We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful people fair value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Country Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Km South of the Catholic Church. La Fortuna, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful people fair value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you wish to visit the genuine Costa Rica, this is the place to go. Close enough to town, amazing gardens and a really nice pool with great view to the volcano.
The service at the hotel is great; you can feel they are happy to have you there...at the same time, there is no way to feel they are pretending to be nice...genuine costarican people is my best description.
What you pay is what you get...they are honest and hard working people offering good and very clean rooms. In Costa Rica people eat a lot for breakfast and this hotel is no exception to this.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMaeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were visiting with a group of students, so we stayed here two nights and ate three meals a day here. I was very flexible while traveling in Costa Rica and did not expect a Hampton Inn experience! My two main complaints were the lack of any fresh fruit or vegetables over the course of six meals and zero, absolutely zero hot water. Rice, beans, and cooked meat just doesn't work for me for two days! And after asking several times and being told that the hot water issued had been resolved, there was never any hot water. Another odd thing is that the front desk closed and the lobby was locked at 7:00 p.m. I found that a little disconcerting if there had been an emergency or if you just had a question. The pros are the beautiful grounds and a very nice swimming pool; the rooms are a good size and the bathrooms were nice and clean. I am sure that the view of Arenal is great here, too, but it was shrouded in clouds the entire time we visited! I absolutely do not expect perfection, but in a country known for their fruit production, there should have been fresh fruit .... and hot water is a must, too!

Room Tip: Request a room as far away from the road as possible .... continuous traffic all night long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestofthewest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenalCountryInn, Owner at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear customer:
As you yourself mentioned, you visited our hotel with a group of students. Such groups are handled with special packages which are entirely arranged by the travel agency. They are the ones who determnine the meal options, which always include a appetizer, main dish with 3 components, and fresh natural fruit juice. We try very hard to offer the highest possible quality on these tight packages.
As for the fact that our reception closes at 7 pm, is important to mention that this is a small family hotel where the owner lives onsite. Upon entering the hotel you get a map and information to call 24 hours a day to an internal line and to two cell phones. While the guide also received the same indications orally. And finally we have four areas outside of the reception with telephones available for your use.
It was unfortunate that the day your group bufffet breakfast was served your students ate all of the fruit before you made had a chance to get some. However, our staff gave you a personalized service with a smile. It was a pleasure to have served you and your group and a learning experience for us. Thank you for your comments, which help us to grow everyday. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and did enjoy our stay although the facilities are fairly basic and it is a 20 minute walk to the town centre and restaurants. The accommodation consists of separate cabins in a well maintained park. Ours contained twin beds, fridge, air conditioner, a cafetiere (coffee extra) and a safe (key extra) with an attached bathroom. Breakfast served on the covered patio by the pool but was rather skimpy - fruit followed by scrambled egg and gallo pinto. The staff were very helpful in giving information and arranging taxis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenalCountryInn, Owner at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are very pleased that your stay at our inn has been pleasant. Despite being a small local hotel we always strive to give our customers friendly and courteous service.
For other tousits, we would like to clarify that all of our rooms have 2 double beds, not twin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The big plus about this hotel is the grounds. I was woken at about 5.30 by a stunning dawn chorus and, bumping into others from my group, saw some magnificent bird life (plus the odd squirrel). We were there for the wildlife so this was ideal.
Our room was good and spacious with a TV and fridge. The hot water was hit and miss and can go from really warm to freezing with no notice. The open-air breakfast by the swimming pool was fine, not a great choice but nice fresh fruit and a couple of cooked items and cereals.
I walked into town, La Fortuna, and this took about 10 minutes along footpaths by the road side. The hotel reception closes at 7 p.m. and the bar was never open during our stay. However, there are several good stores in La Fortuna where you can stock up on supplies for your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The grounds are beautiful which is really the most positive thing about this place. Rooms very tired, and the staff on reception were fairly impersonal. Breakfast was adequate. The inn is in a good location for town - only about a ten minute walk. This place suited us as we were travelling with a group of people and we enjoyed the grounds and the fact that the accomodation was in small units in the grounds. If the rooms were updated it would have been a much more positive experience, but all in all it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eljayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel itself is o.k. People are friendly and breakfast is o.k.
Hot water is simply not available. Water heating system is gas powered and standing outside against a wall. We asked twice to repair it and twice it was promised and twice nobody did anything.
The road along the hotel is very noisy with a 24 hour traffic flow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with hot water as far as possible away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Positives: wifi in the room, little fridge in room, 10minute walk to town
Negative cold shower on some days, decor is dated, breakfast is ok
We had headlamps to walk to town, which helped. I got my laundry done for 14$. They did a nice job. I stayed at 5 hotels in Costa Rica and this was one on the bottom. Yet, the wifi was good. Maybe this is more important to me than hot water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#31 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#38 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#18 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1 Km South of the Catholic Church. La Fortuna, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Country Inn is a small hotel with twenty rooms distributed in ten bungalows; all of then surrounded by exotic gardens. All you have to do is reach the door of your room and you will go from the most comfortable human made environment to the magnificent nature. Rooms with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, private bathroom and terrace. Large swimming pool area, food service, internet access, tour desk and parking. Impeccable cleanness and friendly service is our promise. We will make our best to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing