We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the restaurant is a MUST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at the restaurant is a MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I haven't actually stayed at this hotel yet but I was recommended to eat at the Restaurant by Discovery Costa Rica, our travel agent, so I took my family there. The restaurant had a very cozy look from the outside and when we got in, we found out that it had a very cozy mountain lodge feel to it. The atmosphere was a very informal, international and local, friendly type, everybody chatting, laughing ..... nice. There are some large wooden tables available for groups which gave that "Italian family dinner" feeling. People passing food, bread going around the table... a lot of activity..... and this is the rainy season!
We all had pasta dishes and they were absolutely gorgeous, as was our desert The staff at this place were really friendly, not formal but down to earth, our waiter was cracking jokes with us, we enjoyed that too. An overall family atmosphere. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    145
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
97
209
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My fiance and I took a 14 day trip through Costa Rica. The first 10 were spent in a much more secluded part of the country so some of the con's are really through no fault of the hotel or location it just so happens that this is a much more touristy spot in Costa Rica. PRO'S: This hotel was clean, the rooms were spacious and for the price very accomodating. The 2 girls at the front desk were very helpful with all our requests and very patient as we tried to call outside the country on my fiance's birthday. There were beautiful flowers in the vacinity and you could hear the monkeys in the trees at night although I never saw any. We did have a bat hanging out on our front porch one night though.CON'S: Upon arrival you are branded with a neon colored bracelet by the hotel staff. You are suppose to wear this bracelet during your entire stay in order to redeem your complimentary breakfast buffet as well as to have entry to the parking area by security. In theory this is a good idea but this also brands you as a tourist as you stroll around town and even more so a tourist that is NOT in their hotel room. This is something you wear when you go to a night club not a hotel. The breakfast buffet was not bad but it wasn't anything to write home about either. I had some coffe and fruit and called it a day. All in all not a bad choice for the price but not something I would consider a fabulous experience.
Another cool thing, we actually saw the clouds lift from the volcano! Everyone says this does not happen but it did!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Julie O,
Thank you for your comments and all the detailed information about Arenal Volcano Inn that you wrote in your review. We are constantly trying to improve in order to give all our future and returning guests a better experience. About the bracelet now days it is actually voluntary to use it and almost all hotels in the area use them as a distinctive for their guests.
Thank you very much,
Hernan Cordero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed for one night here and I wish I'd stayed longer! The staff are very friendly, happy to speak in Spanish or English, and the view is unbelievably beautiful. I was in room 107 and I recommend it to anyone! You can wake up in the morning looking straight at the volcano. The rooms are lovely and quiet and very spacious. The food and drinks are reasonably priced and internet and breakfast are included. The spa is okay but just a warning that you will pay US prices but won't get the same money's worth you would back home. A must-do instead if visit one of the many hot springs in the area - I went to Baldi Springs and it was amazing!

