We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. The people were extremely helpful and the hotel is very reasonably priced ($96 US for one night for all of us) We were in Costa Rica for the first time and decided to visit the Arenal Volcano first during our trip. We did not book a hotel because we had read on Trip Advisor that room standards were questionable in this area. We decided to figure it out when we got there. People were right, the rooms standards are different. When we got to this hotel (after checking out 9 other 3-5 star hotels) we were pleasantly surprised. The people were very nice and extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is even a bottle of wine and a mini bar to make things easier. The rooms are set up as small cottages and they were able to accomodate our entire family of six (2 adults and four kids ages 13, 10, 5, & 2). They helped us book our canopy tour as well as hot springs. They also helped us plan our travel for the next few days calling different places in Costa Rica for lodging and to book surf lessons for our children. They even told us which roads were safer and easier to travel on (we rented a car at San Jose), and they were right. We will defintely visit this hotel again and again in the future whenever we visit Arenal Volcano.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for all your positive input. We also enjoyed very much having you as our guests and definetily hope to have you visiting us again soon. If it would be posible to do review about guests I will also say you are Fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    157
    32
    5
    0
See reviews for
100
223
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Grounds are beautiful. Rooms are spacious with air-conditioning. Swimming pool on site. Restaurant very pleasant with great service. Staff here go out of their way to be helpful - they packed a breakfast for us the night before as we were leaving at 5:00am! Wonderful views of volcano when clear. Extremely close to Baldi Hot Springs and Arenal Lake. We visited La Fortuna, Baldi Hot Springs, the hanging bridges, the volcano observatory. All were easily accessed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time of sharing your recent experience at Arenal Volcano Inn. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed so much your stay with us and will love to have you visiting us again in the near future.
On behalf of the entire Arenal Volcano Inn team we thank you for all your positive comments.
Sincerely,
Hernan Cordero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a 10 days tour of Costa Rica.
While the hotel is a bit old and relatively spartan, but the ground is beautiful.
All the staffs were great. We had 2 breakfasts and dinners in the hotel. Food was excellent, service very good. We had 44 people for the first dinner, service was still good. We had dinner again on our second night, the waiter even still remembered that my wife only drinks hot water.
Definitely would recommend this gem.
It is an older place, cottage style room, but has A/C, Wi-Fi, and coffee maker in room.
We spent quite a bit of time just sitting outside our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Is it the nicest hotel here? No, but it was fine for a couple of nights. Grounds nice, rooms decent, A/C good. Flowers attracting hummingbirds in abundance. Would I stay here again?, probably not, but it was fine otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Manager at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your comment, When you say that we are not the nicest hotel in Arenal I would say that I certainly agree with you, since there are luxury resorts with high prices that are very nice. In our category of hotels and price range we strongly believe we a very good alternative in the Arenal Area, but definetely will continuously sustain our effort to improve not only in our services but also in our infrastructure. I do hope if you come back to Arenal you come and visit us again so you may feel our effort to have happy returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a great two nights at the Arenal Volcano Inn, lovely grounds, and beautiful setting, pools were very well maintained, and great views from the windows towards the volcano, unfortunately covered in mist during our stay, but somewhat compensated for by the donkey serenade each evening. Staff was very helpful, and just need to be aware that the site is sloping, and can require a little effort to get to the reception and restarurant if in one of the lower cabin/rooms. Would definitely visit again if near La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Depending on fitness, may want a room nearer the reception area, vs. further down the slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

60 plus of my sisters closest friends and family attended her wedding at Arenal Volcano Inn over President's day weekend 2013. Hernan and Cesar and their staff were fantastic! They were friendly, cooperative, professional and made everyone feel welcome. It was the best experience ever. Not to mention the food was great! Without their attention to detail and professionalism the wedding day would have been a bust. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are great and the resort is paradise on earth. My friends and I are trying to figure out how soon we can return. If you don't ever visit, you are missing one of the best experiences of your life. MUCHAS GRACIAS!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room has an excellent view of the volcano. There are no bad room locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a great experience I had at Arenal Volcano Inn. It really was paradise on earth. The resort staff deserves 10 stars. I was there for a 3 day wedding and we had the whole resort rented out. The staff not only managed our high maintenance needs like a world class hotel would, but did it with 1st class treatment. The professionalism, genuine hospitality, big smiles and service was all exceptional, and the setting with the volcano and garden views were spectacular. I stayed for 3 days, wish it could have been 3 weeks. Thanks Arenal Volcano Inn!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.