We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy bueno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Muy bueno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our trip was very short but the service here was very nice and the people were friendly the room was satisfactory and overall a very beautiful resort. Food was food enough and the new walk around the resort is very pretty. The swimming pool and the jacuzzi makes it better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    170
    36
    5
    0
See reviews for
113
242
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ca.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice set io. Lots if walking within property. Each room like a little cabanas with sitting area/ patio and wonderius views or the volcano. The deluxe are higher up for nicer view but that means steeper walks. Little kitchen type area with a sink; refrigerator; counter. And mini trudge is stocked. Coffee in room is free; others for sale. Breakfast is included: breads; cereal; yogurt ; pancakes; eggs; potatoes; Gallo pinto ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. When we entered we had a great room with a fabulous view. Every morning when we would come back from our day tours we would find a beautifully towel crafted animal and flowers on the bed. The food was good and the service was very good. I would have preferred to see a little more variety in the lunch and dinner menus, and the meals were very much americanized which I found a little disappointing. The pools and hot tubs were wonderful and it is in a nice central location, close to many attractions and amenities which allowed us to easily venture out and visit a few local restaurants and see the sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in Arenal volcano inn hotel Arenal cost rica ,very nice place to stay , very nice surrounding ,greenery ,nice swimming pool , open jacuzzi . We stayed there for two days visiting volcano site other outdoor activity . Hotel service good with nice big place for breakfast , must to visit this place & hotel, it was like resort with all facilities of spa . We stayed in cottage type of rooms .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I spent our week long honeymoon at this hotel, and it was amazing. Clear views of the Volcano, beautiful flowers and landscaping, clean rooms, friendly and incredibly helpful staff, safe location... all for a very affordable price.

We stayed in one of the standard superior rooms - it was very comfortable with ample space for what we needed. Had an easy to use safe, refrigerator, and wall AC. The food at the on-site restaurant was also better than my expectations (which were pretty high!). The buffet breakfast was the same every morning, but given the variety and freshness of the food that was OK with us. We ate dinner there two nights and all the meals (including pizza, pasta, and fish) were excellent. The staff was very helpful in arranging taxis for trips to the nearby town of La Fortuna ($10 10 minute taxi ride from the hotel) and also booking tours for us during our stay. One of the ladies even gave us some fresh local fruit to try! The cleaning services were also very thorough, and the maid left us a unique towel design with rose petals everytime she cleaned! As far as amenities go, the jacuzzi was also very warm and comfortable.

I only had a few minor complaints. The pool was a little colder than I was expecting it to be considering the warm daytime temperatures (but it was refreshing!). Also, the beds were comfortable, but not the best I've ever slept on. We also had a few critters visit our room during our stay, including a few beetles, a couple flies, a trail of ants (my fault for leaving a fresh pineapple lying on the floor!), and a small lizard. This isn't the hotels fault, but fyi you are in Costa Rica, so don't expect to be completely isolated from nature. :)

Overall we had an amazing stay here. I don't have much to compare it to since we did not stay anywhere else, but if you are traveling to La Fortuna I would highly recommend this place. Here's a quick summary of our stay.

Pros:
-Friendly & helpful staff
-Comfortable accommodations
-Beautiful location and views
-Good food & reasonably priced dinners
-Nice jacuzzi
-Quiet atmosphere (we didn't hear our neighbors or have any problems with noise during our stay)

Cons:
-A few visiting critters
-Cold(ish) pool temperature
-So,so bed comfort level

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights and had a great time!

The good:
-Rooms were clean and spacious, with wi-fi and air conditioning
-Beautiful views of the volcano and surrounding areas
-Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful
-Grounds and pool were well kept
-Restaurant onsite has great menu for lunch and dinner, and a delicious complimentary breakfast buffet

The bad:
-This hotel is not very close to the town of La Fortuna

Bottom line: I would absolutely recommend staying the the Arenal Volcano Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were in love with this place from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by very friendly staff who remained helpful and gracious throughout our entire visit! The grounds are very well manicured and include a beautiful jacuzzi and pool, as well as complete spa packages on site.

The best part of our stay was the beautifully decorated and clean bungalow that sat atop the grounds and provided an amazing view of the Arenal volcano. We were lucky enough to wake up on several occasions to clear skies and see the top of Arenal - a perfect way to start any day full of exciting adventures.

The restaurant staff were very attentive and had some wonderful options for breakfast and dinner. It was the perfect location for all that we wanted to do while visiting La Fortuna and reception was very accommodating in contacting the right people to get us to where we needed to be that day.

Thank you to the entire staff - you helped make our trip a very memorable one! I will definitely be recommending Arenal Volcano Inn to all my friends and family planning to visit this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bungalows at the top of the hill for the best sites of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.