We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staying at the Arenal Volcano Inn in August. Had a Volcano View and were lucky enough to see the top for 20 minutes one afternoon. There is quite abit of bird life around the rooms hummingbirds etc. Room was very clean, as was the restaurant. The breakfast was extremely good, alot of variety and the hot food was hot not lukewarm!! We also ate here in the evenings as it was so good and reasonable. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    145
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
97
209
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our trip was very short but the service here was very nice and the people were friendly the room was satisfactory and overall a very beautiful resort. Food was food enough and the new walk around the resort is very pretty. The swimming pool and the jacuzzi makes it better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice set io. Lots if walking within property. Each room like a little cabanas with sitting area/ patio and wonderius views or the volcano. The deluxe are higher up for nicer view but that means steeper walks. Little kitchen type area with a sink; refrigerator; counter. And mini trudge is stocked. Coffee in room is free; others for sale. Breakfast is included: breads; cereal; yogurt ; pancakes; eggs; potatoes; Gallo pinto ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. When we entered we had a great room with a fabulous view. Every morning when we would come back from our day tours we would find a beautifully towel crafted animal and flowers on the bed. The food was good and the service was very good. I would have preferred to see a little more variety in the lunch and dinner menus, and the meals were very much americanized which I found a little disappointing. The pools and hot tubs were wonderful and it is in a nice central location, close to many attractions and amenities which allowed us to easily venture out and visit a few local restaurants and see the sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in Arenal volcano inn hotel Arenal cost rica ,very nice place to stay , very nice surrounding ,greenery ,nice swimming pool , open jacuzzi . We stayed there for two days visiting volcano site other outdoor activity . Hotel service good with nice big place for breakfast , must to visit this place & hotel, it was like resort with all facilities of spa . We stayed in cottage type of rooms .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I spent our week long honeymoon at this hotel, and it was amazing. Clear views of the Volcano, beautiful flowers and landscaping, clean rooms, friendly and incredibly helpful staff, safe location... all for a very affordable price.

We stayed in one of the standard superior rooms - it was very comfortable with ample space for what we needed. Had an easy to use safe, refrigerator, and wall AC. The food at the on-site restaurant was also better than my expectations (which were pretty high!). The buffet breakfast was the same every morning, but given the variety and freshness of the food that was OK with us. We ate dinner there two nights and all the meals (including pizza, pasta, and fish) were excellent. The staff was very helpful in arranging taxis for trips to the nearby town of La Fortuna ($10 10 minute taxi ride from the hotel) and also booking tours for us during our stay. One of the ladies even gave us some fresh local fruit to try! The cleaning services were also very thorough, and the maid left us a unique towel design with rose petals everytime she cleaned! As far as amenities go, the jacuzzi was also very warm and comfortable.

I only had a few minor complaints. The pool was a little colder than I was expecting it to be considering the warm daytime temperatures (but it was refreshing!). Also, the beds were comfortable, but not the best I've ever slept on. We also had a few critters visit our room during our stay, including a few beetles, a couple flies, a trail of ants (my fault for leaving a fresh pineapple lying on the floor!), and a small lizard. This isn't the hotels fault, but fyi you are in Costa Rica, so don't expect to be completely isolated from nature. :)

Overall we had an amazing stay here. I don't have much to compare it to since we did not stay anywhere else, but if you are traveling to La Fortuna I would highly recommend this place. Here's a quick summary of our stay.

Pros:
-Friendly & helpful staff
-Comfortable accommodations
-Beautiful location and views
-Good food & reasonably priced dinners
-Nice jacuzzi
-Quiet atmosphere (we didn't hear our neighbors or have any problems with noise during our stay)

Cons:
-A few visiting critters
-Cold(ish) pool temperature
-So,so bed comfort level

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights and had a great time!

The good:
-Rooms were clean and spacious, with wi-fi and air conditioning
-Beautiful views of the volcano and surrounding areas
-Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful
-Grounds and pool were well kept
-Restaurant onsite has great menu for lunch and dinner, and a delicious complimentary breakfast buffet

The bad:
-This hotel is not very close to the town of La Fortuna

Bottom line: I would absolutely recommend staying the the Arenal Volcano Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.