We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Pradera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Pradera
2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had an excellent stay in April 2012. Our cabin was very clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable and there was air conditioning. The view of the volcano is great, like most hotels in the area. The grounds were beautiful, lots of flowers and landscaping. The pool was very clean and attractive. We also enjoyed the hot tub. It was a good location from town and excursions. We took a taxi for 4 dollars into town one evening. It was approx 5-10 minutes down the road. The breakfast was excellent - lots of food and delicious. The buffet was especially great!! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin rather than the motel type rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    96
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
38
118
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel was nice (not fancy) and had a view of the volcano. The room and bathroom were clean - had AC, hot water, tv, a refrigerator and view of the volcano. The restaurant was expensive. Breakfast was included with our room - choice of "tico", american or continental breakfasts were available. There was wifi and a computer in the reception area, but no wifi in the room. The gardens were pretty and there was a pool and hot tub. Good deal. There is a parking lot and the hotel is a short drive to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel La Pradera for 3 nights in late September. The rooms had amazing views of the volcano! You literally woke up to see the beautiful volcano right outside of your window and all rooms had two nice rocking chairs outside your room to enjoy the view. The grounds were very clean as was the room. The room was basic, but had a refridgerator, TV and comfortable bed. We too, were looking more for a place to come after a full day of excursions and this fit the bill. Loved that this place was a little outside of town (maybe a mile walk or really cheap cab ride) to enjoy the quait peacefulness. There was a nice pool and hot tub with views of the volcano and beautiful kept grounds with all kinds of flowers, hummingbirds, butterflys and peacocks! Free internet access, friendly staff, and filling breakfast. The breakfast was amazing here!!! 3-4 different choices to choose from. Would come back to this hotel and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbins, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a wonderful, beautiful place to stay for the price. You have an excellent view of the volcano and the pool area is gorgeous. If you stay, do not let them call a taxi for you. Go out on the street and call your own. Our first day, we had them call a taxi to take us into La Fortuna, and since my daughter had been to the area before, she knew what to expect. When we got closer to town, the meter started going faster, so we asked to pull over and pay. We found another taxi on the way back, and it was half the price for the same trip. This driver spoke English and gave us his personal cell number to call if we needed him. When we needed a taxi the next day, we went to the front desk to ask them to call our driver, but they said he was busy. We told them that we would wait because we only wanted him. During this time they called someone else and as soon as we got in the taxi, the meter was already up to $8.00 and we hadn't even left the hotel. We told the cab driver to change the meter, but he wouldn't, so we got out. The hotel staff asked what was wrong, and we told him that we were not paying for that taxi. He said he had to run the meter when we placed the call. Do not fall for that line....so we asked for them to call for our drivier again, and they said he was not available. We walked to another hotel, asked them to call our driver and he arrived. We asked if he had received any calls from our hotel and he said that no one had called him. The hotel is making money off of their own special cab drivers. Take the time and walk somewhere else to get a taxi.

Room Tip: Put a towel under your door, because a gecko was in our room "barking" at night. We got h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just spent two nights there and it's a very good place especially with the special rate. Breakfast on the week-end is great. The restaurant is VERY expensive but if you have a car, there are so many other options in La Fortuna. The pool is wonderful and the view on the volcano is unbelievable ! Best place closest to the volcano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

On the surface this hotel looks really cool with the private cabins, central location, great view of the volcano, and wonderfully maintained landscaping. However, the negatives of this hotel negate almost all of the positives. Our room was infested with ants and spiders but luckily the geckos would crawl under the door and through the gaps in the wood slats in the walls to feed throughout the night while we tried to sleep. The constant chirping of the geckos in our room throughout the night made it very difficult to sleep. Not to mention, having lizards crawling on the walls and floors in the dark was kind of creepy. The beds were uncomfortable and worn, with dingy thin sheets through which you could see and smell the mattress. The decor was extremely dated, making the cabin more shabby than rustic. There were large gaps in the wood slat walls that allowed geckos and bugs to pass freely. Also, in the morning the sunlight would stream through the openings in the walls. It was odd that underneath our cabin and those on either side of us there was a significant amount of garage and debris. There was an old rusty telephone booth, a bike, paint cans, garage bags, shoes, just about anything you can image. The front of the cabin had greenery that blocked the view but when sitting on the porch or walking up the steps the array of discarded items were in plan view. If you decided to stay at this hotel I would recommend that you stay in a traditional room over the private cabins. The traditional rooms appeared to be in better condition without the problems of the less than desirable cabins.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Locate just outside of La Fortuna (~30 min walk to town), before you get to the big hot $pring resort$. Inexpensive choice, free breakfast and wifi, clean rooms with TV, private porch with volcano view, or relax at the end of the day in the pool and jaccuzzi, also with view of the volcano. Friendly staff, although some had trouble with english. They run ATV tours off the property, but since I was out exploring most of the day, didn't bother me.
Decent restaurant onsite. There are also a couple of others within a few minutes walk, so you don't need to make the trek to town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pradera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.