We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down, but excellent location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luigi's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luigi's Hotel to your Saves list
Luigi's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts. west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
NRGB, WV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit run down, but excellent location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The pizza is excellent. They kind of force you to use cash. The price for the room with cash $50 and with a credit card was $80. The food and beverages were 20% off as long as you used cash. The pool was nice. A great view of Arenal volcano from the second floor rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    20
    11
    17
See reviews for
6
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Kansas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for about a week while visiting La Fortuna. Was an excellent place at a great place and was a convient place to rest and eat while visiting the sights with Erick from Volcano Lake Adventures!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After the Venado Caves we were looking for a nice restaurant to have some vegetarian lunch/dinner. We visited Luigi's because we felt like having pasta and we didn't regret our choice. We enjoyed two incredible pastas, one with tomato and garlic oil, the other with cheese, fresh herbs (basil), garlic and Parmesan cheese. So tasteful but way too much! I enjoyed my meal for over 2 days, not being hungry at all. The pastas go with some toast drenched in garlic oil. Yummy! The waiters were very friendly, the only minus is the noise from the road. But worth visiting for the food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Luigi's Hotel. The room on the second floor had a great view of the volcano. The staff was helpful in the hotel, restaurant and tour information. Easy walk to everything in town and quick access to the volcano and hot springs. Great value for the off season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel was ok...but if you're looking for the best don't stay here. We were young backpackers and it was nice to have the privacy but we would have preferred somewhere else.

Pros: Awesome view of the volcano, decent pool, hot water, A/C. Nice enough staff, cheap price as far as hotels go (private room, rooms cleaned every day versus hostel). Fun night life on weekends at the bar. Good location - quick walk to other restaurants and right around corner from bus station.

Cons: The customer service wasn't that great. The staff seemed more interested in making money and booking tours as opposed to being genuinely helpful. Main guy was WAY too pushy about booking stuff and he always tried to overprice stuff (luckily i had done my research so i knew how cheap i could get things so I was very blunt and he ALWAYS ended up lowering the price). Advice: NEVER take the price they offer. Always barter down). Restaurant prices were a little more than other places in the area (if you're on a backpackers budget).

Room Tip: Ask for top floor in the middle (best view of volcano)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin S, Manager at Luigi's Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sarah...

Is for us a pleasure having had you hosted in our hotel. Like always the critiques are god for us because let us know were we are failing. so we thank you to let us know that was a kind of weakness we had. we want let you know that after we read your review we made the changes we had it to do. So thank you so much because your review make us be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were impressed by this hotel. The owner was very nice and talked to us often. We paid a fair price for the hotel. We had hot water and a swimming pool. The rooms were cleaned daily and we felt very safe there. The food in the restaurant is good, and the tour coordinator was always willing to help us with anything (even non-tour related). We had a great nights sleep and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have an amazing view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

To be fair to this hotel the hotel has a good view to the volcano as is anywhere else. Also, the pool is pretty nice. However, the jacuzzi that was advertised was not even running and the prices that was shown on the site for certain tours was not even updated correctly. Main thing coming here is that soon as you come their they are a beast for deposit money and they give no receipt. The lady who is the owner wife has no care about customer service and every question seems to be like the world is coming to a end when trying to ask about something. the tour guy who was their is ok, however seem to pushy to try to get you in to take a tour. They make high commissions off these tours so soon as you come in they are rushing you to take one. Word of advice let the client relax mention it but dont be so pushy to sale some tours so they can spend. What made me give this hotel a bad score is the level of service and we had someone come in our room while we was in the room. To not even knock was a total disregard for privacy. Rooms are clean, however the SERVICE SUCKS HERE DO NOT COME.

Room Tip: go to a hostel much cheaper like $10 a night and you get much more for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin S, Owner at Luigi's Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Daniel...

First than all we want to thank you for your review because that kind of information is important for the rest of the future guests we can possible have and also for us too, because if you don't let us know about this things are happens in our hotel we could not fix our real problems. those things make us be better, and we want let you know that we solve that problems thanks to your review. SO WE REALLY THANK YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luigi's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luigi's Hotel

Address: 200 mts. west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luigi's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small but cozy hotel. Managed by a Family. We offer twenty rooms WITH: A.C, Private bathroom with hot water, and Cable TV.Between the services we offer are: Tour information Desk, restaurant, WiFi, Private parking, Pool & Jacuzzi.We will try it to do with our personalized service that your trip through our beautiful Costa Rica be confortable . Please Let us know your concern or needs and we will help you on everything. always we are glad to have you with us, so from THE FAMILY of LUIGIS HOTEL we thank you to give us the opportunity to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Luigi's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luigi's Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luigi's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.