Room Tip: Room 107 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for the very positive review. We definitely look forward to having you back soon and staying with us longer! Please let us know next time you come out so we may hold room 107 for you. In the spirit of your comment that we are happy to speak Spanish or English: Me alegra mucho que disfrutara la vista desde la habitacion y que pudieran tambien probar la comida en el restaurante. Referring to the spa, thank you for letting us know about your experience, the spa is separately managed, so I will look into making the necessary changes.
Once again thank you very much!
Hernan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we were there for 2 nights during our one week trip to Costa Rica.
the hotel is very clean and green and all the day we saw people taking care of the hotel.
they helped us we attractions and explantions of how to get to places. every question we had they tried to help us- they even helped us to plan the drive to MONTEVERDE.
The breakfest is great and like any other hotel it's a traditional one.
The location is just outside the city but it's a 5 minutes drive so it's nice not to be so close - it's a crappy tourist town (la Fortuna).
the cost is a little expensive (96 dollars per night) but it's still worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the volcano and it doesn't matter if you stay at the begining of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear PazM, Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us and future travelers about your experience at the Arenal Volcano Inn. I am glad to hear that you liked the location of our small hotel and it is specially good to hear that our staff was willing to help you when you needed it. I love to assist guests in their adventures while they discover Costa Rica. We hope to have you visiting us again in the near future.
Thank you very much!
Hernan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Beautifully landscaped and clean rooms with magnificent views of Mt. Arenal -which we were fortunate to see on a clear day during our stay. The included breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, but the brick oven pizza we had called the volcano was pretty good along with the antipasto salad. Staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms were comfortable and well maintained. We also were impressed with the small walking trail that went around the grounds that contained various plants, trees, flowers and had stunning views of Mt. Arenal. Price is very affordable and is close to town - 10 minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hola from Arenal, Costa Rica to Jayspot1, and thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed the small trail that we have. I have taken on as a personal goal to make the trail interesting by placing a good variety of tropical and medicinal plants. So if you come again I will be happy to show them to you. About breakfast, it is buffet style with the exception of some days when the hotel has less occupancy. On low occupancy days we offer a small continental buffet (cereal, bread, butter, jelly, 3 varieties of fruits, milk, Yogurt, orange juice and fruit punch) plus the hot meal (eggs, gallo pinto, pancakes, etc..). It is our policy to ensure that both the cold and hot portion of the breakfast be served in the quantity that the guest desires. It is possible that the person in charge of serving breakfast did not offer the breakfast options it in the right way. That is, they may not have offerred different option such as an omelet made to order, more pancakes, or what have you. I am working more closely with the staff to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible, including a delicious and satisfying breakfast. It is important for me that this be corrected.

Moreover, I hope to be able to have you visiting us so you may experience the improvement. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked this hotel with Anywhere Costa Rica. Nice big rooms. Great bathrooms.
Refrigerator in room. The grounds plants and flowers are fantastic. The staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included every day. The food was fresh and had a large variety. Ate dinner one night at the restaurant the pizza is great. Definitely a great place small and cozy. The pool and spa including all the rooms have a great view of the volcano. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi BruceG122, My name is Hernan and I am the owner of the Arenal Volcano Inn. I want to thank you for your comments and room tip for future guests. I a pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us. Definitely hope to have you visiting us again in the near future, and please tell your friends and family about our place.
Warmest Regards, Hernan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Arenal Volcano Inn for 3 nights in late August, and we wished we could have stayed longer! The Inn grounds were beautiful, with lush greenery everywhere and great views of the volcano (but unfortunately it was covered by fog the entire time we were there!). The Inn is in a great location... It is about 10-15 minutes ($8-$10 cab ride) from the center of La Fortuna, so it is still close to all the action (bars, restaurants, banks, hot springs, etc) but also far enough away so that it is more quiet and relaxiing.

The room was safe, comfortable, and had everything we needed (and more!) including 2 beds, a TV, AC, mini-fridge,and even a hair dryer! There is also free WiFi throughout the hotel grounds which is nice.

The staff was great! The front desk ladies were very helpful ... whenever we needed a taxi to go into town, they would call for us, and they also had great suggestions for different tours, activities, and restaurants around La Fortuna.

My favorite part of our stay was the breakfast and the pool/jacuzzi! It was so nice to cool off in the pool after a long day in the heat and humidity, and the jacuzzi was so relaxing after a long day of activities and had great jets for a sore back and feet. And the breakfast was amazing... some of the best comida tipica I had my entire time in Costa Rica!... It is all you can eat, and is included wtih the price of your stay! :) There is also a regular restaurant at the hotel that we ate dinner at one of the nights, and their Arroz con Camerones was to die for! A little pricey, but convienent if you don't feel like leaving the hotel!

Overall, it was a great stay. Arenal Volcano Inn is a bit pricier than some other hotels in the area.... but between the all you can eat breakfast, AC-ed rooms, pool/jacuzzi, and friendly staff, it was totally worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We try to take good care of our guests and are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you and your friend again soon in Arenal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.