We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Rossi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Rossi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Rossi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km Oeste de La Fortuna | Carretera al Volcan Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent a wonderful couple of nights here recently, and were thoroughly impressed by everything about our stay. The hotel itself is lovely, clean, and beautifully situated. The staff is kind, warm, charming and helpful. The food was also excellent, some of the very best we had in Costa Rica--we were especially impressed by the good dinner, and the homemade granola and pineapple-papaya jam at breakfast. Our guided hike in volcano was informative and fun. The photos do not do Hotel Arenal Rossi justice--it was truly one of the most beautiful places I've ever been, and I would love to spend even more time there. Their commitment to quality and customer service show in everything they do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is the perfect place to explore La Fortuna! It is literally very close to town. We explored town a bit, but staying in here seemed like the perfect choice. There are some good restaurants within a mile or so of the hotel.

We stayed there during the offseason and got to know the staff very well. Everyone in the restaurant knew us and definitely spoiled us. The food in the restaurant is amazing if you don't feel like getting out. The front desk people help to get us tickets to the hot springs. Everyone was just so friendly and we enjoyed getting to know everyone on staff!

Room Tip: room 107 or 122 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

When the hotel that you booked on line had no record of your reservation and the hotel room they provide smells like a stopped up sewer, the move to the Rossi was so much better... Not new.. needs some maintenance and remodeling, but I have not felt hotter water in a Costa Rican hotel, the room was clean and adequate, the ac worked well and the food at the restaurant was very good. For the cheap price, there certainly was nothing to complain about, but I will not give it accolades..

If you are in a pickle or want a very inexpensive room, I recommend it. The staff was friendly and helpful.. Close to the attractions of the area and close to La Fortuna..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we did stay at Hotel Rossi in our last vacation to Costa Rica
the hotel is not in town, but close to many place, the restaurant is open for all meals

we did had a great time, the staff was very helpful and communicative

Room Tip: room 107 have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night for 2 reasons: we came from Guanacaste after 7 day vacations and needed a place to get some rest AND because we took a promotion. In general it's good for a night or if you have a small budget and want to spend more money on adventure tours. Room is just what you need: comfortable beds and a bath. Towels were very clean. We didn't use the pool but we took a look at it and looked clean.
Staff was super nice and friendly. The restaurant next to it it's just what we call in CR "bueno, bonito y Barato" (good, nice and cheap). Indeed food was delicious! Hotel in general is close to everything and in the main road.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I spent 3 days at Hotel Arenal Rossi, very close to the hot springs. Nice place to stay, for a reasonable price. There was excellent service, and they booked all my tours.
There was a restaurant next to the hotel "cheap and delicious".

Room Tip: The best prices in the area for book tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place was an absolute complete disgrace! We stayed here only one night, only because the nice place across the street was sold out. After we stayed here one night, it became alot more obvious why they had availability and across the street did not. The room we stayed in at The Hotel Arenal Rossi was filthy, there were bugs everywhere, and the windows didn't even close completely and securely. This is an outdated motel that could use some major renovations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Rossi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Rossi

Address: 2 km Oeste de La Fortuna | Carretera al Volcan Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Rossi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the convenient location of the hotel, guests can access an abundance of activities and sight seeing opportunities. The Arenal Volcano hike will take you to the active side of the volcano where you'll also be able to enjoy the array of plants, wildlife, and magnificent lava rock formations, as well as lava shows on a clear night. Lake Arenal has the reputation of having some of the best conditions for windsurfing as well as for fresh water fishing and boat rides. Also experience the peacefulness of the forest while traveling on the Penas Blancas River on a safari float. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Arenal Rossi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Rossi Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Rossi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.