We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel-good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Pradera to your Saves list
Hotel La Pradera
2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel-good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very nice hotel-inexpensive and clean. It has a tv and air condition. Free great breakfast. It also had it's own rest. opened all day. Prices are reasonable. Employees are very accommodating. They even washed and dried our clothes for free. It is very well located.

Room Tip: The bungalows are very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    117
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
134
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broad Brook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, room was clean and comfortable, but dated. We stayed in one of the rooms closest to the pool. The large flower garden in front of us provided not only a beautiful view, but was home to half a dozen hummingbirds. The pool area had 2 hot tubs in addition to a medium sized pool. It was not very crowded, but it was the off season. Our bartender was fantastic. Very attentive and interesting to talk with, and played great music. Also had a couple of good dinner suggestions in Fortuna,
We were very fortunate for the time of year, as we experienced almost an entire day of clear skies around the Arenal Volcano. Sipping Pina Colatas around the pool with an unobstructed view of an active volcano just can't be beat.
The buffet breakfast was free and included an omelet chef. We had dinner there one night and it was terrific.
Due to it's location, it was only a 45 minute walk into Fortuna. The walk was easy and flat, but the sidewalks are not in the best conditions.
Overall, a very good value and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Mountain Cabin was nice but over-priced. Rooms were very clean but the beds were not very comfortable. The view was pretty and the breakfast was good and offered plenty to eat. The grounds are the highlight, with multiple pools, a pool table, and nice gardens.

Room Tip: Our mountain cabin was nice, with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

La Pradera was a wonderful hotel! We stayed in one of the private bungalows and while it was not overly fancy, it was clean and charming. We loved the view of Arenal volcano that was right in front of our porch! The staff was so friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent! We will definantley stay there again on our next trip to Costa Rica!!

Room Tip: The private bungalows have the best views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed three nights with our children. The bungalows were small but comfortable and clean. The pools were nice. Food was good, especially the breakfast. They will schedule any tour you wish. Near downtown La Fortuna.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I went to La Pradera Hotel in May 2013 and returned there this year. Very nice hotel within walking distance of La Fortuna and the assorted hot spring spas nearby. Since last year, there are now more restaurants, a grocery store and many other places on this main street. The hotel decor is beautiful and the rooms are all set among lush vegetation. They have done major renovations and added more bungalow style rooms and cabins. The staff are wonderful and the hotel is clean and the pool area charming. Special thanks to Eli, Alvano and Papasito. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: I didn't see one room I wouldn't have stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Excellent value with a beautiful view of the volcano! We stayed in a bungalow in the back of the property - it was cleaned daily and well maintained. It's also fairly close to town - we walked to La Fortuna and back a couple of times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#29 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#31 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pradera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.