We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Deluxe Special $95p/night
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked this hotel with Anywhere Costa Rica. Nice big rooms. Great bathrooms.
Refrigerator in room. The grounds plants and flowers are fantastic. The staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included every day. The food was fresh and had a large variety. Ate dinner one night at the restaurant the pizza is great. Definitely a great place small and cozy. The pool and spa including all the rooms have a great view of the volcano. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi BruceG122, My name is Hernan and I am the owner of the Arenal Volcano Inn. I want to thank you for your comments and room tip for future guests. I a pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us. Definitely hope to have you visiting us again in the near future, and please tell your friends and family about our place.
Warmest Regards, Hernan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    138
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
97
200
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Arenal Volcano Inn for 3 nights in late August, and we wished we could have stayed longer! The Inn grounds were beautiful, with lush greenery everywhere and great views of the volcano (but unfortunately it was covered by fog the entire time we were there!). The Inn is in a great location... It is about 10-15 minutes ($8-$10 cab ride) from the center of La Fortuna, so it is still close to all the action (bars, restaurants, banks, hot springs, etc) but also far enough away so that it is more quiet and relaxiing.

The room was safe, comfortable, and had everything we needed (and more!) including 2 beds, a TV, AC, mini-fridge,and even a hair dryer! There is also free WiFi throughout the hotel grounds which is nice.

The staff was great! The front desk ladies were very helpful ... whenever we needed a taxi to go into town, they would call for us, and they also had great suggestions for different tours, activities, and restaurants around La Fortuna.

My favorite part of our stay was the breakfast and the pool/jacuzzi! It was so nice to cool off in the pool after a long day in the heat and humidity, and the jacuzzi was so relaxing after a long day of activities and had great jets for a sore back and feet. And the breakfast was amazing... some of the best comida tipica I had my entire time in Costa Rica!... It is all you can eat, and is included wtih the price of your stay! :) There is also a regular restaurant at the hotel that we ate dinner at one of the nights, and their Arroz con Camerones was to die for! A little pricey, but convienent if you don't feel like leaving the hotel!

Overall, it was a great stay. Arenal Volcano Inn is a bit pricier than some other hotels in the area.... but between the all you can eat breakfast, AC-ed rooms, pool/jacuzzi, and friendly staff, it was totally worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We try to take good care of our guests and are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you and your friend again soon in Arenal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel should be renamed 'volcano view' as from all around it you have the view of the amazing Arenal volcano, inc the restaurant, the bedrooms and the pool. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the grounds were immaculate. The restaurant food was also good as was the massage I had in their spa :) Our stay there was part of a tour we booked with Imagine Latin America - I would reccomend this company too as we had fantastic service in the Uk and amazing ground support in Costa Rica when we needed to change our plans slightly. Back to the hotel though, we only stayed 2 nights and visited the thermal springs and had a day trip to a national park. Could have done with more time there though as there is loads to do like canopy walks, treking the volcano slopes, white water rafting etc. All in all, the hotel is a lovely base for all the local activities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We at the Arenal Volcano Inn are continually striving to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience, and our glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your good suggestion about the hotel name!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great Hotel in front of the Volcano, beautiful view of the volcano during the day and night, rooms are really clean, service is excellent.They do have a pool where you can seat relax after doing any activities like canopying or horse riding. The restaurant of the Hotel is a Pizzeria wich is famous in all Arenal for their good flavour and taste, if you ask anyone in the town they will recommend you have their Volcano Pizza and a cold Imperial while watching the volcano.
Highly Recommended, you really get more than what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get room number 109, this room is on a hill and have the best view of the hotel and volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Manager at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and had a chance to try out the pit fire pizza at our Que Rico Arenal Restaurant. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place worked out really well. We stayed in room 5 which is a double deluxe. Two good sized bed and a bathroom with a good shower. Also good to have a quiet air con and fan to ensure a good night sleep.

Super views of the volcano.

We used the restaurant a few times and as noted by others slightly more expensive but to be expected I think we the location and service.

All the staff were friendly and efficient. They arranged taxis into La Fortuna ($8 or $9).

The pool looked inviting but we just didn't get the time to enjoy it.

Overall this is a great place to stay as it is very close to all the Arenal attractions.

Room Tip: Forgot to mention - enjoy the lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Propietario at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comments. They help us to improve and motivate us to give our best every day. We are starting a new stage in our effort to motivate our staff and this type of comments are of great help. We are continiously trying to improve the different areas of the hotel and restaurant and hope that in your next visit to our small hotel, you will be able to experience a big positive change.
It will be a pleasure to have you visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a small hotel, "Inn" is a bit of a misnomer, it's definitely a tightly run operation with guards, etc. It's a bit pricey too, and the bar tab is the highest we paid in CR. The location is perfect - right between La Fortuna and Arenal, so attractions are nearby. The rooms are very nice and ours had a great volcano view. The desk staff is friendly and generally helpful (don't ask about the location of a restuarant since their first response is "eat here"). And herein lies our only complaint: the restuarant service is lacking and in fact we had to walk out on dinner when we were never waited on after 10 minutes (and we had been in CR for 2 weeks so we know what to expect). Buffet breakfast is included and the food is very good, but you're serving yourself so no service issue. But, go early because if things are gone, they take forever to refill dishes and trays. The spa is nice and with the 10% discount for hotel guests, a reasonable deal. Overall, the restuarant and bar operation pulls down our rating to 3.5 (can't do this on the 1-5 dots scale)

Room Tip: Away from the highway/front of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Eu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Pro's:
- close to la fortuna
- nice view on the vulcano
- good breakfast and restaurant
Contra:
- no charm at all - just neat

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Arenal Volcano Inn with the Tripadvisor community.
We definitely want to make Arenal Volcano Inn a special place and plan to continue doing improvements in the short term. We hope to have you visiting us again in the future and letting us know your opinion about the changes we are making.
Sincerely,

Hernan Cordero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.