We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greatest hotels in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Country Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1/2 mile S from the back of La Fortuna's Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 678-2010, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the greatest hotels in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very close to downtown La Fortuna. Great service and staff. Very clean rooms with large comfortable beds. Recycling options and very environmentally friendly. Within walking distance of souvenir shops, bars, and restaurants. Great place to stay for family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
16
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The rooms were very nice especially the AC! The staff was friendly and completely accommodating to anything you may need during your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Beautiful pool area with a great view of the Arenal volcano (weather permitting).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The location was good, close to the center of La Fortuna (be prepared of a touristic and expensive village). We had a nice bungalow, with good terrace. The pool was nice and big. We were a bit shocked of buss American schoolchildren who arrived, but it was no problem and they stayed just one day. We didn't really like the breakfast. It is a small buffet, but not really tasty.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The setting, gardens, pool etc were good but the service was non-existent; we came back after dinner at about 9.30 to find the reception locked and in darkness and a security guard waiting with our key. Moreover, our neighbours banged on the wall to silence us as we entered our room!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and two kids and I stayed here for two nights in december. This hotel is a step above camping. Small rooms with dirty bed covers and no blankets, making for some cold sleeping. The rooms are dated. Our cabin was close to the road and we could hear cars go by all night. The hotel charged us five dollars each to use towels to go white water rafting. I can understand a deposit in case we did not bring the towels back, but between our family and the family we were traveling with, we spent $40 on renting towels. The hotel is close to la fortuna, which was convenient. I would skip Arenal before staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We looked forward to staying at this resort but were quickly let down. The reception was friendly and no problem checking in. The problem was the room was far too small for two adults and a teenager. We were lucky enough to be able to rent the room next door but this did cost.
The rooms wer very dated, a coffee machine but no coffee or cups or anything to go with it. Two double beds that had seen better days. No where to put suitcases. A lot o little things that you would normally expect in a hotel these days.

The grounds of the resort were quite nice and a view of the volcano was possible from a couple of spots.

Another problem was road noise, big trucks and motorcycles could be heard late into the night and early morning.

Breakfast was ok but being served outside there was always the threat of flies and mosquitos.

In our view the property has good potential but needs some money spent to update and upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1/2 mile S from the back of La Fortuna's Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 678-2010, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.