We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Last minute deal 20% OFF
Certificate of Excellence
West Bend, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel offered a beautiful view of the volcano which was visible the first day that we were there. Beautiful gardens surround the rooms and the modern pool and jacuzzi. The restaurant was very nice with reasonable prices. The included breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    167
    34
    5
    0
See reviews for
110
237
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Really nice hotel, with absolutely cute private bungalows! Also the garden with flowers and hummingbirds was beautiful. The restaurant was also good. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

These private bungalows with patios facing Arenal Volcano are wonderful. The pathways through the property are lined with gorgeous flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds. The bungalows themselves are very nice and are so peaceful. The stars at night look like diamonds in the sky. Surprisingly, the restaurant is known for its wood fired pizza which is quite good. The included breakfast buffet is super and includes rice and beans, picadillo, eggs, yogurt, meat, cheese, empanadas, pancakes, toast, fresh fruit, cereal...in other words, a huge variety that should be able to satisfy anyone's wishes. I can't understand the reviews that say the breakfast offered a limited choice. I would definitely return to this inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 day stay here. Room was nice and we got a view of the Volcano without any clouds! Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Food was good in the restaurant. Breakfast was fine and they cooked eggs to order if you asked. Pool was nice and staff turned on hot tub on request. Would recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The staff was extremely helpful when we checked in and upgraded us for free. The hotel-area itself is nice and the restaurant has decent food, although the service seems a bit disorganized. The breakfast was disappointing, not much choice and they ran out of things and did not replace them even if there was 45minutes left of the breakfast service. If you don't have a car your are a little stuck on the premises.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Kaja D,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Arenal Volcano Inn and definitely hope to have you visiting us again in the future. We have taken all the necessary corrective measures to ensure that breakfast refills are done permanently to guarantee all guest may have a complete breakfast. My personal filosofy about serving breakfast is that I want very happy clients with our all you can eat breakfast and try to make sure my staff understands and works with the same filosofy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice apartment hotel with friendly staff. Wonderfully situated with a great view of Arenal (if not covered in clouds), with a helpful staff and easy acces to all the sites and tours. A definte yes if you want to visit Arenal! PS: also see Tabacon Hot Springs. Pricey, but definetaly worth it, especially at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I just left La Fortuna. Visited Nov 9 - 12. The room was wonderful. The gardens are lovely. Just wait for the hot water in the shower, there will be more hot water than you can use.I expect it had a great view of the Volcano, but we never saw it through the clouds.
Be careful about leaving crumbs or spilled drinks in the room as the ants will find them. We were in room 107. This was higher on the hill and nothing obstructed our view of the cloud covered volcano.
The pools were not warm enough to be in this time of year, but just ask the front desk to turn on the jucuzzi to enjoy a delightfull warm soak. We soaked at least once a day.
The breakfast is a free buffet. This is always good for people on the go. The food was great for lunch and dinner. We ate 2 lunches and 2 dinners here and enjoyed every one. The medium pizza is a little to large for a single person for lunch.
During our first night, the power went out while we were waiting to order dinner, The staff did not miss a beat. From flashlights, candles and cell phones, ordering continued. Our dinner was served promptly and tasted great, I took a picutre so that I would know what it looked like.
The hotel is too far from La Fortuna to walk. Taxi was 4000 colons ($8.00) there and 4500 colons back. Every souvenir shop in town sold the same stuff. Not really worth looking. Do go to town to eat. Good restaurants everywhere.

Spa - I had a 40 min, neck, back and shoulders massage the first night. THis was just average. Good pressure, I like pressure, but not very creative in movements. THe same person, gave me a pedicure. This was less than average. Very few colors to chose from and she couldn't paint within the lines.

Activities
Pure Trek Cayoneering. We rappelled 4 waterfalls. Great excitement and no one was hurt. The next day my husband and I climbed Cerra Chato, an extinct volcano, next to Arenal. It is $10 each to enter the park. THe trail to La Fotuna waterfall is next door and another $10 each to go there. They try to scare you about how hard it is, but it is short, 4 miles total. Unless you walk down to the lagoon, which is another 500 feet each way. We did not do this, was we were in a cloud and it was raining. THe taxi rider to Cerro Chato hike was $16 and the ride back was $18.
That evening we walked to Eco Terminales. This is not a commerical hot spring as you see Baldi and Tabacon. It is directly across the street from Baldi. The road is kind of scary and it doesn't look like a safe place until you are inside. It was wonderful. There was a waterfall, with several falls that create pools to sit in. Also, make sure you take in the top falls where you can go behind the falls. The falling water makes a good massage on the neck, shoulders and back. Most of the pools are around the same temperation, 102F, but there is a very cold pool and a hot pool (which is over 5 feet deep). Definitely worth the trip

Room Tip: 107, 106,105 no obstructed view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.