We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Pradera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel La Pradera
2 Km from La Fortuna, on the way to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Manzanillo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just spent two nights there and it's a very good place especially with the special rate. Breakfast on the week-end is great. The restaurant is VERY expensive but if you have a car, there are so many other options in La Fortuna. The pool is wonderful and the view on the volcano is unbelievable ! Best place closest to the volcano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    87
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
110
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

On the surface this hotel looks really cool with the private cabins, central location, great view of the volcano, and wonderfully maintained landscaping. However, the negatives of this hotel negate almost all of the positives. Our room was infested with ants and spiders but luckily the geckos would crawl under the door and through the gaps in the wood slats in the walls to feed throughout the night while we tried to sleep. The constant chirping of the geckos in our room throughout the night made it very difficult to sleep. Not to mention, having lizards crawling on the walls and floors in the dark was kind of creepy. The beds were uncomfortable and worn, with dingy thin sheets through which you could see and smell the mattress. The decor was extremely dated, making the cabin more shabby than rustic. There were large gaps in the wood slat walls that allowed geckos and bugs to pass freely. Also, in the morning the sunlight would stream through the openings in the walls. It was odd that underneath our cabin and those on either side of us there was a significant amount of garage and debris. There was an old rusty telephone booth, a bike, paint cans, garage bags, shoes, just about anything you can image. The front of the cabin had greenery that blocked the view but when sitting on the porch or walking up the steps the array of discarded items were in plan view. If you decided to stay at this hotel I would recommend that you stay in a traditional room over the private cabins. The traditional rooms appeared to be in better condition without the problems of the less than desirable cabins.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Locate just outside of La Fortuna (~30 min walk to town), before you get to the big hot $pring resort$. Inexpensive choice, free breakfast and wifi, clean rooms with TV, private porch with volcano view, or relax at the end of the day in the pool and jaccuzzi, also with view of the volcano. Friendly staff, although some had trouble with english. They run ATV tours off the property, but since I was out exploring most of the day, didn't bother me.
Decent restaurant onsite. There are also a couple of others within a few minutes walk, so you don't need to make the trek to town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife, daughter, and I went to the La Pradera on the advice of a friend. The stay overall was excellent. The accomodations were simple, but clean. The beds were comfortable, the cabin was spotlessly clean (the maid did an excellent job and made some of those "towel sculptures" as a nice touch), and the air conditioner worked well. The water pressure was so-so, but enough to shower in. The staff receptionists (Norabeth, Joanna, and Ebony) were very polite, and tended to several requests we had (calling a taxi, checking on shuttles, etc.). Despite my lack of Spanish expertise, we were all able to communicate, and the experience was pleasant. The same can be said for Jacqueline the waitress- a very pleasant tica who did a good job. The food in the restaurant was good, and the fruit (especially the locally grown pineapple) was out of this world.The hotel grounds and scenery all around is breathtaking in its beauty. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an affordable yet pleasant lodging experience.

Room Tip: We had one of the cabins, and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The was the first time I had stayed at La Pradera. This hotel came highly recommended from our friends in Manuel Antonio and they were right! We arrived late afternoon and all of our rooms were ready and were very clean. We had 5 rooms. The staff was super friendly, the room super clean, and the restaurant staff was wonderful! The first day we arrived it was raining and the volcano was not visable due to the cloud cover, however the next morning when we awoke and stepped outside our front door, the Volcano was crystal clear without a cloud in sight! WOW!!! Amazing view! The grounds of this hotel were well manicured and we were very impressed with the large hot tub and beautiful swimming pool. We would definately stay here again if in this area!
Thank you for making our trip a memorable one!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first row next to the pool have the best view of the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

During our travels around Costa Rica, we were very fortunate to stay for 2 nights at Hotel La Pradera. Our bungalow, while surrounded on either side by other bungalows in close proximity, seemed very secluded. The hotel grounds were beautifully maintained with the added bonus of a pool & jacuzzi. The food in the restaurant was delicious, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The best part about this hotel is the view of Arenal. We were able to enjoy the view from our private porch!! Highly recommend staying here if you visit the area!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel had been recommended and booked for us by Carlos Jimenez, of Monteverde Welcome Center and Casa Batsu. It was an excellent recommendation. We had a superior room facing Arenal Volcano, which loomed above us. We had a beautiful garden right outside our door and only a short walk to the swimming pool and huge outdoor jacuzzi. Our large room had very comfortable beds, a refrigerator, and the huge bath had hot and cold running water (not always available in Costa Rican hotels) and a combination jacuzzi, bathtub and shower. The complimentary breakfasts were quite good as well. You could have your choice of an American, Costa Rican or Continental breakfast. We were close to a laundry and Baldi Hot Springs and Resort. We think that this was an excellent location on the main highway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 2 Km from La Fortuna, on the way to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pradera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.