We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty outside, terrible inside” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Pradera to your Saves list
Hotel La Pradera
2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty outside, terrible inside”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

La Pradera has an excellent view of Volcano Arenal and beautiful landscaping. That is where the good ends. I went with a large group, and they messed up the number of beds/room we reserved. Some of my group members had to sleep on the floor, and they offered absolutely no refund, not even partial. We had ants crawl on us in our sleep (at least we woke up with some on us). And last, but not least, the breakfast food was terrible. They did nothing to cover the fruit, so inevitably the fruit flies came. Pancakes were very dry. The milk was chunky. I recommend spending a little extra money for somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view; it is in the nature of Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    97
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
40
118
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco area, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We are a family of two parents, and two adult college-aged daughters. We stayed in one of the bungalows and loved it. It was extremely clean upon our arrival, had a small fridge, coffee and coffee maker, very large bathroom with shower and a small closet/clothes hanging area. It was spacious, plenty of room for our 4 adults. The view of the volcano was incredible, we could see it smoldering when the clouds lifted! The free breakfast offered in the mornings was more than adequate. The staff were all friendly and helpful too. They also had beautiful gardens and landscaping. We took a dunk into the pool and hot tub, very nice also. The price seemed reasonable when compared to other local accommodations, $110/night for 4 people, 2 double beds. The beds were a little firmer than I would have liked, but for only two nights, it did the job. We had a very nice front porch where we had chips, salsa, and beers before going to dinner at night. We were also less than 5 mins. from downtown area of La Fortuna, so easy to get to eating establishments and shopping. The Policia stopped us on our first day into town right after we parked, we were obviously tourists, he just wanted to point out to us that we should never leave passports, cameras, purses, cell phones, etc. in view. Very friendly, and especially nice to go out of his way to make this point, considering he spoke almost no English.

Room Tip: I think every room on the premises probably has a view of the volcano. We chose a bungalow, spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

La Pradera has an amazing view of Arenal Volcano. There is a pretty garden with lots of different birds that we got some great photos of. The pool and jacuzzis are in great condition and one of them, under a roof, is huge! The room was good, nothing special though. It takes only about 20 minutes to get there and Baldi hot springs are within walking distance. The service here is great. You can book tours through the front desk easily. The restaurant is good, a bit pricey though. Breakfast is included with a reservation and portions are big and food is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had an excellent stay in April 2012. Our cabin was very clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable and there was air conditioning. The view of the volcano is great, like most hotels in the area. The grounds were beautiful, lots of flowers and landscaping. The pool was very clean and attractive. We also enjoyed the hot tub. It was a good location from town and excursions. We took a taxi for 4 dollars into town one evening. It was approx 5-10 minutes down the road. The breakfast was excellent - lots of food and delicious. The buffet was especially great!! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin rather than the motel type rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel was nice (not fancy) and had a view of the volcano. The room and bathroom were clean - had AC, hot water, tv, a refrigerator and view of the volcano. The restaurant was expensive. Breakfast was included with our room - choice of "tico", american or continental breakfasts were available. There was wifi and a computer in the reception area, but no wifi in the room. The gardens were pretty and there was a pool and hot tub. Good deal. There is a parking lot and the hotel is a short drive to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel La Pradera for 3 nights in late September. The rooms had amazing views of the volcano! You literally woke up to see the beautiful volcano right outside of your window and all rooms had two nice rocking chairs outside your room to enjoy the view. The grounds were very clean as was the room. The room was basic, but had a refridgerator, TV and comfortable bed. We too, were looking more for a place to come after a full day of excursions and this fit the bill. Loved that this place was a little outside of town (maybe a mile walk or really cheap cab ride) to enjoy the quait peacefulness. There was a nice pool and hot tub with views of the volcano and beautiful kept grounds with all kinds of flowers, hummingbirds, butterflys and peacocks! Free internet access, friendly staff, and filling breakfast. The breakfast was amazing here!!! 3-4 different choices to choose from. Would come back to this hotel and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbins, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a wonderful, beautiful place to stay for the price. You have an excellent view of the volcano and the pool area is gorgeous. If you stay, do not let them call a taxi for you. Go out on the street and call your own. Our first day, we had them call a taxi to take us into La Fortuna, and since my daughter had been to the area before, she knew what to expect. When we got closer to town, the meter started going faster, so we asked to pull over and pay. We found another taxi on the way back, and it was half the price for the same trip. This driver spoke English and gave us his personal cell number to call if we needed him. When we needed a taxi the next day, we went to the front desk to ask them to call our driver, but they said he was busy. We told them that we would wait because we only wanted him. During this time they called someone else and as soon as we got in the taxi, the meter was already up to $8.00 and we hadn't even left the hotel. We told the cab driver to change the meter, but he wouldn't, so we got out. The hotel staff asked what was wrong, and we told him that we were not paying for that taxi. He said he had to run the meter when we placed the call. Do not fall for that line....so we asked for them to call for our drivier again, and they said he was not available. We walked to another hotel, asked them to call our driver and he arrived. We asked if he had received any calls from our hotel and he said that no one had called him. The hotel is making money off of their own special cab drivers. Take the time and walk somewhere else to get a taxi.

Room Tip: Put a towel under your door, because a gecko was in our room "barking" at night. We got h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pradera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.