We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Save Saved
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed at other properties in the area. I based my evaluation on how this hotel compared to everything else I've experienced. It was very, very nice. It's starting to show its age a little, but beautiful views of the volcano.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review about Arenal Volcano Inn. We especially liked the heading of Excellent Hotel you gave us. Thank you for this. On your review you mention that the hotel is starting to show its age a little, so I wanted to let you know that we are in the process of a very important renovation. We recently changed all our TVs to LCD 32'' in our deluxe rooms and have allot of more positive changes coming. Most of this changes should be ready by June 30th, so hopefully on your next visit you may see some visible results.
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    126
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
90
182
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I enjoyed myself so much. I was treated with respect and even though my Spanish was not that great, the hotel staff like Margarita, Andrea, Javier, and Fernanda took their time to understand what I was saying, muy excellente servicio y gente personas. Alexandra also did a wonderful job keeping the room I was staying in clean and changing the bed daily and replacing the towels, and etc. Spanish is the primary language in the community, but everyone has so much patience. And after they help you, they end the conversation with "much gusto" which means my pleasure. It feels good to receive customer service at their best. The people are honest, I gave too much Costa Rican money to the hotel staff and they gave me my money back. Please note, the mini bar in the room are for purchases, so if you eat anything from the bar, be prepared to pay at checkout. The "Que Rico" restaurant is muy excellente servico y comida. The prices are cheap. The view is beautiful, buena vista. I enjoyed watching the smoke leave the volcano. Also, go to costa rica descents for activities such as the Volcano Hike, Rafting, Zip Lining, and so on. The shuttle will pick you up from the hotel. Enjoy your trip, I sure did!!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Guest,
Muchas Gracias por su lindo comentario donde menciona algunos de los nombres de nuestro sus amigos en Arenal Volcano Inn. Para ellos es muy motivante cuando alguien escribe un comentario positivo y en especial cuando los menciona en el mismo. Thank you for all your positive input and we look forward to see you in the near future.
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this property as part of a week long tour with Gate 1 Travel. The rooms were spacious and even had a kitchen "nook" with counterspace and fridge. The property itself is beautifully landscaped with a nice view of the volcano. They offered us a deal at the spa which we jumped on, which was more reasonably priced than anything I've had in the States. The staff was wonderful. I already want to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I extended my trip in Costa Rica and was now traveling alone and had caught a cold. Imagine my surprise when I called for room service hoping (but no way expecting) to get some chicken noodle soup. But they had it! Chicken vegetable soup which they also served with a side of rice (without my even asking for it). Couldn't have been better served than if I was back home.

To top it off, upon learning that I was under the weather, the manager took the initiative to call me to let me know that if I needed anything at all, he was just a phone call away. And that even though he left work at 9PM, if I called after that I would reach security who would then call him on my behalf. Now that's service!

This doesn't even get into why I initially picked this hotel. Not needing to stay at one of the super fancy hotels in this area (after checking out several) I drove by this one which stood out from most of the others. Modern construction with individual houses, it was a really nice place at a really good price--a true value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is so beautiful, you can look out the window or step out side and see Arenal, when it is not cloudy or raining, but still awesome, pretty open place to walk around, and very quite, and peaceful surroundings. The restaurant, really good very good food and drink, the rooms are excellent, very clean, and open and bright, and your just down the road from Tabacon hot springs, I will be staying at Arenal Volcano Inn again on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Be a great place to go bird watching, must have seen about 10 to 12 different birds, and that was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was amazing. It was at the foot of the volcano and all the cottages had views of the volcano. The grounds were immaculately kept and had a nice pool and hot tub. The restaurant was nice and the food good. Happy hour at the bar was good, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your opinion of Arenal Volcano Inn. We are all very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will continue on our effort to improve not only our service but also our facilities.
We look forward to having you visiting us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Can not say enough great things about this Inn. The staff was AMAZING, so nice, so friendly, so helpful. The breakfast (which we got included) was my favorite of our entire trip! Our room was not fancy, but very clean. You couldn't hear any of the other people, just wildlife. We saw the most birds out of all of our tours around the grounds here. Also, every bungalow has a view of the volcano, not a small view, you're close and it's awesome!! We went in April and the weather was perfect, not scalding hot, nice breezes and scents.

Only drawback, the lunch/dinner menu is Americana and expensive. Recommend doing breakfast and having the other meals locally!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.