We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely place to stay! Amazing view, clean rooms and great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Pradera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel La Pradera
2 Km from La Fortuna | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very lovely place to stay! Amazing view, clean rooms and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The place is lovely. Even if the hotel is by the road, it was always serene… well except for the five minutes that it takes to start the RCs and to take them to the road. The internet was fast, the ice machine always was full and the place was kept constantly clean. We had the rooms that were just by the pool and the view of the volcano was incredible! (Tip: ask for a room near the end of the row, from 35th to 40th). These rooms have two full beds; they were very comfortable with two pillows each and a nice comforter. The A/C worked very well with no noise or water splashing! BIG plus there! The little fridge is perfect for drinks and to keep things cool… not iced-cold, ok. Plus, there’s a coffee maker, alarm clock and a TV with many channels to choose from. The bathroom was nice; the shower area BIG! There was a small hairdryer and a stand to place belongings. BUG ALERT: While on my room I was constantly visited by Atta ants (Big red leafcutter ants) Never been bitten by one thank the Lord!.. a little bug repellant on your door should keep them away, it worked with me! The room is cleaned on a daily basis, and fresh towels are place in your beds, folded origami styled!
The pool area has a small Jacuzzi for kids, a normal one for adults and this amazing heated-water Jacuzzi that we just couldn’t get out from! After a day touring it is the perfect spot to relax sipping a drink or two while overlooking the volcano… , there are tables and beach chairs to bask.
We found the breakfast variety quite good and delicious! The food for lunch and dinner were diverse too! We enjoy almost all the menu options. The restaurant area was very open and cozy, and the service was fast!
The overall service in the hotel was great! They are very attentive and willing to help.
I would definitely visit again. This place might not be 5 stars, but the charm and service are better than some fancy places I have been, and there treats are more than enough for me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    87
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
110
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubac, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed in one of their bungalows. They aren't the most beautiful rooms, but they were clean. And talk about incredible views WOW! This hotel is family runned and has a super friendly staff that let us in on some local deals. We had breakfast everymorning, the food was cooked to order and delicious. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights with my GF for our adventure trip to La Fortuna. It was just what we needed. The hotel was centrally located for our plans/activities (we went to La Fortuna Waterfall, zip lining, Arenal volcano tour and to the hot springs). Room was clean (had a/c, hot water, tv), staff was ok, breakfast was good, pool/jacuzzi were excellent with a nice view of the volcano. Our room also had a great view of the volcano too. This is the place if you need a warm bath and a clean room after a day of activities.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

we stay there for 2 nights, and every times i got out off the room i was amazed by the nice view on the volcano Arenal. I think that for the price it was a good value and the breakfast was good. The room where nice and clean , great distance from the town if you have a car . We have been lucky that one day a guy from the staff came next to the pool whit 2 parrots and i have been able to feed them and old them in my hands it was really a nice experience overall the staff was friendly and helpful. Little inside if you want to do the hiking for the volcano stop at the first entry before the national park the trail are cool and a good part of it is all volcano rock from the eruption of 1968 .

Room Tip: I didnt had the cabinas but it think that i would be cool because the room are close from each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

La Fortuna definitely is one of those places you have to visit if you come to Costa Rica however due its fame it is also one of those places where you spend more. Prices, as usual, do not necessarily meet the quality criteria but we were happy when we found Holtel La Pradera.

Like most of the hotels in the area it was erected on former cattle pastures and is runned by families. We wanted to stay in one of the more private bungalows but they were all occupied so we stayed in a standard room which was quite adequate for our needs.

The whole La Fortuna area is like a big play ground for either those pursuing some adrenaline rush or paused activities thus the less we wanted to do was to stay in a bedroom watching TV i.e., however if you are active travelers like us you already know how rewarding is to have a descent mattress to lay on at night.

We had only breakfasts (included in the overnight rate) at the hotel, the options are not many nor plentiful but very tasty. If you are planing to have a day full of adventure you may need a hearty “Gallo Pinto” to keep your energy up until your next meal.

For those arriving by public transportation may find its proximity to La Fortuna town (2 Km) very convenient. Most restaurants, stores and tour operator offices are there. The direct view to the Arenal volcano (at least from the Garden rooms) complement the overall experience at this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Fantastic place to stay! The staff were all friendly and the grounds were beautiful. Some language barriers, but nothing that couldn't be worked out. Free internet on one computer. Cab rides are fast and cheap, so no big deal being 2km from town., but there are bars and shopping within walking distance of the hotel if you didn't want to go into town. There are two friendly parrots that live there! The booze at the bar/restaurant is a little limited. The menu is reasonably priced and the food is large portions and very flavorful! This was the only hotel that remembered and was on time for wake up calls. The rooms are basic but have a T.V. and air conditioning, and a mini fridge. Oh, and they have an ice machine, which is a bonus as many hotels didn't have one. We would stay there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The service was wonderful and I would highly recommend the hotel. The room was neat and clean. We stayed in room 30 which had a jacuzzi tub, which was great after the hike. As for the breakfast, it was delicious. The best rice and beans I ever had. The bread pudding was so good. I also enjoyed the parrots that were there for breakfast. Thank you all for such great service.
N. Chris Gargoff and Chanock Richka

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 2 Km from La Fortuna | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pradera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.