room was kept clean by the housekeeping staff, the hotel is definitely showing wear. We went to the pool for a swim and found a chair at the bottom, we moved it ourselves even though there were staff standing around. The loungers at the pool were all broken. I say look elsewhere, you can do better.

Room Tip: The rooms are facing each other, no privacy. This seemed strange because their is a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Dreadful design, dreadful management.
Whoever designed this tacky hotel needs to be shot. Should have a wonderful view situated as it is at the base of the Arenal volcano with floor to ceiling windows...which have a marvelous view into the cabins opposite. No net curtains so once you draw the curtains you have no privacy whatsoever, and if you look out you see what the people opposite are doing inside their room. Other minus points:
- crackly swaety mattress covers on the bed (we removed ours after a particularly uncomfortable night)
- the fridge was SO noisy we had to turn it off to sleep
- the safe was broken
- the disused "swim up" pool bar was a mess
- it is in the middle of no-where so you can't walk anywhere except along the road (although there was some beauitful but inaccessible countryside around it)
- the restaurant was a joke - completely deserted for dinner (Where did every go???), and the breakfast unpalatable.
- the reception was deserted most of the time
Plus points?
- the staff, when you could find them, were friendy
- the room was clean and spacious
- there was a lovely cat!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

A beautiful property, but practically empty except for tour busses. None of staff seemed to speak English. Restaurant completely empty, except during breakfast it was swamped with tours. Practically no wi-fi.
Terrific view of Arenal Volcano, but it's done nothing for at least a year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Not sure what happened here, but what remains is unsettling. The grounds are manicured to perfection. The rows of "mini-cabins" with a glass wall facing the volcano provide an excellent view of the cloud shrouded Arenal volcano. The rooms are basic, clean, and functional and the beds comfortable. The emptiness and non-functioning pool bars give the place an eerie post-apocalyptic "life after people" feel. The breakfast was basic and while the coffee and fruit were fine, the eggs/rice/beans were cold from sitting in non functioning steam trays.

If you are looking for solitude and fasting - this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas Tacotal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.