We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wanted the basics ....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Arenal Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1/2 mile S from the back of La Fortuna's Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 678-2010, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just wanted the basics ....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were visiting with a group of students, so we stayed here two nights and ate three meals a day here. I was very flexible while traveling in Costa Rica and did not expect a Hampton Inn experience! My two main complaints were the lack of any fresh fruit or vegetables over the course of six meals and zero, absolutely zero hot water. Rice, beans, and cooked meat just doesn't work for me for two days! And after asking several times and being told that the hot water issued had been resolved, there was never any hot water. Another odd thing is that the front desk closed and the lobby was locked at 7:00 p.m. I found that a little disconcerting if there had been an emergency or if you just had a question. The pros are the beautiful grounds and a very nice swimming pool; the rooms are a good size and the bathrooms were nice and clean. I am sure that the view of Arenal is great here, too, but it was shrouded in clouds the entire time we visited! I absolutely do not expect perfection, but in a country known for their fruit production, there should have been fresh fruit .... and hot water is a must, too!

Room Tip: Request a room as far away from the road as possible .... continuous traffic all night long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenalCountryInn, Owner at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear customer:
As you yourself mentioned, you visited our hotel with a group of students. Such groups are handled with special packages which are entirely arranged by the travel agency. They are the ones who determnine the meal options, which always include a appetizer, main dish with 3 components, and fresh natural fruit juice. We try very hard to offer the highest possible quality on these tight packages.
As for the fact that our reception closes at 7 pm, is important to mention that this is a small family hotel where the owner lives onsite. Upon entering the hotel you get a map and information to call 24 hours a day to an internal line and to two cell phones. While the guide also received the same indications orally. And finally we have four areas outside of the reception with telephones available for your use.
It was unfortunate that the day your group bufffet breakfast was served your students ate all of the fruit before you made had a chance to get some. However, our staff gave you a personalized service with a smile. It was a pleasure to have served you and your group and a learning experience for us. Thank you for your comments, which help us to grow everyday. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
32
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and did enjoy our stay although the facilities are fairly basic and it is a 20 minute walk to the town centre and restaurants. The accommodation consists of separate cabins in a well maintained park. Ours contained twin beds, fridge, air conditioner, a cafetiere (coffee extra) and a safe (key extra) with an attached bathroom. Breakfast served on the covered patio by the pool but was rather skimpy - fruit followed by scrambled egg and gallo pinto. The staff were very helpful in giving information and arranging taxis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenalCountryInn, Owner at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are very pleased that your stay at our inn has been pleasant. Despite being a small local hotel we always strive to give our customers friendly and courteous service.
For other tousits, we would like to clarify that all of our rooms have 2 double beds, not twin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The big plus about this hotel is the grounds. I was woken at about 5.30 by a stunning dawn chorus and, bumping into others from my group, saw some magnificent bird life (plus the odd squirrel). We were there for the wildlife so this was ideal.
Our room was good and spacious with a TV and fridge. The hot water was hit and miss and can go from really warm to freezing with no notice. The open-air breakfast by the swimming pool was fine, not a great choice but nice fresh fruit and a couple of cooked items and cereals.
I walked into town, La Fortuna, and this took about 10 minutes along footpaths by the road side. The hotel reception closes at 7 p.m. and the bar was never open during our stay. However, there are several good stores in La Fortuna where you can stock up on supplies for your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The grounds are beautiful which is really the most positive thing about this place. Rooms very tired, and the staff on reception were fairly impersonal. Breakfast was adequate. The inn is in a good location for town - only about a ten minute walk. This place suited us as we were travelling with a group of people and we enjoyed the grounds and the fact that the accomodation was in small units in the grounds. If the rooms were updated it would have been a much more positive experience, but all in all it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel itself is o.k. People are friendly and breakfast is o.k.
Hot water is simply not available. Water heating system is gas powered and standing outside against a wall. We asked twice to repair it and twice it was promised and twice nobody did anything.
The road along the hotel is very noisy with a 24 hour traffic flow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with hot water as far as possible away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Positives: wifi in the room, little fridge in room, 10minute walk to town
Negative cold shower on some days, decor is dated, breakfast is ok
We had headlamps to walk to town, which helped. I got my laundry done for 14$. They did a nice job. I stayed at 5 hotels in Costa Rica and this was one on the bottom. Yet, the wifi was good. Maybe this is more important to me than hot water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay. The swimming pool was great and our room was fine - very clean and small but well maintained. Unfortunately when we were there the weather was misty and wet so we never saw the volcano.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1/2 mile S from the back of La Fortuna's Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 678-2010, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.