We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL!! Highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Save Saved
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“AMAZING HOTEL!! Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

This hotel was the best on our 10 day trip around CR. We stayed in the honeymoon suite on top of the hill and throughly enjoyed our room. We were thankful to have such an accomodating room as it rained for 24 hours while were there. The staff was great and the food was even better! The pizza made in the brick oven was SOOO scrumptious. A must have if you are staying here. My parents enjoyed the fact that I was able to call them daily during our stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    128
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
93
182
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We enjoyed the Arenal Volcano Inn because the staff was friendly and the hot tub was great!! We had arrived late due to some weather complications and after a loooooong ride on Interbus, but we were led to our room and the maintenance guy turned on the jacuzzi bubbles so all we had to do was put on our bathing suits, grab some alcohol from the mini bar and relax!! After three quarters of a bottle of red wine, I certainly felt loose. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and that thin little hamburger never tasted so good. It had two pieces of American cheese. Our server, Andres was very attentive and used my boyfriends name so many times we could have left rich if a quarter came with each admonition except we gave it all back to him in tips anyway. Since it was late when we arrived, the volcano was not visible and we didn't even know what direction is was from our room until I opened the door the next morning and practically tripped on the view!! Awesomely beautiful!! Amazingly glorious! Super majestic! Like totally magical and I think I heard the angels singing lava la la la lava la la la. It was definitely an OMG moment! The grounds were immaculate and the hotel is well maintained. I would stay here again if travelling in Costa Rica. I recommend the Arenal Volcano Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attu Island, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

This was one of our favorite hotels. The owner walked with us to show us the rooms and was very kind and helpful. The staff was incredible also. The food at their restaurant was extraordinary and we enjoyed the plants and scenery around the complex. We paid $65 for two people. This is a must stay. Visit their website, stay and you wont be disappointed. Free and safe parking, Free phone calls to the USA, Free internet!! Great Pizza!!! Great location and comfortable!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Located right at the base of Arenal Volcano. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with hundreds of tropical plants. Each unit is a spacious single unit seperate building with a front porch with rockers, the front door and a large picture window are all facing facing the volcano with unobstructed views. Located just a couple of miles from La Fortuna and all the shops and restaurants in the town area. The meals at this hotel are mostly buffet with a good selection for each meal. Excellent pizzas baked in a brick kiln. Prices are more than reasonable for room , food and drinks. Our group was drinking Bohemia beers for $2.00, Blue Margaritas for $3.00, Assorted mixed exotic and hard liquor drinks for $4.00, Premium liquors and wiskeys like Jack Daniel Black Bourbon with cokes for $5.00 each including the tips.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

It is truly a small hidden gem. Staff is super friendly . The place is quiet and relaxing and the food is really good. Excellent views of the volcano!!!
Very good price. I'll definitely go back again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

My husband and I rented a car and drove around costa rica for our honeymoon. Most of our time was spent in Papagayo, but we drove to Arenal for the last two days of our trip. I am so happy we did it!

The Inn is a fantastic place to stay. The prices were so good, we decided to rent the deluxe jacuzzi suite for our stay. The room was amazing. The bed faces the front wall which is all windows. So you can sit in bed and enjoy the incredible views of Arenal. The bathroom was awesome and nice and bright.

It is a small place, only about 30 rooms. I loved it because it had that small, quaint feel to it. There were not a lot of people. So it was peaceful. The grounds were very well taken care of. The pool was wonderful and some time in the hottub was the perfect end to the day. The spa is incredible! I received the best hot stone massage I have ever had in my life. Words really can't describe it. My husband finished his massage (a deep tissue massage that he said was awesome) before I was done mine. He couldn't believe the look on my face when I walked out.

The restaurant was very nice. The food was good, but the dessert was the best!

The hotel is in a prime spot, just a few minutes down the road from La Fortuna and a few minutes the other way from the Arenal park entrance and the hot springs.

The front desk staff were so wonderful. They were so helpful! They held our bags for us in a locked room while we went ziplining. We showed up early hoping that some how our room would be ready. Since it wasn't, they offered to hold them for us so that they didn't sit in our car. They also gave us great recommendations of places to go visit in town and the best places to view the volcano.

This is a wonderful place at a great price. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel was very clean and beautiful. Staff was very friendly and helpful. we used spa facility at the hotel. it was very good and reasonable. Location of a hotel is convenient because it is close to volcano and tabacon hot springs. Hotel restaurant had good food. We loved the hotel..It was a great value for the money we spent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.