We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Pradera to your Saves list
Hotel La Pradera
2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great budget place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Lovely little Costa Rican owned place a little outside town, but taxi is cheap, so it's worth it for the peace and quiet. Be careful of the taxi drivers as they rarely turn on the meter, and when one did the ride from town only cost $2 while other drivers charged $3-$4. Once we knew the real price, we bargained down the price. The included breakfast was OK, but nothing special, and by the end of my 3 days there I was sick of it as the selection was terrible (expecially if you're vegetarian). Service was nice and very friendly, but not a lot of english spoken which didn't bother me as I am fluent in Spanish, but might bother others. Pool area was great, and hot tub was nice to wind down in the eveving (front desk will provide you with towels for the pool). View of the volcano is great from anywhere on the property, but especially from te balcony of the houses. The houses are neat, but the beds are not comfortable and are doubles, and not the advertised queens (my husband and I are both tall, so we noticed the shortage of space). The bathroom was a bit outdated and had some ants, but the shower was huge. My one big issue with the room was that there was no phone in the room, so you had to walk to the front desk if you needed something. Also, the front desk closes after a certain hour (I think 22h), so if there is an emergency you haveNO access to a phone! All in all a nice place. For a great breakfast (when you're sick of the included one) there is a great Viennese coffee house (Called Café Vienna) on the main road into town that not only has great coffee, but great pasteries, hot chocolates, and in the evening becomes a great italian reastautant (called Anchio) which was the best meal we had in Arenal (we found most restaurants overpriced, and the food average). All in all a great budget place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    110
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
128
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seabeck, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

The rooms are super nice, we stayed in a cabin with another couple and it was really affordable and spacious. The room had a great shower and roomy deck. The grounds were lush and manicured, the staff was nice, a cute little boy showed us to our room. Had the volcano not been covered with fog the whole time we were there I'm sure we would have had an amazing view. The restaurtant was fabulous! Get the japapeno steak every night or you will regret it for the rest of your life. The only problem with this place is it is not really walking distance to town, we didn't really find this to be a problem, it doesn't cost much to get there, it's also on the way up to the volcano so that is nice. The hot tub is HUGE and the pool was nice too. You can set up any adventure through the hotel, very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

I stayed here mid Nov 2009. View of the volcano is amazing, especially from the hot tub. Food was wonderful and at great prices. The staff were extremely helpful. They arranged all our tours very well. A cabin cost us about US$80 per night for 2 people including breakfast with complimentary crowds of hummingbirds buzzing in the flowering trees right outside our door. Rooms were clean and serviced daily. I only wish I'd found more time to sit in the rocking chairs on the verandah and enjoy the views but we were too busy throwing ourselves around art galleries, hanging bridges and riding horses up Arenal Volcano. I would return to La Pradera in a heartbeat. If you go, take a taxi to DANAUS Gardens, a 5 min ride to the other side of town. That's where you'll see Morpho butterflies, Blue Jeans frogs, beautiful birds and we even saw a sloth! Danaus does not seem to be very well known by tourists. We saw more animals there in 40 mins (which was all the time we had left on our last morning) than on the Cano Negro trip.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I ate lunch next to a volcano. enough said.
No really, this place is great. When you check in they give you a page long list of fun stuff to do in the area from ATV tours, canyoning (which i did), ziplines, horseback riding, rafting, etc....
The location is great. Tabacon hot springs and La Fortuna are about 5 minutes away.
The view from our room was spectacular! We just walked out and there was a volcano right at our front door.
The restaurant was great. I had the best soup ever. It came in a bowl the size of my head and was only 5 bux. I couldn't even finish it. And 2 beers for 2000 colones!! That's like $3.50. I saved the receipt because that will never happen again....unless i go back :)
The staff was very friendly. They set up all the fun stuff that we did.
I'll let the pictures speak for themselves.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel is gorgeous, has incredible views of the Arenal Volcano. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the prices are reasonable. There is a restaurant on site that prepares delicious food for good prices as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel is just a bit down the road from town and so was nice and quiet. It is impeccably kept and the gardens and pools are among the cleanest I have ever seen. The desk staff help set up any adventures you would like and the breakfast provided will tempt any appetitie!!
I love the porches to sit on and watch teh butterflies and hummingbirds play against the awesome view of the Arenal Volcano.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ON
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Nice hotel to overnight when going to see the Arenal volcano and Baldi Hot springs. The staff is really nice and a close taxi ride to the town. The town of Fortuna has many places to stay but we were happy with this hotel - best of all, it was only $60 for two people in an AC, cable TV room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pradera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.