We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Volcano Inn to your Saves list
Arenal Volcano Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Last minute deal 20% OFF
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. When I was booking the room, I had a hard time figuring out the difference between the standard room and the deluxe. I ended up booking the deluxe since it was only $10 more and I'm glad we did. The standard rooms are lower on the slope and don't have as great of a view of the volcano. We stayed in room 108 and had a great view of the volcano. Keep in mind also, the standard rooms are all connected while the deluxe rooms are their own separate little bungalow.

Overall the hotel was VERY clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. TIP - if you are planning any tours, be sure to just book it when you get to the hotel instead of in advance since you get a bit of a discount for booking with them at the time of your stay.

We also ate at the restaurant our first night since we were too tired to check out La Fortuna and we were happily surprised. They served our favorite ceviche and arroz y pollo so we highly recommend checking them out. The prices aren't the cheapest but they were pretty standard for the touristy restaurant places.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are their own seperate bungalow with a better view of the volcano while the standard ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    166
    34
    5
    0
See reviews for
107
237
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed in Room 108, very nice, clean and spacious. The hotel grounds are gorgeous! The hotel staff were all friendly and the restaurant has good food. You will need to take a short cab ride into La Fortuna, as it is several miles away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My son loved this hotel. He is 5. We've traveled a lot and he still asks to go back to the Volcano Inn. The pool area was lovely and just enough for a family with kids. The view of the Volcano was spectacular, from virtually every angle. And there were banana trees scattered around the property that we got to pick bananas off of... The staff was really great. I do agree with other reviewers that say if you don't have a car you might feel stuck out of town. We had a car and thought it was in a great location, quiet, accessible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here Sept 2010 but didn’t get round to writing review as we got engaged on our trip to Costa Rica so have spent the last year planning our wedding.
This hotel has an amazing view of the Volcano which was our main reason for being here, however it is out of town so without a car you are a bit stuck apart from using taxis. The little individual rooms are great and are all positioned to have a great view of the volcano. They are on a good size with two double beds but are quite basic. The bathroom was a little damp but i guess this in this environment it is difficult to be anything else.
Pool area is small but lovely and made for a very relaxing place and was a good enough size for a reasonable swim.
Breakfast was great and really good choice and good quality produce, however food in the evening was not great and fairly basic but quite expensive however we found this across most of Costa Rica in hotels. There appear to be a lot of coach trips during the day which can make lunch quite busy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed for three nights in Room 109 which had a great view of the Arenal Volcano. The staff were very friendly, courteous and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable. In addition, they also made last minute bookings for us for various activities. The room was very clean and spacious. The hotel surroundings of plants, flowers and birds make it very relaxing. The food at the hotel was very good and saved us several trips to La Fortuna. My wife and I would definitely go back to Costa Rica and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a Jacuzzi Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and could not fault anything about it. The room we had, 107, had a magnificent view of Arenal Volcano, the staff could not do enough to help us and help with directions to all the places we wanted to go, as well as giving us good information on what to expect when we got there.

The gardens were home to many, many different birds and you woke up each morning to the sound of them singing.

I have travelled the world and stayed in many places and this rates in my top 10!

Room Tip: 107 has a great view from your bed of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed twice at this hotel in two different rooms during the same trip and each time got great rooms with clear and amazing view of the volcano. The staff was warm, friendly and competent. The rooms and beds are a good size, which was very important for us (we are a family of four with two kids ages 10 and 12). Having WiFi in the rooms and throughout the hotel was extremely convenient (we carried our laptops with us), but a computer is available at the lobby for guests to use. The property is well-managed and uses good sustainability practices like minimizing water and electricity use, etc. The outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi are excellent. Food at the restaurant was above average, but the pizzas are very good.

We were really impressed by the 'can do' attitude of the staff who were friendly and helpful - loaning umbrellas when it was raining, giving us extra table lamps in the room for reading, advising on tours, and even allowing us to take one of their guidebooks on Costa Rica! They were friendly and hospitable and made our stay really memorable.

P.S. We also liked their sister property at Monte Verde called Poco a Poco.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.