We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hotel in beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Country Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Km South of the Catholic Church. La Fortuna, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hotel in beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a lovely hotel wthin walking distance of La Fortuna. The grounds are extensive and full of plants and birds. There is a very clean pool. My husband wasn't feeling well so we spent a couple of quiet days here, reading and hanging out. The rooms are separate casitas, good sized with 2 double beds, a table and 2 chairs and a small rickety refrigerator. There is AC and cable TV with a no. of English channels. The price includes a complete breakfast--eggs, gallo pinto, fruit, rolls/toast, oj, coffee/tea. On weekends, there's a buffet. During the week, we had a waitress. The staff's English is limited. Most of the other guests are Costa Rican. Lots with kids to play in the lovely pool. If you're looking for a modern, high service place, this is not for you. If you want a quiet, older place with charm, you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very close to downtown La Fortuna. Great service and staff. Very clean rooms with large comfortable beds. Recycling options and very environmentally friendly. Within walking distance of souvenir shops, bars, and restaurants. Great place to stay for family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldwasserb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The rooms were very nice especially the AC! The staff was friendly and completely accommodating to anything you may need during your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseystoudenmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Beautiful pool area with a great view of the Arenal volcano (weather permitting).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The location was good, close to the center of La Fortuna (be prepared of a touristic and expensive village). We had a nice bungalow, with good terrace. The pool was nice and big. We were a bit shocked of buss American schoolchildren who arrived, but it was no problem and they stayed just one day. We didn't really like the breakfast. It is a small buffet, but not really tasty.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IwanYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Shropshire
Level Contributor
292 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The setting, gardens, pool etc were good but the service was non-existent; we came back after dinner at about 9.30 to find the reception locked and in darkness and a security guard waiting with our key. Moreover, our neighbours banged on the wall to silence us as we entered our room!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and two kids and I stayed here for two nights in december. This hotel is a step above camping. Small rooms with dirty bed covers and no blankets, making for some cold sleeping. The rooms are dated. Our cabin was close to the road and we could hear cars go by all night. The hotel charged us five dollars each to use towels to go white water rafting. I can understand a deposit in case we did not bring the towels back, but between our family and the family we were traveling with, we spent $40 on renting towels. The hotel is close to la fortuna, which was convenient. I would skip Arenal before staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipper2010Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#31 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#38 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#18 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1 Km South of the Catholic Church. La Fortuna, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Country Inn is a small hotel with twenty rooms distributed in ten bungalows; all of then surrounded by exotic gardens. All you have to do is reach the door of your room and you will go from the most comfortable human made environment to the magnificent nature. Rooms with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, private bathroom and terrace. Large swimming pool area, food service, internet access, tour desk and parking. Impeccable cleanness and friendly service is our promise. We will make our best to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing