We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pool area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Country Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Km South of the Catholic Church. La Fortuna, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful pool area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Beautiful pool area with a great view of the Arenal volcano (weather permitting).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
21
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The location was good, close to the center of La Fortuna (be prepared of a touristic and expensive village). We had a nice bungalow, with good terrace. The pool was nice and big. We were a bit shocked of buss American schoolchildren who arrived, but it was no problem and they stayed just one day. We didn't really like the breakfast. It is a small buffet, but not really tasty.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The setting, gardens, pool etc were good but the service was non-existent; we came back after dinner at about 9.30 to find the reception locked and in darkness and a security guard waiting with our key. Moreover, our neighbours banged on the wall to silence us as we entered our room!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and two kids and I stayed here for two nights in december. This hotel is a step above camping. Small rooms with dirty bed covers and no blankets, making for some cold sleeping. The rooms are dated. Our cabin was close to the road and we could hear cars go by all night. The hotel charged us five dollars each to use towels to go white water rafting. I can understand a deposit in case we did not bring the towels back, but between our family and the family we were traveling with, we spent $40 on renting towels. The hotel is close to la fortuna, which was convenient. I would skip Arenal before staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We looked forward to staying at this resort but were quickly let down. The reception was friendly and no problem checking in. The problem was the room was far too small for two adults and a teenager. We were lucky enough to be able to rent the room next door but this did cost.
The rooms wer very dated, a coffee machine but no coffee or cups or anything to go with it. Two double beds that had seen better days. No where to put suitcases. A lot o little things that you would normally expect in a hotel these days.

The grounds of the resort were quite nice and a view of the volcano was possible from a couple of spots.

Another problem was road noise, big trucks and motorcycles could be heard late into the night and early morning.

Breakfast was ok but being served outside there was always the threat of flies and mosquitos.

In our view the property has good potential but needs some money spent to update and upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Three days at this family-owned inn was one of the highlights of our 12 day trip to CR. Our impeccably clean and air conditioned bungalow was located in a tropical garden home to a variety of beautiful flowers and birds and a large crystal clear swimming pool that reflected the Arenal Vocano. We started each morning with a typical Costa Rican breakfast of delicious local fruits, black beans and rice, and eggs made to order. The staff was very friendly and spoke English so well that we were able to learn more about the country than just the basics. They were also patient and had a sense of humor while we practiced our very basic Spanish. Centrally located, the inn is a 5-minute walk from the downtown of La Fortuna with tour companies, restaurants, and shops to poke around in and buy souvenirs. This inn is a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Arenal. . . What a gorgeous place to visit. My boyfriend and I came to Costa Rica for a ten-day getaway. We were unsure of where to stay when visiting Fortuna, but we knew what we wanted. We were looking for a place that was close to town, reasonably priced, and included the gorgeous view of the volcano we had heard so much about.

We just happen to come across Arenal Country Inn and it was simply lovely. The people there were very helpful in assisting us with different tours and other excursions. The view of the volcano from the pool is gorgeous and we were even lucky enough to see an eruption. For the amount that we paid, I feel that we had a beautiful room and the grounds were something to be admired. I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1 Km South of the Catholic Church. La Fortuna, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Country Inn is a small hotel with twenty rooms distributed in ten bungalows; all of then surrounded by exotic gardens. All you have to do is reach the door of your room and you will go from the most comfortable human made environment to the magnificent nature. Rooms with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, private bathroom and terrace. Large swimming pool area, food service, internet access, tour desk and parking. Impeccable cleanness and friendly service is our promise. We will make our best to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.