We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not top drawer... but very adequate...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Rossi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Rossi to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Rossi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km Oeste de La Fortuna | Carretera al Volcan Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Certainly not top drawer... but very adequate...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

When the hotel that you booked on line had no record of your reservation and the hotel room they provide smells like a stopped up sewer, the move to the Rossi was so much better... Not new.. needs some maintenance and remodeling, but I have not felt hotter water in a Costa Rican hotel, the room was clean and adequate, the ac worked well and the food at the restaurant was very good. For the cheap price, there certainly was nothing to complain about, but I will not give it accolades..

If you are in a pickle or want a very inexpensive room, I recommend it. The staff was friendly and helpful.. Close to the attractions of the area and close to La Fortuna..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we did stay at Hotel Rossi in our last vacation to Costa Rica
the hotel is not in town, but close to many place, the restaurant is open for all meals

we did had a great time, the staff was very helpful and communicative

Room Tip: room 107 have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night for 2 reasons: we came from Guanacaste after 7 day vacations and needed a place to get some rest AND because we took a promotion. In general it's good for a night or if you have a small budget and want to spend more money on adventure tours. Room is just what you need: comfortable beds and a bath. Towels were very clean. We didn't use the pool but we took a look at it and looked clean.
Staff was super nice and friendly. The restaurant next to it it's just what we call in CR "bueno, bonito y Barato" (good, nice and cheap). Indeed food was delicious! Hotel in general is close to everything and in the main road.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I spent 3 days at Hotel Arenal Rossi, very close to the hot springs. Nice place to stay, for a reasonable price. There was excellent service, and they booked all my tours.
There was a restaurant next to the hotel "cheap and delicious".

Room Tip: The best prices in the area for book tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place was an absolute complete disgrace! We stayed here only one night, only because the nice place across the street was sold out. After we stayed here one night, it became alot more obvious why they had availability and across the street did not. The room we stayed in at The Hotel Arenal Rossi was filthy, there were bugs everywhere, and the windows didn't even close completely and securely. This is an outdated motel that could use some major renovations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sct319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stay At Hotel Arenal Rossi, very quiet nice place, with swimming pool and beautifully gardens.
it is located at only 2 miles of la fortuna, very close to supermarkets,gift shops and others
I would really recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very basic accommodations but clean and reasonably priced. Hotel manager was disappointingly unhelpful in arranging a tour for me; wound up walking into town and arranging my own.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conro, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arenal Rossi, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear
Susaba
we are sorry you have an ugly experience during your staying at the hotel.
we want to let you know, we have no someone in charge of reserving tours.
we got a deal with a tour operator and problem have been solved

thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#26 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oktara
Hotel Oktara
#36 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#43 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#27 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Rossi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Rossi

Address: 2 km Oeste de La Fortuna | Carretera al Volcan Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Rossi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the convenient location of the hotel, guests can access an abundance of activities and sight seeing opportunities. The Arenal Volcano hike will take you to the active side of the volcano where you'll also be able to enjoy the array of plants, wildlife, and magnificent lava rock formations, as well as lava shows on a clear night. Lake Arenal has the reputation of having some of the best conditions for windsurfing as well as for fresh water fishing and boat rides. Also experience the peacefulness of the forest while traveling on the Penas Blancas River on a safari float. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arenal Rossi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Rossi Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing